Apartment

Cathedral Yard

Photo gallery for Cathedral Yard

A brick building with a large arched entrance labeled 'No. 5' and a storefront with a sign that reads 'Beauty Treatments.'
A hallway with a staircase, a wall-mounted shelf, and a potted plant.
A harbor with boats docked, buildings in the background, and a clear sky.
A modern living room with a leather sofa, a dining area, and a kitchen in the background.
A dining table set with white plates, clear wine glasses, and a bottle of wine.

Reviews

9.6 out of 10
Exceptional

Highlights

  • At the centre of it all
    Stay in a top rated central location, steps from the best attractions, dining, and entertainment.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to University of Exeter

Popular amenities

  • Kitchen
  • Refrigerator
  • Dryer
  • Internet
  • Non-smoking
  • Microwave

Explore the area

View map
Exeter, England
  • Place, Exeter Cathedral
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Exeter's Historic Quayside
    ‪5 min walk‬
  • Place, University of Exeter
    ‪11 min walk‬
  • Airport, Exeter (EXT-Exeter Intl.)
    ‪16 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 King Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Office

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Exeter

Exeter is home to this apartment. 21 The Mint and Exeter's Historic Quayside are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include St Sidwells Point Leisure Centre and Riverside Leisure Centre. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's happening at Sandy Park Rugby Stadium or Westpoint Arena.
Map
Exeter, England

What's nearby

  • Exeter Cathedral - 1 min walk - 0.0 km
  • Princesshay - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Exeter Phoenix Centre - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Exeter's Historic Quayside - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • University of Exeter - 11 min walk - 1.0 km

Getting around

  • Exeter Central Station - 6 min walk
  • Exeter (EXT-Exeter Intl.) - 31 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Chevalier Inn - ‬4 min walk
  • ‪The Turks Head - ‬1 min walk
  • ‪Ship Inn - ‬2 min walk
  • ‪McDonald's - ‬1 min walk
  • ‪Comptoir Libanais Exeter - ‬2 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Cathedral Yard pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Cathedral Yard?

As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Cathedral Yard on 31 Oct 2026 start from AU$1,249, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Cathedral Yard?

This property doesn't offer parking.

What time is check-in at Cathedral Yard?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Cathedral Yard?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Cathedral Yard located?

Situated in Exeter, this apartment building is within a 15-minute walk of Exeter Cathedral and University of Exeter. St Martin's Church and Guildhall Shopping Centre are just steps away. Exeter Central Station is 6 minutes by foot and Exeter (EXS-Exeter St Thomas Train Station) is 11 minutes.

Reviews

9.6

Exceptional

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 8 out of 9 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 0 out of 9 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 9 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 9 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 9 reviews

10/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

10/10

Location

8.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful apartment in central location

Beautifully decorated spacious apartment where you step out the front door on to the Cathedral Green. Right in the centre of Exeter with shopping, food and drinks all close by. Great as a base to travel to other Devon attractions. All facilities you could need including washing machine & dishwasher. Would stay here again It was a lovely shower but lacked the power to truly impress.
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Aug 2026
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful décor, spacious apartment and fantastic central location overlooking Cathedral Green. It’s great to know you had everything you needed for a comfortable stay and that the apartment made a convenient base for exploring Exeter and the wider Devon area. We’d love to welcome you back to Fresh Escapes again in the future! Warm Regards, The Fresh Escapes Team
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

We loved it!

We loved it, the location and the apartment were both wonderful!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

What a gem in Exeter!

Fabulous find right in the heart of the city! My son and I stayed for 2 weeks and it was perfect! Online listing was very accurate.
Stayed 16 nights in Apr 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 7 June 2023
Many thanks, for taking the time out of your day to write such a kind review. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to stay at any of our luxury homes at Fresh Escapes so feel to reach out and make contact with us in the not-too-distant future. Warm regards, The Fresh Escapes Team
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Decor was tasteful, clean, organized, and pleasant.

I had a wonderful time at the apartment the decor was tasteful, clean, organized, and pleasant. I'd also like to express my gratitude for a situation where my friend forgot his wallet and documents, and they were incredibly helpful in resolving the issue. I highly recommend the apartment and appreciate the efficiency of the entire Fresh Escapes team.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Dave A

Great location in the heart of downtown Exeter with the Cathedral right outside the front door. Restaurants, shops and Exeter Central train station all within an easy walk. Pictures are true to the flat and it is very well equipped.
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2024
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

First class accommodation

The accommodation was really lovely and couldn’t fault it, very clean and comfortable with everything you could possibly need. Brilliant location and even though it was in the city centre the bedroom was very quiet and peaceful. We don’t have a car so it was great that both buses and trains were close to hand. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely book again if we decided to visit Exeter again. Pretty much perfect so can’t think of anything to improve.
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Excellent location

The apartment has everything you need and is in a brilliant location for visiting the centre of Exeter. It was spotlessly clean with comfy beds and a great shower. Being the centre of town it can be a bit loud in the evening but as the bedrooms aren’t on the main high street, we weren’t disturbed during the night at all. We briefly stopped outside to drop bags before moving our car to a car park. It wasn’t that easy to work out how to get in to the road so some better directions would help. Otherwise, it was great
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Nov 2025
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
First the positives:CleanModernGreat appliances, wifi, TV bit complicated, but got to work itGood heating system infinitely flexible unlike these annoying places where they try and control heating for youbedrooms good clean, stylishlocation in centre excellent for convenience - but knew that when bookedHowever, major problem was the apartment overlooks the High Street NOT the cathedral yard when the headline very clearly said overlooking cathedral yard - being very clear it overlooked cathedral yard.As a result, there was no cathedral view, but that was minor issue; the bigger issue is that being on the high street it was incredibly noisy most of the day including first thing when clearups were taking place.This was each and every night (not just weekend) and was very noisy with shouting and associated drinking until early hours; the only way to drown out was to have TV on very loud - had I needed the apartment to work in more the noise levels would have been prohibitive. Fortunately by shutting doors to corridor and bedroom noise was held off and worked in bedroom instead.I understand subsequently that the description was wrong on VRBO, but that was no help while I was there - very disappointing having previously stayed at No.3 where none of these issues were apparent.So, if you are ok with street noise, this is great apartment, but it needs to be very clear that there is significant risk of that at all times of day and night.
Stayed 6 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 26 May 2026
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide such detailed feedback following your stay. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cleanliness, modern styling, appliances, flexible heating system, bedrooms and central location of the apartment. We are, however, sorry to hear of your disappointment regarding the listing description and surrounding noise levels. Following your feedback, we reviewed the VRBO listing and can confirm the wording referring to views over the Cathedral Yard was incorrect and has since been updated to avoid any future misunderstanding. We appreciate this was disappointing, particularly following your previous stay at No.3. As the apartment is located in the heart of the city centre, there can occasionally be increased levels of street noise during certain times of the year, particularly when local events are taking place or students are celebrating the end of exams and results periods. Whilst many guests enjoy the vibrant central location, we appreciate this may not suit everyone. That said, we are pleased you also noted that by closing the corridor and bedroom doors, the bedroom area incurred virtually no noise intrusion from the High Street, allowing for a quieter sleeping environment. We genuinely appreciate your balanced and constructive feedback, which helps us improve both the guest experience and the accuracy of our marketing. Warm regards, The Fresh Escapes Team
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback