Cote d'Azur - Peaceful Villa with Panoramic Views on a Picturesque Village
- english, french, spanish, italian
About Alison Sword
Retired Anglo-french couple, ex dancer and ex computer engineer. We have been living in France (Paris and the south) for many years. This is the home we live in the winter months : it is yours for the summer !
Alison Sword purchased this Villa in 2001
Why Alison Sword chose Sophia Antipolis
SPECIAL COVID 19 : Special disinfection cleaning . The land around the villa is completely closed . Privacy : garden and pool not overlooked . The pool is safe : disinfection by salt electrolysis . The local restaurants can deliver meals ( or take away) The local supermarkets deliver by order online : this can be arranged before your arrival (a weeks notice ) or drive in (orders also online) Cleaning : professionally done , according to governmental requirements . In spite of all this , a good holiday is possible ! We guarantee sun and swimming pool !
What makes this Villa unique
Villa in a peacefull area , away from the coastal traffic but not too far from the seaside towns. Wonderful views over the hills. Village : walking distance.
Pool / Spa
100% refund if cancelled at least 30 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Damage and incidentals
You will be responsible for any damage to the rental property that is caused by you or your party during your stay.
Pets allowed - Only two cats per booking (not dogs allowed)Only two cats per booking (not dogs allowed)
Max guests: 6
Great Location, Beautiful Villa
We had a lovely week at this villa. Perfect location to explore neighbouring towns and the coast, along with fantastic views from the pool. The owners, Alison and Jacques, were very welcoming and helpful and provided many great suggestions for our stay. The villa was well appointed, homely and extremely clean. We would love to return.
We do hope to see again such pleasant guests , and are very glad they appreciated their holiday at 'la Sarrazine' .
Beautiful setting, but the villa is a little tired and in need of updating n parts.
The setting of the villa was beautiful and some rooms well furnished, but others lacked the facilities needed. In the bedrooms all the beds were very low and extremely uncomfortable. The sink in the upstairs bathroom is so small and badly placed it was impossible to shave or wash your face in the sink. There were lots of things missing that you need when staying for a week such as a clothes line or airer to hang up wet towels to dry and swimming items/towels. When we arrived the cleaning was not very good with the toilets not cleaned properly and the kitchen drawers full of crumbs and grime. We had to clean ourselves on arrival. However, there were no cleaning materials left such as clean cloths/sponges to keep the villa clean, so we had to buy these - not what you expect to be doing on holiday! The tea towels were very old and grubby too and there was no bowl to wash up in the sink.The kitchen was vey basically furnished and there was no oven to cook in. The combination oven was like a microwave and too small to even heat a pizza in. The fridge was ancient and didn't keep things very cold. A bit of money is now needing to be spent to keep it at the standard expected for the price paid. The pool area was beautiful and gardens very well maintained. We thought it was expensive for the facilities on offer. The local village was close by with a super bakers but no other restaurants for eating out apart from a pizza place or the pub.
With such a long and devastating review , we have to reply .
All the beds are "very low and extremely uncomfortable" ? Nobody has ever complained about them (see the other reviews).
The upstairs bathroom is not big ,so it is not possible to put a large ("so small"...) basin. But we will improve this .
About the cleaning , it is true that our regular cleaning lady was not available that changeover day , so we had to find a new one (professional).
But saying that you had to redo everything again is totally exaggerated. Why did you buy sponges as , when you asked for more, we had provided some?
The four tea towels ("very old and grubby") were brand new (we change them every Summer) . Next time we will give at least two bowls (dishwasher provided)for washing up ; cleaning seems to be your principal activity on holiday .
The kitchen is normally furnished and has everything you need . The oven is too small? we will replace it.
The fridge is not "old": 4 years old (it's a Liebherr , the fridge's Rollroyce ).As everyone knows ,there is a temperature regulator button inside .
The villa is within walking distance to a village with 4 restaurants (as stated on the website), not close to a town .
With your two cars , you could have gone out : there are many "chic" restaurants in a 10kms radius (see Tripadvisor).
Thank you for counselling us about what we should do about our villa , we needed it badly ("a bit of money...").
We have always done our best to please our guests , unfortunately this sort of review (the only one we got, look at the others) will harm us .
PS : Thank you for the broken pool chair (which you never mentioned) and the nearly-indelible stains on the pool surroundings. As you said, you really appreciated the pool area !
PS-PS : A copy of the appreciation that you left in our guest book :
"We all enjoyed a wonderful holiday in this gorgeous setting . The pool area and garden are beautiful and the views amazing! House was spacious and comfortable and we are sad to leave . A bientot".
Believing this comment , I left a 5 star appreciation on you on the website . Dear dear !!!
Nice comfortable villa with stunning views.
We had a lovely week in the property which is well equipped with modern interior. The house is charming when viewed from the pool and the views are truly awe inspiring. The villa is less than 45 mins drive from Nice airport if the traffic is not heavy and there are lots of interesting villages to visit nearby. Grocery shopping is convenient and there is a plethora of restaurants to chose from. If you are looking for a relaxing holiday this place is perfect.
Property with amazing views.
We had a wonderful family holiday in this lovely property. The upside down living allows you to enjoy the stunning views. The house is very well equipped for comfort and offers a variety of eating areas inside and out. In other properties we have stayed at the pool was cleaned daily.
As stated in the contract signed by both parties at the date of the reservation ,the daily cleaning of the pool is to be done by the tenants .
A middle week maintenance is done by the owner .
Apart from the daily cleaning , the complete regulation of the water system is automatic.
A special place
La Sarrazine is in a lovely secluded spot with some fabulous views.
The house itself is lovingly furnished and well equipped. It is without a doubt, one of the best places that we have stayed at. We had some lovely evenings on the terrace drinking rose and watching the sun set over the hills.
It is also well placed for trips to the coast as well as the local hill top villages.
Thank you Jacques and Alison for making our stay so easy and relaxing.
Dear Fiona and Nick . We are so pleased that you enjoyed the area and the house , and had a good holiday. And thank you all for leaving our home in an impeccable state!! All the best, Alison and Jacques
sandy beaches Cannes Antibes (20km)
Nice airport 25kms. Car hire is essential.
Italian border 70kms.
The villa is situated in the heart of the historic provencal villages of Opio, Gourdon, Valbonne, Gourdon and not far from the sandy beaches of Antibes and Cannes (18 km). There are numerous activities to enjoy nearby: golf, horse-riding and paragliding, to name a few. Many music festivals. Classic music (Antibes, Cannes), jazz festivals (Antibes, Nice), pop and world music festivals (Cagnes, Vence), plus the concerts organized every summer in the small villages around. Good open air restaurants in Valbonne and Bar sur Loup (5 km). 3 supermarkets within 4 km, all shops and village market within five minutes walking distance.
For children, a good day out would be to Marineland, the best Aqua Park in Europe:
Killer whale and dolphin shows , shark tunnel .
There is also a funfair and crazy golf in the same complex 20 minutes away.
Near Gourdon (10kms) there is one of Europe’s best outdoor kart-racing tracks.
Para-gliding visible from the villa (Gourdon 10mn away).