Ottawa is home to this holiday home. Reddick Mansion and The Middle East Conflicts Wall Memorial are local landmarks, and the area's natural beauty can be seen at Starved Rock State Park and Buffalo Rock State Park. Mix's Trading Post and Grand Bear Falls Indoor Water Park are also worth visiting.
Tangled Roots Brewing Company - The Lone Buffalo - 11 min walk - 1.0 km
Reddick Mansion - 14 min walk - 1.2 km
Appellate Court - 14 min walk - 1.2 km
Starved Rock State Park - 10 min drive - 13.3 km
Restaurants
Valentinos - 14 min walk
Berta's Tap - 11 min walk
Cats Q - 9 min walk
Jeremiah Joe Coffee - 2 min drive
Jimmy John's - 2 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Magnificent Riverfront Victorian House steps from downtown Ottawa ! pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Magnificent Riverfront Victorian House steps from downtown Ottawa !?
As of 28 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Magnificent Riverfront Victorian House steps from downtown Ottawa ! on 29 Oct 2026 start from AU$2,182, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Magnificent Riverfront Victorian House steps from downtown Ottawa !?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Magnificent Riverfront Victorian House steps from downtown Ottawa !?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Magnificent Riverfront Victorian House steps from downtown Ottawa !?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Magnificent Riverfront Victorian House steps from downtown Ottawa ! located?
Situated in Ottawa, this holiday home is within 1 mile (2 km) of Tangled Roots Brewing Company - The Lone Buffalo, Washington Square Park and Reddick Mansion. Appellate Court and OSF Saint Elizabeth Medical Center are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
This place is gorgeous! Simply beautiful and great for large family gatherings! It was perfect
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 Oct 2026
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're so happy the home was perfect for your family gathering. That's exactly what we created it for!
One small note for future stays: please take a moment to review the checkout instructions. The trash was left behind, and all of the linens, blankets and mattress protectors were removed from the beds, which made turnover much harder for our cleaning team. A quick look at the checkout list goes a long way!
Overall, you were a pleasant group, and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for choosing our home!
We came as a group of friends and loved our weekend stay! The house was lovely and was exactly as described. The entire place was clean and comfortable. It was such a fun house to stay in. The host is helpful and responded reliably and promptly to questions. We would definitely stay again if given the opportunity.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Sept 2026
Thank you so much! We're so happy your friend group had a fun, comfortable weekend and that everything lived up to expectations. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we'd love to have you all back anytime
My roommates from college met here for a few days to enjoy a quiet time together to catch up while also touring around the area. This was such a cool property! Such a historic home with so many rooms, bathrooms and beds! Also many places to hang out to talk or just have some quiet time. The patio facing the Illinois River was our very favorite! So serene and so beautiful and wonderful patio furniture! We loved the property and this was easy to check-in and enter the property too. Very close to other great locations, and such a beautiful neighborhood for a walk. We all agreed it would be a great place to stay again!
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Sept 2026
Thank you so much for this beautiful review! We're thrilled your college roommates got to reconnect in such a special spot, and that the riverfront patio became your favorite corner — it really is magical at sunset. It means a lot that check-in was smooth and that you found the neighborhood as charming as we do. We'd love to host your group again anytime — come back soon!
House was spacious with lots of room for our large family to spread out. Great location and good communication with host.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 15 July 2026
Thank you so much for staying with us and for the kind words! We're so glad the space gave your family plenty of room to spread out and relax together — that's exactly what we hope for with larger groups. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we'd love to welcome you back anytime.
Our family really enjoyed the back porch overlooking the river along with the sunroom on the second floor that also overlooked the river and was a great gaming space for us.
The house was spacious and beautiful!! Bedrooms were clean, spacious and good beds. Bathrooms were adequate and enough of them. We used the Kitchen space downstairs and it was great with seating, appliances, etc. We loved being on the patio with the two tables and many chairs for the 15 of us to gather when we wanted to eat together. It was so fun to watch the boat traffic and see eagles flying overhead. The view was beautiful. It could use dish towels in the kitchen, and some cleaning outside, but it worked great for us!!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Sept 2026
Thank you so much, Cathy! We're so glad your group of 15 had room to spread out and gather together, and that the patio delivered — eagles and boat traffic included! We really appreciate the feedback on the dish towels and outdoor cleaning, and we've already taken note to make sure that's addressed for future guests. Hope to host you all again soon!
Large home worked well for eight 69/70 year old ladies with a view of the river from the deck along with lots of bedrooms/ beds and bathrooms. Nice large table in the main dining room to play games at. Smaller dining room has the only TV but view is obstructed by another dining table in front of the couch so IPads were used to watch college football games on. Cleaning lady missed cleaning out inside of frig along with removing a broken chair on the deck . Obtaining check in code was received later than stated.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Sept 2026
Thank you for your review. We're glad the home worked well for your group's gathering — the deck view and space for the group clearly got good use.
We do need to correct something, though. You've stated the check-in code and WiFi info were provided late, but our VRBO message log clearly shows both were sent at 3:53 — the timestamp is right there in our messages. We understand you called about it, but the information had already been sent; it simply wasn't seen in time.
Our home is set up for people to unplug and spend time together, not as a TV-viewing property, so we're sorry that didn't match what you were hoping for.
As for the fridge, it was cleaned before your arrival. The condiments left behind are intentional — we leave them for guests who'd rather not buy sauces and basics for a short stay.
We hope you find a rental next time that's a better match for what you're looking for.
We were in town for our daughter’s wedding and needed space for out of town travelers. The home is huge! It’s got solid bones and is filled with gorgeous and interesting pieces. There are so many options for a large family, multiple families or groups of friends. We took advantage of the beautiful river view of the back porch and took in fresh air while connecting with loved ones. Super close to downtown and convenient to get any/everywhere. Clean, modern, interesting, comfortable, and perfect to keep us on task for our event!!!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 23 June 2026
Thank you so much for choosing our home for your daughter's wedding celebration — what an honor to be part of such a special weekend! We're so glad the space worked well for your out-of-town guests and that everyone got to enjoy the river view from the back porch together. Wishing the happy couple a lifetime of joy, and we'd love to host you again anytime!
We had a wonderful stay! The river view was amazing, and the house was clean with plenty of space for everyone to be comfortable. We really enjoyed our time there!
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Oct 2025
Thank you so much for your stayt! I am so glad you enjoyed it, and we hope you will be back!
Clean, plenty of room,beautiful view of the river. Convenient location, Comfortable beds.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 26 Aug 2025
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you had a good experience, but we’re surprised by the 4-star rating, as we fully accommodated all of your needs. We aim for excellence and would appreciate any specific feedback on how we can improve.
The house was beautiful and in a great location. The history of the home and decor was amazing. I went here with my husband's side of his dad's family. There was 12 of us. Perfect number of rooms and beds for all of us. Beautiful view of the lake. There are 3 refrigerators, 4.5 baths, 2 laundry facilities, and 4 sitting areas. Only 1 bedroom on the main floor and the rest upstairs. I would like a way to go to the water from the backyard but it was fine. The view was spectacular. Need to know - temp needs to be set to 74 in the summer, strip all sheets from beds used before checking out, wash all loads over 3 (sheets and towels but wash separately), take all trash out. Other than making sure all laundry was done for the house, we all really loved staying at this house and hope to stay here in the future!!!If you are looking for a queit, relaxing, and tranquil place to stay, this house is perfect. I highly recommend this house as a place to stay near Starved Rock, IL.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2026
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear the house was the perfect fit for your family gathering — 12 people from your husband's side of the family sounds like such a special time, and we're so glad the layout worked well with the one main-floor bedroom and the rest upstairs.
We're delighted you appreciated the home's history and the decor — a lot of care went into both, and it means so much when guests notice. That lake view really is spectacular, and we've heard from many guests that it's one of their favorite parts of staying here. We hear you on wanting more direct water access from the backyard — that's great feedback for us to keep in mind.
Thank you as well for taking such good care of the house during your stay, including staying on top of the laundry (we know that's no small task with a full house of 12!). We really appreciate guests like you who treat the home with that kind of respect.
We're so happy you found it to be the quiet, relaxing retreat you were hoping for near Starved Rock. Thank you for recommending us, and we would absolutely love to host your family again in the future!
We had a wonderful Christmas stay with our family in this charming Victorian home! We have always been fascinated with these kinds of homes, and this one did not disappoint! Everything about the place was as described. The host was extremely accommodating and quick to respond to a couple of questions we had. The house was even roomier than we thought it would be. We especially enjoyed watching the river traffic from the dining rooms and the deck. We highly recommend this place and would stay here again!
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Jan 2026
Thanks so much for your awesome review! We’re so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback means a lot!
We’d love to have you back anytime—whether for a quick getaway or just to relax. We hope to see you again soon!
House was beautiful. Nice quiet area with a river view.
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Jan 2025
Thank your so much for your stay! We hope you enjpyed it and will be back!
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Terry K.
6 Oct 2026
Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication
My family came from around the country to celebrate my 70th birthday at Starved Rock. This house sounded perfect: there are many rooms and baths, two kitchens, a lovely view of the Illinois River. All true. However, our stay was more proof of our resilience than peaceful retreat. Alongside minor issues like no dish towels, there was no hot water. At first, we thought we were too impatient for the water to heat. But it never did. There were 10 of us who wanted to bathe and get outside on a glorious October day, the only full day we had together. I messaged, then politely waited an hour before making more urgent requests for help. It was almost noon before we heard: broken boiler; plumber en route. I will spare the additional tedious details. We had hot water @6 p.m., an hour or so after the repairmen left. Stuff happens, as the owner reminded me, more than once. I’m sure repairs for a boiler that was broken before we got there were expensive, as she also said. But she wasn’t hanging around waiting for repairmen. We were. In return for our inconvenience, she offered a late checkout. Seriously?We did take a little extra time in a now-peaceful kitchen — after a hot shower! — before continuing on to Chicago. Fortunately, there were no diva types in our party. We had fun anyway. But we paid full freight for a half-useful property. Bottom line: if everything works, this would be a fab and funky place to stay. If not, you’re on your own.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Oct 2026
Happy 70th birthday, and thank you for choosing our home for your family celebration. I'm sorry the water heater failed during your stay.
For future guests, I'd like to set the record straight. I was notified about the hot water at 11:59 a.m., and my maintenance technician was on site within the hour. The water heater was leaking and needed a full replacement. Even on a Saturday, I secured an emergency plumber, and the new heater was installed by 5 p.m.
The review says the guests had to wait for the repairmen, but that is not accurate. My technician stayed at the property the entire time, and when the guest asked, I specifically told her there was no need for anyone to wait. The group was free to enjoy their day.
The home is also fully stocked with dish towels and paper towels. I offered a late checkout, which the group used until 2 p.m.
Equipment can fail without warning, and when it does, we act fast. We truly do our best for every guest, but sometimes you simply can't please everyone. Thank you again for staying with us.
The house is huge! There was so much room for our family to spread out. There were several tables that we could all have dinner together, including out on the deck. The view of the river was nice and we saw hawks overhead.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 30 July 2025
Thank you for your stay! I am gladf you enjoyed it, and hope you will be back again!