Full Cabin: 3 BR + 1 Sleeper Sofa, 1 Bath, Washer/Dryer, Comfortably Sleeps 6-8
Owner Jeannine J. is a life-long Alaskan with a love for Hope, Alaska. Jeannine describes Hope as 'a magical place' where everyday life seems distant and calm.
Jeannine purchased this Cabin in 2008
Why Jeannine chose Hope
Hope is a unique and unhurried town featuring a historic district which looks and feels like the gold mining town Hope was in the 1800s. Residents and visitors can hike the mountains or fish the nearby streams, Wander through the historical museum and original log cabins, peer in the 100+ year old social hall, sip an Alaskan brew at the 100 year old pub at the shore of Turnigan Arm. The views are lovely, the mountains spectacular, and the Alaskans who live here are grand.
What makes this Cabin unique
The Hirshey Cabin is yours and yours alone when you make a reservation with us. The three bedroom cabin home, complete with every amenity for a pleasant stay, is your personal residence for your entire stay. The cabin is secluded on a 2+ acre wooded lot. The cabin home is yours to use entirely! And, the kitchen comes fully stocked with breakfast items sure to delight your peaceful morning in Hope, Alaska.
100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Fun in Hope
What a fun two nights in Hope. Historic cabin, clean, comfortable. Great food. Salmon fishing in the stream. Planning for gold. And even a charity 5K run. Thanks for sharing your place with our family!
Nice cabin. Just be aware there is no way to lock door. We never saw or spoke with the owner. When we requested more washcloths, never heard back until the day we checked out. We had 2 washcloths for 4 people. Even though the listing clearly stated that a washer and dryer were available in the wash hut, we were told it was not for guest use. We selected this property at a higher rate than other listings specifically because we were counting on having the use of the laundry facilities in the middle of our 17 day vacation. This is false advertising. The breakfast items were available although there were no potholders or kitchen towels to use when cooking. The toilet seat was badly chipped. Windows in bedroom did not open and no air conditioning or fans so it was very warm for sleeping.
The town was interesting. We rode up resurrection pass and it was beautiful. We did not have any contact with owner dispite texting her and asking for Wifi code. The cabin was roomy enough but needs repairs and wasnt very clean. Couch is very uncomfortable.
Nice and quiet! Stairs leading to the upstairs bedrooms are very steep and twisty. We had small children with us and we were constantly watching that they would not fall down the steps. We did not utilize the wash hut. It's nice it's there as the home has only one bathroom for the 9 of us. The bathroom is on the lower level away from the bedrooms so it may not be very convenient for someone who has to get up during the night to use the bathroom with trying to navigate the steep, twisting stairs. Plenty of games to play and books to read. The outdoor fire pit area looked like it would be fun to use when the snow melts. It would be nice to have more drinking glasses available for a larger group. Otherwise, nice get away for our family for spring break.
Beautiful area and nice cabin! Owner is very welcoming!
It may be historic but there a lot of little things that could be done to make It so much better.
The cottage is not too bad It just needs a few improvements. Tidy the kitchen and get rid of the out of date food in the fridge and excessive clutter everywhere. The couches are very uncomfortable and sag, replace the toilet seat, fix the TV and the dangerous wobbly stair rail. It is great to have the use of laundy facilities but don't advertise It as having a laundry in the cabin when you now have to use the shared laundry room.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not love your stay and, if possible, we would have loved the opportunity to make it right before you left. The home is quite old (well over 100 years), and Hope certainly isn’t a place for those looking for luxurious accommodations. We wish you the best in your upcoming travels.
Gold mining, prospecting, berry picking, bore tide viewing, fishing, hiking, biking, touring Hope's historic district, whitewater rafting, wildlife viewing