Charming cottage across from JMU, Near Downtown, Convenient to Interstate 81
Brian and Sara Wilfong
Check-in: 4:00 pm
Check-out: 10:00 am
$75 pet fee per pet
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Max guests:8 (sleeps up to 8 adults)
100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
It's a cool older home that has really been turned into a nice place. It could have been cleaner. There was dirt and other debris under just about every bed and piece of furniture. The hot tub never got hot (above 99°) either but we didn't spend that much time in it either.
Overall the place had charm and was warm and inviting. It a well populated but quiet area.
Thanks Vicki! We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We have notified the cleaning company of your suggestions and we have already made sure these items were addressed. We had the hot tub checked and everything is working properly. You do have to make sure water levels are above the filter for the temp to reach max temp (103 degrees). Thanks again and we hope you return!
Convenient location for JMU visit
Upon arrival, key was missing from lockbox and all doors were locked. I called the two numbers given for contact by owner/mgmt company. I was alarmed when both numbers were for a management company and all options led me to the cleaning company...it was a Sunday evening around 7. I immediately emailed the two emails I had communicated with regarding this property. The owner called me within a few minutes. Within 5 minutes, she had contacted me and located the missing key...left inside the home by the cleaning company. She was headed right over to retrieve the missing key. Instead of waiting for her, my family decided to go out for dinner and trust the key would be in the lockbox when we returned. It was. And all was good until the next day when we were stripping the sheets off the bed. The room my 17 year old daughter stayed in was dimly lit, so she didn’t notice until the next morning that her bed was covered in dog hair, inside the sheets and on top of the bedspread. She is not allergic, but she was horrified that her sheets were not changed. Both of these incidences do not speak of the owner but the thoroughness of her cleaning company. My son stayed in the loft room and suggests an extension cord for the space to charge phones and accessories. The bathroom was clean, the remaining rooms were clean, and the decor was tasteful. The location is ideal for anyone visiting JMU.
House has a lot of character, beds are really comfortable. Inconvenient check in time (4:00) and early check out (10:00). House met our needs nicely for our one night stay.
Cute little house, but located on very busy road
Convenient location to downtown Harrisonburg, JMU, & Massanutten
More private than hotel
Large fenced in backyard
Nice public park nearby
Central heating worked great
Located on a very busy road - road noise is a big issue & makes turning into the property dangerous during heavy traffic.
Backyard has zero lighting - extremely dark & unusable at night.
Sidewalk (for dog walking) is located across the busy street.
Basement is scary - location of washer/dryer and only direct access to backyard from inside the house.
Had to clean up messes from prior renters (dog waste, trash, confetti from NYE party)
If you are visiting JMU (especially for football games), you cannot beat the location.
The property worked well enough for our needs (location, price point, pet friendly), but there were enough cons for us to leave a day early.
Thanks David for your response. We are sorry you didn't realize this house was located on Port Republic Road which is a busy road. Most guests love how convenient this location is, and really at the center of Harrisonburg so whether you're coming for JMU events or to experience Harrisonburg, this location can't be beat. The house is an older home with tons of charm but does have an older home basement, however, there shouldn't be any reason that you would need to access the basement other than to use the washer and dryer, if you would need to. I'm sorry you had to cross the street to get to the sidewalk to walk your dog. In the future, if you decide to return and don't want to be inconvenienced, feel free to let your dog enjoy the HUGE fenced in backyard. We have notified the cleaning company of the tidiness suggestions and have already made sure those are addressed. Thanks again and we hope you return!
This is our second stay in a month!
The title says it all! So happy this was available when we returned to Harrisonburg in December for a second time to visit family. Looking forward to our next stay!
Cute home, lacking customer service
On my arrival to the home after dark, my first thought was how nice it wouldve been to have found a porch light left on. The steps were dark and icy, and it was difficult to see the key holder. Inside, the home was cute, cozy and clean. It is very basic but had the bare necessities of home. I had booked the home specifically for the use of the hot tub and fire pit, but both were unusable on my first night due to ice coverage. There is no light in the back deck area where these things are, so it was pitch black back there. I did not feel comfortable with this as a single woman and ended up purchasing a Coleman lantern for use the second night. I would’ve happily cleared ice from the hot tub, but there was nothing in the home for this (shovel, etc). The owners were prompt in getting their property manager to the home the next morning, and he did a fantastic job at clearing the ice from the property. I frequent HomeAway rentals and have usually felt just a little more valued as a guest (you usually find a personal touch such as a note, a bottle of wine, etc). This is what sets HomeAway properties apart from sterile hotels. I reached out to the owners after my stay with my disappointment related to inability to use the outdoor area due to lack of shovel, light, etc, but they did not respond. I had hoped to at least receive an apology or an offer to compensate me for the cost of the lantern...especially considering the cost of the home per night. Otherwise, the house is comfortable and in a great location, convenient to shopping, restaurants, JMU and downtown Hburg. I had originally thought I would consider staying here again when Im in town, but, after the lack of response from the owners, I don’t think so.
I am terribly sorry that you felt our communication was not up to par. In fact, we emailed you several times to check in during your stay, responded immediately when you emailed and checked in with you after your departure to make sure everything about your stay was wonderful! I'm not sure how much more communication you'd like as we also don't want to be a bug. You also arrived when the entire Harrisonburg area was under a winter weather storm so ice on the hot tub cover would have been expected. We had the maintenance person come out immediately after you called to address the ice on the hot tub so you could enjoy during your stay, which it sounds like you did. We have also installed additional lighting in the backyard to make it even more lit for guests using the backyard and hot tub. As you can see, we are very responsive and conscientious owners who want to make sure our property is perfect for guests and that guests thoroughly enjoy their stay. As you can see from every other 5 start review, we have been successful and we plan to continue to make it a great stay for guests. We hope you consider returning at a future date.