2/ 2, Recently Updated, Mediterranean Style Pool Home With Separate Guest House
Check-in: 2:30 pm
Check-out: 10:30 am
Minimum age of primary renter:23
100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Great property and location
The house was great and the guest house worked out well with a teen.
Really nice, but could have been better.
The neighborhood and house are amazing and we loved the Sarasota area. With that being said, the pictures of the property are a little bit deceiving. Yes, it's very stylishly decorated and the pictures only show you the nicest views. The house is super cute and stylish, but upon closer inspection, there are things that did not meet my standards of basic living. The front and rear door handles had a lot of grime and hand-dirt that could easily be cleaned on a regular basis. (as were the light switches). There was a mildewy smell in the house. Some things in the house should be dusted and washed. the yard is as shown, but nothing much more. No landscaping or potted plants, very simple. The seated area in the back looks lovely, but the cushions were a little mildewy and the table is so petrified with mold; it should be powerwashed and stained or simply replaced. The master bedroom and bath are wonderful; the bed was firm, but comfy. The bathroom is amazing, but yet there were men's shaving bits on the counter where the cleaning crew was not thorough. Which grossed me out. The washer and dryer were new and amazing, but it wasn't enough to offset the negatives. The worst thing for us was the kitchen. Looks good in pics, but when you are actually there, was terrible. Cabinets sorely need replacing. Countertops were chipped square ceramic tiles with craggy grout-hard to wipe down. Lack of cooking essentials made it difficult. It would not take much to get a basic set of mixing bowls and such. There are no drawers for basic utensils, of which none seemed very clean. I am so releived that my friends did not join us to stay in the "guest quarters". Terrible mildew smell, stove top not working, bed was uncomfortable, difficult to lock the door. I spent a week in the yard staring at a tall ladder that was perched aside the little outbuilding. It certainly has potential, but I would not want anyone that I cared for staying in it. I felt I needed to wash everything before using it, but cooking a basic meal was near impossible and frustrating. For the price on the rental and the beautiful location; I believe that kitchen items could have been updated for a minimal cost. I really loved the area and the neighborhood, but would not come back based on the shortcoming and the amount of money we paid to stay there. Hopefully, these things can be addressed because it has the potential to be wonderful. Sorry to be so harsh, but these details matter to us personally.
We are sorry our home was not all you had hoped for but we're glad you were able to enjoy the wonderful location and all that Sarasota has to offer. All the points you make about the cleanliness comes as quite a surprise as we have been very happy with the cleaning crew who come in and never have heard anything like this before. The kitchen cabinetry may be older, with a unique design with its open cabinetry, but our renters have never found that to be an issue and have enjoyed our new appliances. As for the items in the kitchen, there were mixing bowls there as well as a Cuisinart and even a milk frother-and all the things one could possibly need.That being said, perhaps things have gone missing over time, it is not something we actively take inventory of so we will do so and replenish accordingly. As for the guest house, it is designed to be an adjunct to the main house and has a newer mattress which I'm surprised you had thoughts on since no one was staying there. We are planning to renovate this spring-replacing the kitchen area and taking out the oven all together, replacing it with a microwave, because that house is not designed as a separate rental. We think its going to be great. Sorry you didn't enjoy our home as much as so many of our renters and returning renters have.
Wonderful property in a great neighborhood!
I spent a week here with my family of 4 (mom, dad, kids ages 3 and 5) plus my parents in February of 2019, and it was perfect! The neighborhood was wonderful, and was walking distance to many shops and restaurants. The house was very nicely furnished and had everything we needed. The master bathroom was truly amazing! And the walk in closet was huge! We actually brought two toddler air mattresses and slept both kids in the master bedroom closet, LOL! The kids loved the heated pool (and all the pool toys at the house!)-- we had trouble getting them out of it to go do any activities - ha! But when we did venture out, we enjoyed all that Sarasota has to offer. Highly recommend Lido Key Beach. It has a concession stand and restroom facilities, and when you tire of the beach you can walk less than a mile to St. Armands circle which has tons and shopping and great restaurants. It was much less crowded than Siesta Key Beach and just as nice in my opinion (and only a 10-15 min drive from the house!). Also check out Bayfront Park and Marina (~1 mile from the house). It has a playground for the kids and also a Tiki Bar with live music. At the Tiki Bar you can enjoy an adult beverage while the kids play in the sand at your feet. Overall can't recommend this place enough. I hope we'll be back!
House was clean and we had a pleasant visit.
Although this property is spacious and the interior is fairly well maintained; the reason i did not give this 5 stars is because there are some aspects of the property, outside that are worn and need updating. I was also disappointed with the kitchen supplies, which were limited. We did not use the carriage house as it had a musty odor. It would take very little to make this a 5 star property.
Cozy and charming
One often hears the phrase “pictures don’t do it justice”. That certainly is the case with this cozy little bungalow in Hudson Bayou. The minute we walked in we knew we’d hit the jackpot. The decor, the layout, the cheerful note from the owner—all of it quite wonderful.
And then there was the master suite! King bed, big walk in closet and gorgeous bath with a great shower, double vanity and soaking tub.
Guest bedroom was en-suite as well, and featured its own access out to the pool as well as a private patio.
We did not use the guest house, but it looked like it would be a great addition for families.
Location was wonderful. We enjoy easy town access, but the beach is a short drive away. And the small retail area on Hillview—a five minute stroll—boasts great restaurants (loved Veronica’s!) and the incomparable Morton’s Gourmet Market.
I could certainly go on but I’ll leave it at this: we travel the world and are fortunate to be able to stay at great hotels—but having found this place, we’d never book a hotel in Sarasota again. In fact, we’ve already reserved it for two weeks next season!
See you next year, thanks for the great review.
Very nice property... Very comfortable
Great place and quite comfortable. Master bedroom mattress has a serious worn rut in it and needs changing but other than that a great spot.
There were 2 slats near the end of the bed that had come loose while you were there. We have since replaced these and the bed is now back to normal and good as new. We are sorry your experience was not 100% satisfactory.
This enchanting Mediterranean style home is located within a 10 minute car ride to one of the best beaches in America - "Siesta Key Beach" - where you will find Sugar white sand and miles of beautiful beach to soak up the Florida Sunshine. The home is located in the charming, pedestrian friendly neighborhood of Hudson Bayou - right in the heart of everything Sarasota has to offer. Stroll the Oak lined streets down to Southside Village where you will find many establishments from Morton's Gourmet Market to Libby's Restaurant to unique boutiques for your shopping pleasure.