About Catherine OLoughlin
We are Catherine and Neil - parents of a crazy blended family of 6 kids aged between 22 and 15. We live in Perth but have an Augusta based housekeeper couple who will be your on the ground contact, plus we are always available by mobile phone.
Catherine OLoughlin purchased this House in 1989
Why Catherine OLoughlin chose Augusta
We love our Augusta house and like to get down there whenever we can, but also love to share its amazing views and relaxed vibe, and we see our guests as real guests that we want to make sure have a great holiday in a comfortable family home. Please feel free to contact us with any queries you have :). Please note this is a beach house, not a new, luxurious property -it gets dusty, flies and sea spray on the windows - we love it.
What makes this House unique
Whale watching from the upstairs front deck in winter (July- August). Bring your binoculars. Town is close enough to be convenient (3 minute drive), but far enough away so there is very little traffic. You will be amazed at how dark and quiet it is at night. A very different experience if you are a city dweller. Margaret River is an easy 25 minute drive and a great day out either for shopping or visiting wineries and restaurants.
Check-in: 2:00 pm
Check-out: 10:00 am
No candles BBQ must be thoroughly cleaned or bond deduction applies
Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Amazing house in a truly amazing location
Very straightforward and easy
Nice and neat house, well equipped. The scene from balcony was amazing.
We really enjoyed it!
Augusta holiday Easter 2019
The location was excellent and plenty of room for the kids to enjoy the outdoors. The house did have everything you need for a holiday.
We were disappointed in the standard of cleanliness. There was dog hair throughout the house on carpets and tiled floors. This was an issue for us as we had 2 people allergic to dog hair. One person had to go and buy a Ventolin puffer to use something he hasn’t had to use for years. We assumed by the no dogs allowed in the description of the property that this was not going to be an issue. The heating and cooking facilities use gas which ran out on the second day we were there. We had to set up a small gas bottle ( from the bbq) to be able to cook. My son-in-law fell down the steps leading to the gas as one step was completely missing and he didn’t notice it in the dark. The balcony balustrade is broken and taped up and the height doesn’t meet current Australian standards. We had to ban the balcony area from our small grandchildren.
So what should have been an enjoyable holiday did become a bit of a nightmare.
My suggestions for owners:
1. Change cleaner and advise that dogs also have been in house. Particularly important if someone stays who has severe dog allergy.
2. Ensure there is enough gas for guests to last for time of stay . There were three 45kg bottles for the house and all were empty but one which lasted one day.
3. Ensure house is safe for occupancy- broken steps and balustrades to avoid public liability claim.
Hi Garry - thanks for your review. We are sad that you didn't completely enjoy your stay with us. I'd like to add a few points though as we have never had a negative review before which you would have seen if you had had a look at our Visitor's Book :)
1. I had just left the house before you arrived as you know, and had cleaned it myself. I cannot agree with you that it was not done properly, as it is my home and I take great pride in it. I had actually regrouted the kitchen and bathroom floors just before you arrived.
2. We have a dog, and make no secret of that. Her bowls, food, bed are in the laundry in plain sight. If you do have severe allergies, you check this out first in the future for your own protection. When people say "no dogs" it generally means other people's dogs. I completely vacuumed and mopped before I left. The dog does not go on the furniture;
3. Augusta does not have any piped gas, everyone has to rely on bottles. It is unfortunate that you ran out as we try to monitor this very closely. I can only assume you may have had the gas heater running alot as otherwise, it shouldn't have run out. While I acknowledge this was inconvenient to you for that morning (you said to me you couldn't cook breakfast), there is a bbq though and electric heaters in each room, so cooking and heating shouldn't be a problem. The hot water is solar/electric. As you know we had the local plumber come out the next day (Easter) to set up a new bottle;
4. The bannister is definitely at Australia standard height. In any event, we do say in our description that the property is not suitable for small children (due to the spiral staircase) and the photos we have put up allow you to see the configuration and height of the balcony before booking;
5. I was unaware there was a broken step and we will sort that out straight away. There is no lighting down the sides of the house, so it is unfortunate your brother in law went down there in the dark. We take public liability very seriously, but at the same time take a record of the empty alcohol bottles left in the bins after each stay, as sadly you need to protect yourself in this day and age.
We are happy to offer you a discount if you would like to stay again. As I said, it is our home with (literally) million dollar views but I take your comments on board. Tks.
Wonderful family holiday house with spectacular views!
A great house for families who want a relaxed type of house and holiday.
Lovely and spacious and of course the best part are the incredible views.
Had a really lovely stay here !
Thank you so much for your review Elizabeth! We are so happy you enjoyed your time at our property - the views are to die for. You were the perfect guest, everything shipshape on your departure :)
Great location and perfect for two families
House had everything that we needed. Would definitely stay again.
Thank you so much for the great review Joel - we really want people to feel at home and after renting lots of properties ourselves, we wanted to make sure every possible convenience was there for you - dishwasher coming soon :)
We hope to see you back again. Don't forget whale watching season in August - you can see the whales breaching from the deck.
Margaret River and wineries only a 25 minute drive. Antique stores in Witchcliffe, 15 minutes drive,