Located in Lead, this cabin is near theme parks and near a water park. Black Hills National Forest and George S. Mickelson Trail reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Homestake Gold Mine and Matthews Opera House & Arts Center. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Lyle Hare Stadium, or consider a night out at Outlaw Square. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as snowmobiling and sledging.
George S. Mickelson Trail - 15 min drive - 17.0 km
Getting around
Rapid City, SD (RAP-Rapid City Regional) - 74 min drive
Restaurants
‪Boars Nest - ‬9 min drive
‪Lewies Saloon & Eatery - ‬9 min drive
‪Cheyenne Crossing - ‬18 min drive
‪Dakota Shivers Brewery - ‬10 min drive
‪Pizza Lab - ‬12 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Experience serenity near Black Hills, stay at our 5-bedroom cabin pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows pets (limit 3 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Experience serenity near Black Hills, stay at our 5-bedroom cabin?
As of 30 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Experience serenity near Black Hills, stay at our 5-bedroom cabin on 1 Nov 2026 start from AU$2,133, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Experience serenity near Black Hills, stay at our 5-bedroom cabin?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Experience serenity near Black Hills, stay at our 5-bedroom cabin?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Experience serenity near Black Hills, stay at our 5-bedroom cabin?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Experience serenity near Black Hills, stay at our 5-bedroom cabin located?
Located in the mountains, this family-friendly cabin is within 6 mi (10 km) of Living Map Theater, Homestake Gold Mine, and Historic Homestake Opera House. Black Hills Mining Museum and Sanford Lab Homestake Visitor Center are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.8
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
this was a good spot on the end of the road which was nice and kind of secluded. A nice place to relax after your excursions and have a good view too! Host was very helpful and quick to address any issues.
The communication and overall process was really good with Brad. There were some cleaning opportunities but nothing to get worked up over. If I did have one recommendation it would be if there was some way to have blinds that drop down on the main living room window. (If it’s even possible) If you’re in the living room around that 3-6pm time it’s really hard to see the tv sitting on the couch.
We enjoyed our stay at our serenity cabin ! It was well equipped with everything we needed and everything was in great working order. Great communication with the hostess as well ! Would rent this out in the future again! Thankyou for a lovely stay!
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Apr 2026
I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again!
Host was responsive and the cabin is beautiful with beautiful views. There were several dead flies on the floor in a couple of the rooms. Other than that it was clean and well kept. Would stay here again.
We enjoyed this rustic cabin. There was ample room for our family of 10 (all ages).Being mid March there was a freeze thaw situation particularly at the front entrance and was difficult to maneuver. We were at Terry Peak for a youth ski competition. The property was extremely convenient
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 31 Mar 2025
Thank you for staying, Kathy. Glad the ski competition went well!
This was a perfect home for us to rent for a ski trip to Terry Peak! Comfortable & well equipped for everything we needed. Communication with Delf was top notch. Many thanks!!
We had a great time plenty of space for the grandkids to play. Easy access to surrounding sights. Owners were very accommodating. They would answer any questions right away. Even cleaned driveway when it snowed I didnt have to lift a finger. Very comfortable and homey.
Stayed 6 nights in Nov 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Mar 2020
Thank you for the review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your vacation at Eagle Vista cabin. Please come back soon Best Shauna & Delf
The house was clean and well kept and the owner was great to deal with. The view from the back deck was awesome. Being at the end of the lane there were no houses to block the view to the south and east. The hot tub was well used after hikes through Custer and Spearfish Canyon. A big thumbs up to Brad for the great accommodations.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Larae#2
15 July 2025
Liked: Communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in
Property was very nice . Only thing was check in was delayed approximately 45 min . Floors should have been swept and mopped. But all in all we had a great vacation . Host was responding to all messages in a very short amount of time. Thank you
Overall a good experience but lacking some amenities as similar properties such as extra clean blankets and linens, extra trash bags, etc. Linens in bed were worn and needed to be replaced. Kitchen was poorly cleaned and food odors were strong. Basically just lacking attention to the guest experience, but okay for a couple of days. Beautiful location and rustic, and Native American vibe.
The house was just as described to us. We came out to enjoy the Sturgis Motorcycle rally. Is met all of our requirements and then some.
The driveway was a little challenging but once we figured it out we were good to go.
We were able to fit the motorcycles in the garage which was perfect.
The views from the house were amazing. Even the lightening storms off in the distance.
I would love to come back here in the winter (except for the driveway)
Our family spent a week together at this home in Lead SD and it was fantastic! With the 8 of us ranging in age from 10 to 76, there was plenty of room to find space to be together and quiet space for ourselves.
Before arriving, I did have some concerns about the property having all the necessary amenities to cook for our group but I was pleasantly surprised - it was very well stocked with all the cooking tools a group could need! And needless to say, the pictures don't do the views any justice - the skyline of the Black Hills off the deck was amazing - with beautiful sunrises and sunsets!
To top it off, Brad and Travis were very communicative pre-, during, and post-stay as needed to make sure we had everything we needed. Overall I would highly recommend this property and these hosts.
We hope to go back again next year!!
This cabin was perfect our family to meet and celebrate Thanksgiving 2019. The kitchen had everything you would need for a feast- including TWO crockpots. We absolutely love the location at he top of Terry Peak and the views can't be beat! It is close to both spearfish and deadwood.
The most impressive aspect of stay was when Lead received 30 inches of snow over one night. The owner initiated contacted to ensure we had everything we needed throughout the storm. We never lost power or cable!! He ensured snow was shoveled. It was one of the first driveways done in the area. He was accessible from the beginning and was invested in us not only renting his cabin, but ensuring we were safe and having a positive experience. We were all touched by his compassion and his quick response. Many positive memories were made during Thanksgiving Blizzard 2019!! THANK YOU!!
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Mar 2020
Thank you for the review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your vacation at Eagle Vista cabin. Please come back soon Best Shauna & Delf
We were happy for our reservations here but that all ended promptly when we arrived to a flood (quite literally) in the lower bathroom. Apparently the lower shower design with the pan being a piece of glued and siliconed granite leakes EXCESSIVELY. SO, everytime we showered it was a matter of putting multiple towels down to stop excessively flooding onto an icy cold floor. Somehow we got an explanation that rising water tables were the cuplrit. It was a stilted home? No or little cleaning had been attempted throughout the home because of such things as dirty soaking towels on flooded floor, dirty previous occupant t-shirt outside on hot tub, hot tub scunge ring, cigarette butts in outdoor gas fire pit.
There are many other small attention to detail issues such as multiple doors unable to be shut or opened properly due to poor carpentry. But we found this property to be far less than luxury as the ad on vrbo states. We would like to be compensated at minimum for our aggrevation for having to clean other peoples toothpaste, dirty clothes, cigarette butts and other random here and there issues that gave the opinion we were staying in a friends bachelor home who was attempting "novice cabin home carpentry for beginners".
The 10 of us agreed that this would be a beginners first time away from home vacation. Its somewhere very picturesque, but the accomodations were done on a small budget and the idea of luxury is based on Motel 6 located in times square.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 17 July 2023
I am sorry your stay at the cabin did not meet your expectations. As you may recall, however, I told you prior to your arrival that a water issue was reported in our basement bathroom by the previous renter and it was not possible to get a plumber and contractor there prior to your arrival. That is why I asked you to not use that bathroom and instead use one of the three other bathrooms that were working just fine. It is frustrating you continually used the downstairs shower after I asked you not to because of the plumbing issue. The cleaning staff placed towels on the floor of the bathroom to absorb the water prior to your arrival and, obviously, if you were going to continue to use the shower it would continue to cause water to leak on the floor.
Over the past year it has been difficult to find housecleaners that want to work, let alone do a great job. I apologize that a gray shirt was left on a chair outside, but it was just a shirt. It could have easily been discarded or set aside. I apologize that all of the cigarette butts from other renters were not spotted by our cleaning staff and picked up. Some folks that smoke have the ability to discard the remains all over the place. Also, all of the doors in the cabin open and close just fine, but I again am sorry they did not open and close to your standards.
Lastly, I gave you my personal cell phone number and told you to call me with any questions or concerns. You did not contact me once during your stay. If you had I would have done my best to try to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I think it is very unfair for you to leave this type of a review without including all the facts or giving me a chance to fix the problem during your stay.
This property has real potential but is in dire need of updating. The kitchen appliances need updating and range hood fan does not work. Has water damage in down stairs bathroom and smells of mold. The decking is near collapse with serious structural issues. The center of the deck is currently sitting on the cast iron gas line. The deck definitely needs to be torn down and rebuilt by a competent builder with a inspection afterwards. We could not enjoy any of the amenities like the grill on the deck or the hot tub under the deck which had grass and dirt in it. I was excited about visiting this property, the views are spectacular. Hopefully the current owners will restore it to its former beauty.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 26 June 2026
Thank you for your comments. The deck has been in the same condition since we purchased it over three years ago. Hundreds of people have enjoyed our deck without complaint. It passed the building inspection and all yearly inspections. We have hosted large wedding parties on the deck several times with no problems. The 1/2 gas line was attached to the bottom of the header beams. It was not holding up the several thousand pounds of decking as you claimed. I also note there are 14 support posts holding up the deck.
That being said, my partner and I did take the opportunity to raise the end of the deck two inches so it is more level and further secured the joists to the joist hangars and header beams with heavy-duty 10 inch structural screws. We also installed new 3 1/2 inch screws through the joists, joist hangars, and header beams along the entire end of the deck. We also installed two steel rods through the header beams and center support post for further support.
The downstairs bathroom had water damage three years ago when we purchased the cabin that we immediately fixed. Our cabin is rented a lot, and with six bunk beds and one queen in the basement, that smaller bathroom shower is used frequently. Not everyone that rents our cabin turns on the fan or leaves the door open to let it air out. It does sometimes get musty.
When I looked in the hot tub there were some blades of grass and particles of dirt on the seat. I apologize for that, but the company we use to service our hot tub does not do a full water change after every renter checks out, but makes sure the chemicals are in balance and changes the water on a regular schedule.
Our refrigerator is less than a year old and the dishwasher and stove look and work fine, but I did call to get the hood fan serviced or replaced.
Lastly, I am sorry I did not respond to your VRBO message asking if I knew what channel Fox News was on. I was at my son's baseball tournament in another state and did not have the time to call and walk you through the process of using the TV. My guess is the TVs were not working correctly because someone in your party unplugged our modem/router which runs our TVs and thermostat and hid it above the refrigerator. We eventually found it though.
This cabin did not disappoint. We had so much fun. The views from the living room and deck were so beautiful. The kids loved the bunk beds and the car bed was a big hit with the 2 year old. We will definitely be back. Thanks to Delf for sharing this wonderful place.