Walden is home to this cabin. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Arapaho National Wildlife Refuge and Medicine Bow National Forest, while North Park Pioneer Museum and Holzwarth Historic Site are cultural highlights.
Arapaho National Wildlife Refuge - 17 min drive - 16.7 km
Walden Town Hall - 19 min drive - 29.7 km
North Park Visitors Bureau - 20 min drive - 30.0 km
Restaurants
Howling Coyote Roadhouse - 9 min drive
Drifters Cookhouse - 9 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Cabin in the Mountains pet-friendly?
No, only service animals are welcome at the property.
How much does it cost to stay at Cabin in the Mountains ?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Cabin in the Mountains on 5 July 2027 start from AU$235, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Cabin in the Mountains ?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Cabin in the Mountains ?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Cabin in the Mountains ?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Cabin in the Mountains located?
Situated in Walden, this cabin is 3.5 mi (5.7 km) from Moose Visitor Center and within 12 miles (20 km) of Arapaho National Wildlife Refuge and Medicine Bow National Forest. Walden Town Hall and North Park Visitors Bureau are also within 20 miles (32 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Great camper cabins with an amazing view. Wake up and enjoy a cup of coffee watching the sunrise over the mountains, listen to elk bugle at sunset in September. Friendly and welcoming staff (and Ellie the Lab). Book a horseback ride, fishing excursion, hunting trip, or just use it as a basecamp to explore North Park; you won’t be disappointed.
Met the check in crew at the gate(including the dogs), and was walked to my cabin. insane view of the mtns, and horses walking along the field across the street.
This rustic cabin met our needs for a good night's sleep. The description was accurate. The beds were comfortable. The shower room was a close walk. The host was friendly and available as was his dog. After a hike up Lake Agnes and some fishing in the State Forest, this location was close.
I loved the view and having horses and dogs around. The cabin was basic and comfortable. Bring your own coffee cups. I felt sheepish when I discovered how much more I paid renting via this site rather than direct from Red Feather Guides & Outfitters, which advertises a cheaper rate.
My friend and I traveled here to escape the busyness of life, and boy did this do the trick! Very secluded area, very quiet. About 20 minutes from Walden. Highly recommend the horseback rides with Red Feather that the host operates. Close to a natire trail and the Moose Visitor Center. The view of mountains in the morning was absolutely breathtaking.
Amazing host, fantastic people who work at the cabins. Very friendly all the way around. We will definitely be booking again!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Aug 2024
I’m glad you had a good stay!! Let us know when you want to come back! Happy to have you!
We arrived in the afternoon. The property was easy to locate, and check-in was a breeze. We were located conveniently between Cameron Pass and Walden. Staff was available, but not intrusive. The showerhouse was wonderful---warm, comfortable, with everything that we needed. The nightlights were helpful. The chairs outside were useful, but I am not sure that they would fit inside during cold or inclement weather. The cabin was most useful as a storage place and a sleeping place. I was glad that the weather allowed us to be mostly outside.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Jackie L.
30 Sept 2024
Liked: Check-in, communication
Was okay
This was acceptable for what we needed as we came up to fish and didn't do much here but sleep. The refrigerator made an awful humming noise when it was on. We had coolers so we shut it off.
We also did not know there was a floor heater behind the beds, so it was cold the first night. The pillows had a stale odor. Overall it was okay.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Melissa H.
19 Oct 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness
I didn't really want to leave a review like this, but in this case I felt it very necessary. The place was filthy. There was dust and dead bugs everywhere, lots and lots of caked, accumulated dust. On the baseboard heat, tables, walls, etc. There was something crusty on the carpet. Under the beds there were used tissues. When we were leaving my son found a shirt that did not belong to us at the bottom of the bed my daughter was sleeping in, which leads us to believe the beds were never stripped and washed prior to our arrival and the departure of the last guest. My bed seemed to have had a stain in it as well. The bathrooms are communal they were dirty and they were never cleaned and trash never emptied during our stay. We also did not have a way to lock the doors at night while we were sleeping or when we were away. We had to take anything of value with us everywhere. The cabin is right off the highway. I was happy with the location, the host was responsive, the place has potential, it just really needs a deep clean.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Staci P.
30 July 2025
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Aug 2025
Thank you for your feed back. I am discouraged by your review considering we changed your date twice with no complaint, even though it was during a holiday weekend. You booked a horse back ride with us and showed up late. Then proceeded to not pay or tip the wranglers at all. When I added a charge (which ends up being less than market price after VRBO takes a percentage) you tried to fight that as well. We were more than accommodating with you and communicated with you multiple times throughout your stay. I decided to not leave you a traveler review hoping that you were just having an off weekend.