Located in Woodsville, this holiday home is near theme parks and on the waterfront. Haverhill-Bath Covered Bridge and Bath Covered Bridge are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include Haverhill Library and Cultural Center and Milarepa Center. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, or try out other outdoor activities such as ice skating and snowmobiling.
White Mountain National Forest - 13 min drive - 14.8 km
Franconia Notch State Park - 34 min drive - 45.4 km
Ice Castles - 35 min drive - 45.4 km
Loon Mountain Resort - 41 min drive - 50.1 km
Getting around
Whitefield, NH (HIE-Mount Washington Regional) - 67 min drive
Restaurants
P&H Truck Stop - 11 min drive
McDonald's - 7 min drive
Dunkin' - 7 min drive
Lisbon Village Pizza - 24 min drive
Shiloh's Restaurant - 10 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is LAKE HOUSE on the water w/ 2 kayaks, canoe, huge deck, swim raft, dock, fire pit pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at LAKE HOUSE on the water w/ 2 kayaks, canoe, huge deck, swim raft, dock, fire pit?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at LAKE HOUSE on the water w/ 2 kayaks, canoe, huge deck, swim raft, dock, fire pit on 1 Nov 2026 start from AU$1,208, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at LAKE HOUSE on the water w/ 2 kayaks, canoe, huge deck, swim raft, dock, fire pit?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at LAKE HOUSE on the water w/ 2 kayaks, canoe, huge deck, swim raft, dock, fire pit?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at LAKE HOUSE on the water w/ 2 kayaks, canoe, huge deck, swim raft, dock, fire pit?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is LAKE HOUSE on the water w/ 2 kayaks, canoe, huge deck, swim raft, dock, fire pit located?
This family-friendly Woodsville holiday home is located on the waterfront, within 3 mi (5 km) of Lake Gardner, Connecticut River and Haverhill-Bath Covered Bridge. Woodsville Free Public Library and Wells River - State Welcome Center are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
The house was lovely and we couldn't have asked for a better week. The neighbors provided an exceptional 4th of July fireworks show too. Everything was great!
This was the perfect spot for our short family getaway. The house had everything we needed to enjoy some quality time relaxing, swimming, grilling and fishing. Local stores located within a short distance and plenty of hiking trails nearby. Highly recommend.
This is a beautiful area no doubt…
However, there were some disappointing aspects that took away from the experience.
A beautiful wrap around deck but none of the outside lights worked at all… we just wanted to hang out on the deck at night but couldn’t.
Superficially, the house looked clean, but it needed allot more detailed cleaning.
Air conditioners did very little to keep us cool, was unbearable during heat of day and night for sleeping
The fire pit looked cool but was so unfunctional and VERY dangerous… a serious liability for sure
All in all a disappointment
Peaceful relaxing waterfront getaway… did I mention it was relaxing?
We were looking for a secluded place on the water that wasn't so far out that it was remote. This was the perfect choice. A peaceful and quiet mountain lake, yet everything you could need within a 10 minute drive. Even a Walmart! The property is a true camp location on a quiet dirt road that wraps around the lake. It has a comfortable interior with lake views from every window. You are a few feet from the water, and can literally watch the fish swim around off the deck. My wife and I spent many hours just relaxing and enjoying the wrap around deck watching the sun set over the hills and just enjoying the peace and quiet. Sitting out at night we could hear the crickets and frogs but not much else. We are definitely considering going back again.
Thank you Matt for being a responsive host, and answering any questions we had.
Stayed 4 nights in Sep 2023
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Kenneth L P.
20 July 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Listing accuracy
Lake Garder Cottage, 7/24
The cottage is right on the lake. The cottage is very funtional but is showing its age. Kitchen cabinetry is showing wear from lots of use. We did enjoy the cottage and in paticular the large deck.
Unfortunately there were some issues outside of the cottage.
First the water front at the dock was thick with spreading vine like weeds preventing comfortable water access.
Second, the stairs to the dock have rope railing which is not to code. Some boards were rotten with one at the bottom broken due to rot.
Third, when walking onto the dock and at the mid point the dock shakes enough that my balance was affected and I had to grab onto to the dock post. So the dock is unsafe for use.
Fourth, the gas grill was out of propane and we did purchase a full tank. Even with fuel we could not get it to light with the button ignition, even with matches. I could not hear gas flowing either.
Needless to say the issues put a damper on our stay. We will not be returning.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Aug 2024
Kenneth, if you had reached out we would have had the property manager take care of any issues you let us know about He could have quickly cleaned up any weeds that floated to the shoreline, showed you how to work the grilll, and fixed the partially broken stair tread. The grill is a newer Weber and works well with no issues reported before or after your stay. As for the dock, it is a floating one at the end, so it does wobble some but it is safe.The property manager has since fixed the stair tread and replaced the others that were showing signs of wear. We're sorry that this wasn't found and addressed before your stay. In the future, I would encourage connecting with any hosts earlier during your stay if anything needs attention so that they can have the opportunity to address them and make things right.
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Ruth M.
30 Sept 2014
Perfect End to the Summer
Where to begin. The house was exactly as described which is always nice. My 11 year old son woke up every morning to fish and headed back to the lake for more fishing each night. My 6 year old thought catching the little perches was a lot of fun. All in all, they caught lots of little fishes, along with a few catfish and a couple of large mouth bass. I think starting a log of fish caught is a great idea.
We also spent time hiking nearby at Franconia Notch State Park. Amazing! The trails were well maintained and the views were fabulous. The ride to and from Franconia wasn't too bad either, especially when you stopped at the Brickhouse to sample the fudge, the smoked bacon and the smoked cheeses. We were also lucky enough to pick up b'fast on the go a few mornings; the donuts and the maple muffins were delicious. And, we visited Polly Pancakes a couple of times which I highly recommend (and don't forget the reservations).
We didn't spend to much time visiting civilization as the whole point for us was to get away. I personally loved the fact that my cell phone got absolutely no reception at the house. I didn't mind being cut off for a while.
The fire pit was wonderful as well. The kids fished, I sat by the fire with my kindle and a glass of wine.....perfection! Then later on we roasted marshmallows and enjoyed the peace. We were also amazed by the night sky. The light pollution is so much less than here in NJ; the sky was full of stars....more than we ever see at home.
If we are ever in the area again, we would definitely stay here. No complaints at all.
Verified review
4/10 Poor
mehul k.
22 Sept 2018
Good house and great location - NO CELL SIGNAL, HORRIBLE WiFi and BROKEN Boats
Everything was great and we were very happy when we got to the house. Its situated on a small lake with only a handful of houses. It is very 'woodsy' location, with a dirt road leading up to the house. House was neat and clean, with toys/games for kids etc.
We did have two major issues, and one that is less significant. The two major issues were:
- No cell signal, but cant fault the property for that. However, the wifi was HORRIBLE. The owner really needs to update the antique DSL modem with something newer. Out of the 3 days, the wifi probably worked only for 3-4 hours in TOTAL. Informed the owner, and he did call the internet provider, but there was no resolution and I was asked to call the internet company myself, which I didnt want to do while on vacation. So we were really cut off from the world while at the house.
- The posting described a kayak and canoe is available at the house. However, it was clear that the Canoe had not been used in a long time, and was broken on one side, and all the seats were either completely broken, or very wobbly. It was not safe at all. I informed the owner, but he said he couldnt get anyone to fix it given it was long weekend. Instead he asked if I could fix it!!! We were really looking fwd to using the canoe to go out on the lake as a family, but unfortunately it was not to be. So we had to take turns in the single seat kayak, which wasnt much fun.
- The other minor item was that the water around the dock had a lot of weeds. The owner's instructions at the house were to rake them out ourselves. I would expect that the owner should get that done as part of the landscape maintenance or something, and not make the renters do that work. I finally did it on our last day so my 2 year old could play in the water.....maybe I should have done it sooner..
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 20 May 2020
Mehul, the internet has since been fixed, sorry that we couldn't get a tech out before you left but I know you know that we tried multiple times to do this. The reason I asked you to call the ISP is that they were going to run a test with you to troubleshoot the issue as they couldn't get a tech onsite until after the holiday. I could have come up and done this myself but then I would be hanging out with you and your family - I thought you would have preferred having the family time. As for the canoe, the seat became detached from the side and it was a matter of adding a nut and a bolt to reattach it. When we spoke, I thought you were OK with taking this on but I would have sent someone out, or gone there myself, if I had known that this was going to be a challenge. On the weeds that floated to shore, yes this does happen from time to time, which is why we leave a rake nearby - it literally takes all of 30 seconds to remove them. The house is in a woodsy location, with poor cell service, and yes there are plants and animals. Most families appreciate having the opportunity to commune with nature together and immerse themselves in it. Apparently this wasn't what you were looking for and we apologize that it wasn't a good fit.
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Dena B.
18 Aug 2016
Tranquil
We had such a nice stay at the Lake. The lake is definitely small, but beautiful and serene. And voices sure do carry. The house has all the comforts of home. Kichen fully stocked, although I had a hard time making pancakes because I forgot to buy butter or cooking spray. TV room is a nice spot to hangout at night after sun goes down with lots of TV channels. . You want to enjoy the view of lake downstairs for as long as daylight provides.
We could not get cell phone coverage at lake with our Verizon carrier, and had sporadic Internet coverage.
Beds are comfy, my teens used the full size bed and bottom bunk of bunk beds in thd 2ND bedroom. We opted to use towels/linens provided at house so we wouldn't have to pack towels and sheets. Just have to wash at end of stay.
We were there for 4 nights and experienced beautiful sunny weather, cloudy day, and a rainy day. We kept busy every day. Mornings we'd enjoy our coffee looking out on the lake or sitting out on the nice deck. There's also a nice lawn area with a few Adirondack chairs to sit.
The nice weather days we just relaxed at the lake, swam, floated around in the inner tubes (provided), and paddled around in the kayak and canoe (provided). My husband and son fished on the lake too, (fishing poles provided). Also played a little bocce ball (provided). On the rainy day we went into town and ate at a small Mexican restaurant with a bar, food was OK, nothing great, we asked our server what she would recommend on a rainy day, she suggested a little shopping on Main St, in Littleton and visit to the Candy store there, which we did. It was a very quaint town close by.
The cloudy day we were lazy and got a late start and decided to hike to the farm nearby which was recommended in the literature provided, beware no trail signs, and many forks in the trail, we ended up using our GPS on phone and made it to the farm. Not sure if this hike is private property since we came across a few Posted no fishing, hunting, trespassing signs. Probably 1 1/2 hrs overall but we may not have taken the most direct route. By the time we returned weather was perfect for a swim and some more fishing.
We also visited Village pizza for some pizza and wings on the last night . The trip wasn't complete until we visited Slicks ice cream for some Grandma's apple pie ice cream! Yum. Overall a wonderful stay which provided some nice family time with the teens.
Thanks for sharing your gem on the lake.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2016
Response from VrboOwner on 20 May 2020
So glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time up at the lake Dena! I haven't tried the Grandma's apple pie ice cream but it sounds delicious. Hard to believe it is apple picking season already but they should be open for business at Windy Ridge Orchard in North Haverhill in the next week or so. It's a pick your own and the cider donuts rock. Good to know about the hike to the Minot Farm being a bit confusing, I think the lumberjacks may cut a few extra trails in recent years which adds to the confusion. I'll have to update the guide to suggest people looking for a nearby hike check out the new Lone Oak Trail first and leave the farm hike for only the most adventurous. We haven't hiked it ourselves yet but according to the neighbors it's worth checking out. I just found the site linked to below that has pics and a trailmap. The trail head is just down the road by the river. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
http://1happyhiker.blogspot.com/2016/04/hiking-lone-oak-trail-bath-nh.html
Great camp and location, everything you need, but still close to stores. Amazing fishing, quiet and relaxing. Great accommodations and beautiful location.
We have been going to Lake Gardner for our anniversary every summer for many years but this was our first time renting this house. We loved it! It was very clean and cozy. We enjoyed floating on the lake for days, and my husband lost track of how many fish he caught.
We cooked on the grill and hung out with friends on the wrap around porch. There was a heat wave going on, but drawing the curtains and running the fan and AC unit kept it nice and cool inside. Very comfy couch for relaxing and reading.
The neighbors are SO nice if you even see them. It's a very quiet, peaceful place. We didn't go anywhere at all except to Walmart (which is only a few minutes away) for supplies.
As always, it was very tough to leave!
My closest friends and I from southern NH were looking for a place to go uo north to fish and enjoy being away. We found the home to be amazing. The fishing was great. The local swim spots and things of that nature were fairly endless. My only complaints are, the air-conditioned doesn't work the best. It works don't get me wrong. But we had to open up the windows at night upstairs. Doing so allowed soooooo many bugs in through the screens somehow. And there was a racoon that destroyed a bag u had my Coleman grill in. Otherwise it was pretty much ideal and we all had a great time. We are from NH so the bugs didn't bother us badly. But it was significant.
Very quiet and peaceful. Owner very easy to work with and quick to respond to emails. A nice place to vacation.
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2021
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Beth G.
10 July 2021
Liked: Communication, location
Perfect location, okay accommodations
We had a wonderful time at Lake Gardener! It is a perfect, sleepy lake that is lovely for kayaking, canoeing, and swimming. There is lots to do in the surrounding area, particularly if you are game for up to an hour-long drive. We particularly loved the Clark's Bears and exploring Lost River Gorge and Boulder Caves. We also took a day trip to Stowe, VT to hike and hit up Ben and Jerry's.
The homeowner was very responsive and gave great recommendations for what do to.
The house itself needs some repairs, which is why we are giving this property less than 5 stars. We messaged the owner who said he would work with the property manager to make these repairs. I had not read the rental agreement carefully enough to realize that all linens needed to be cleaned and put back on beds before leaving, so make sure to plan accordingly for that.
Also note that when we were there, the water levels were too low for tubing and the Brick Store is closed due to COVID.
Cozy, quiet house on a great little pond! We enjoyed our stay here - lots of activity on the dock and caught a few fish for dinner from the pond. Wifi was a bit spotty, but as local new englanders, we know it's lucky if you get it at all in the mountains, so no big deal. Lots of games for a rainy day and plenty of local activities when the sun shines (we went to polar caves, hiked bridalveil falls, rode the cog railway and enjoyed the rides at Attitash). Great pancakes at Polly's, fun pizza and magician at another recommendation from the host and great steaks off the grill from a farm near the covered bridge. Overall a fantastic week. Thanks!
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2019
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Gillian W.
15 Sept 2018
Great family holiday on peaceful lake
This is a great location for some family time spent on or beside the lake. The owners have lots of equipment to help you enjoy yourselves and we loved being able to row over to the separate deck and catch the sun as well as cooling down in the inflatable raft. We ate in every night as we were too relaxed to go out! Therefore the local Walmart only 10 mins away saw a lot of us! We did venture out sometimes in the day and went to the oldest shop in bath and the oldest diner in Littleton. We also had a good breakfast on the morning we left in Chutters.
After our road trip of cities it was nice to have some good old fashioned holiday time.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2018
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Debra L.
12 Sept 2018
Wonderful time!
Peaceful and relaxing setting! The lake and views were what we all needed. The home was clean and neat and our family enjoyed all the amenities! Matthew, the owner, answered all our questions and was very helpful.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2018
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Kristen M.
5 Sept 2018
Not as expected
PROS: Right on the lake, nice wrap around porch, nice pond, grill worked, beautiful view, location is in the middle of nowhere so you are very unplugged for sure, had some great family time playing numerous games they have available and used kayak which was provided. Owner had great response to phone calls. Area is beautiful, very secluded
CONS: Was not cleaned when we arrived, . Owner answered phone right away, cleaning lady came, had to wait 3 hours for her to clean it. House is in full sun from noon until sunset, air conditioners were not on when we arrived and shades were not drawn, house temperature was 94 degrees. Two portable air conditioners could not cool down house, took two full days and only then did it get down to 74 degrees. We did stay during a very hot week, but kept shades drawn during day. There were quite a few things that were broken, fan upstairs, bed box spring in spare bedroom so bed slanted down, mattresses on bunk beds were extremely thin and could feel springs underneath, canoe has holes and leaks, one of the seats in canoe was broken, hot water heater died, had to be repaired twice which took away from our time with my husband trying to troubleshoot with owner on the phone and having 3 different people coming to figure out problem during the first 3 days, smoke detectors went off at 6:30 am for no reason, low batteries I'm guessing. Thought we would have a nice quiet week on the lake until the construction right next door started on Monday morning and lasted all day during the week, hammers, saws, etc..... They are rebuilding a house, that was awesome. Wifi never worked, maybe for 10 minutes once a day. Adirondack chairs on lawn are wobbly. This property needs some maintenance for sure. No cell phone reception in area except near Walmart (however this wouldn't have been a concern had the wifi worked as it was advertised.)
Owner did refund us a small amount of $ due to all of these concerns and did offer us to return our money if we wanted to leave but there was nowhere else to go and we were only staying a few days, plus it was my son's birthday. It was not the vacation we expected but we made the best of it. Would not stay here again unfortunately.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 20 May 2020
It was apparent from the very beginning that this wasn't going to be a good fit and we offered a full refund for the one night they had already stayed, and to cancel the remainder with no penalties, to avoid this very situation. Kristen did not take us up on that offer nor did she reach out to VRBO to inquire upon another place to stay. That's exactly why you pay a service fee to VRBO. The home is a modernized camp on the water in the White Mountains, apparently that's not what Kristin thought she was renting. Even though they decided to stay, we still ended up providing a refund of $250 at the end of their stay as a way to compensate them for the issues that were addressed as soon as they were brought to our attention. This may be small to her now but at the time her husband thought it was more than fair given that most of the issues that came up were beyond our control and/or insignificant (wobbly Adirondack chair?!?).
Also, not sure where the temp info came from but Kristen's thermometer must be off - WeatherUnderground has the temps dropping into the 60s every night of their stay - even just opening the windows would have dropped the temps below 74. Add in AC and fans and there is no reason the house should have been that hot.
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Rene P.
26 July 2018
Total relaxation!
We have rented many homes through Home Away and VRBO both in the US and Europe. Matt is without question one of the most responsive and reliable owners we have ever worked with.
We really enjoyed our 11 nights in this home. The house sits literally on the lake. There is no exaggeration in saying you can fish from the deck! In fact, that became my husband's morning routine. He got up, brewed a cup of coffee, and then sat on the deck fishing while he drank his coffee.
The home's layout makes it feel very spacious, despite its relative small size. We had our 3 big kids with us (15, 18 & 20) and we had more than enough space to spread out and relax. The house was spotless, truly one of the cleanest homes we have rented. The kitchen was well stocked with basic kitchen ware. Walmart is only 10 minutes away should you need anything that isn't there. We cooked 2 meals a day at the house and had no troubles. We used the outdoor grill almost daily. Plenty of sheets, blankets, towels, etc. The washer and dryer were convenient and saw a lot of use.
We purposefully rented a home on a quiet lake. There are only a handful of homes on this lake (10-12 maybe). A tiny, dirt road winds around the lake to the house. The lake is small enough to easily paddle the perimeter in the provided kayak or canoe. Fishing was awesome. We lost track of how many fish we caught - perch and small mouth bass. Hubby did catch one pickerel as it leapt out of the water to snatch a small perch as he was reeling it in. Swimming (or in my case floating) in the lake was so relaxing. Tubes are provided and we also took a big floating mattress. The water is clean, clear, and so refreshing. The two neighbors we met were friendly. Had we not met them on the road, we wouldn't have known they were there. Most of time we felt like we were the only inhabitants around the lake.
The location of the house was a perfect launching spot for day trips. So many options within 90 minutes of the house - then coming back in the evening to the serenity and quiet of the lake, fishing until it was too dark to see, then starting a fire in the fire pit, roasting marshmallows and eating smores. Swimming at Swift River Falls just below the covered bridge about 15 minutes from the house followed by ice cream at Slicks was probably the favorite activity of all.
This is a fine rental property and I recommend it without hesitation.
Stayed 11 nights in Jul 2018
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Mia K.
10 July 2018
House and lake are a good fit for our family. It has what we're looking for on an extended stay
We have stayed at this property twice and have enjoyed our stay tremendously each time. The house has most everything that we're looking for as far as size, a dock, and a floating raft. The location right on the lake has allowed for very relaxing vacations. On this last vacation I was able to finish two books, which is usually very hard to do considering I have four young children. It's also not too far away from stores if you need to go into town and buy anyting. My husband and I are really enjoyed sitting on the deck at night and playing cards. On the last night I was there, the sky was so clear that I was able to see the Milky Way, which was really fantastic. I hope to stay here in the coming years and I would recommend it to anyone, as long as they're not requesting my same dates.
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 20 May 2020
So glad to hear how much you were able to relax and unwind Mia. The lake house isn't the typical StoryLand / Santa's Village type of vacation home but it sounds like you and your family appreciate it for what it is. Happy to have you back anytime!
From a partner site
10/10 Excellent
Cindy S.
25 May 2018
Beautiful quiet lake
We enjoyed the house and lake very much !! Thank you Matt for all your help
We hope to return in the near future.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Archival
8/10 Good
Barbara T.
5 Sept 2017
Perfect
We had an amazing time ! The property is exactly as described. The house was clean and comfortable. We lost power the last night of our stay due to a storm but the house filled with candle light was magical! We would definitely stay here again.