Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just

Photo gallery for Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just

A wooden staircase surrounded by trees.
A wooden deck with a railing, surrounded by trees.
A wooden deck leading to a house surrounded by dense trees.
A hotel room with a bed, a map on the wall, a dresser, and a door leading to another room.
A living room with a fireplace, a television, a sofa, and a patterned rug.

Reviews

8.2 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Lake Michigan

Popular amenities

  • Balcony or patio
  • Barbecue
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine
  • Onsite parking available
  • Internet

Explore the area

View map
Grand Haven, MI
  • Place, Grand Haven Beach
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Grand Haven State Park
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Grand River Boardwalk
    ‪16 min walk‬
  • Airport, Muskegon, MI (MKG-Muskegon County)
    ‪17 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Bedroom #1

1 King Bed

Bedroom #2

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom #3

1 Single Bunk Bed

Bedroom #4

1 Single Bunk Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Grand Haven

Located in Grand Haven, this holiday home is in the city centre and on a river. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Lake Michigan and Grand Haven Beach. Hot Spot Charters and Jumpin' Jupiter Skate & Fun Center are also worth visiting. Discover the area's water adventures with jet skiing and power boating nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with hiking/biking trails and cycling.
Map
Grand Haven, MI

What's nearby

  • Grand Haven Beach - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Grand Haven State Park - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Mulligan's Hollow Ski Bowl - 14 min walk - 1.2 km
  • Grand River Boardwalk - 16 min walk - 1.4 km
  • Grand Haven Musical Fountain - 4 min drive - 3.2 km

Getting around

  • Muskegon, MI (MKG-Muskegon County) - 16 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Taco Bell - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Pronto Pup - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Burger King - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪The Kirby House - ‬3 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just?

As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just on 18 Oct 2027 start from AU$1,404, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Classic Lake Cottage nestled in Wooded Dunes just located?

Located in the heart of Grand Haven, this holiday home is within a 5-minute walk of Lake Michigan and Grand Haven Beach. Grand Haven State Park and Eagle are also within 15 minutes.

Reviews

8.2

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 9 out of 20 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 7 out of 20 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 20 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 20 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 20 reviews

6.8/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

8.0/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

8.0/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness
While proximity to the lake was optimal, this house is dirty and needs a lot of work. There were several cockroaches discovered during our visit and a black widow lurking in a corner of the screen porch. The fans that are provided appear to have never been cleaned. They are covered in dust, which could be easily cleaned. Considering all the fans, it would make sense to get a AC unit and/or dehumidifier. The shower leaks and needs an appropriate shower curtain (the current one could simply be cut to fit the proper length). With a bit more care, this could be a nice cottage.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great beach house

Perfect location and clean, would definitely book again
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Highland getaway

Nice vacation rental a few steps away from a beautiful view of Lake Michigan. House was kept up and a great patio to hang out at night
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your rental with Unsalted Vacations. We hope to see you return in the future.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location!

We enjoyed our stay. We would have appreciated some slight updates. Closets/cabinets were a bit cluttered.
Stayed 14 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 20 July 2023
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of Duneside Retreat, Chip! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback on the updates and cluttered closets/cabinets and will take it into consideration as we work towards improving our space for future guests. We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. Safe travels!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Quiet and Close to to Beach

Location was best part of this house. Very close to beach but no view :( Property had a lot of stairs to manage, limited parking. House was small and old. No AC, no dishwasher
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your review. We hope you were happy with the rental you chose and you enjoyed your stay with Unsalted Vacations. We hope to see you return in the future.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy

Lovely location, Needs some work

Plumbing needs serious work. Screens were dirty. Single beds were uncomfortable. On the up side, great location, space to spread out, nice screened-in porch. House had needed amenities. Management was responsive with plumbing issues but slow to respond about a refund.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Aug 2023
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Duneside Retreat, Terri! We apologize for the plumbing issues and any inconvenience caused. We appreciate your understanding that resolving and assessing refunds takes time, as it involves discussions with the property owner and calculating a fair amount. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the great location, spaciousness, and the amenities provided at the house. We apologize for any cleanliness issues with the screens and the discomfort experienced with the single beds. Thank you for staying with us!
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy

Would Not Recommend

We were very excited to stay here, mostly due to the overall cabin-like feel we got from the pictures and description and the proximity to the beach. There are the equivalent of 3 flights of stairs leading up that were not mentioned in the listing. The pictures made it look like a single flight which is doable, but 3 flights up carrying luggage and then having that be the only access was a deal breaker for someone with a heart condition and bad knees. The stairs were not lit when we arrived around 1030pm. Once we got into the place, the musty/moldy smell was intense and awful. No air conditioning in this place that is listed for a summer retreat. To be fair, the listing did not claim there was AC, but we felt like a note that there was no AC would have been appropriate. There were fans in every bedroom, but with the exception of 1 the rest were FILTHY, caked with dust, dirt, and what looked like mold. The window screens throughout the house were also extremely filthy and did not allow much airflow. The floors in the house are incredibly uneven, even on the stairs. The only shower in the place was a tiny clawfoot that the shower curtain did not close completely around and leaked onto the floor. In the dining room, there was a book with a title Vrbo wouldn't even let me publish that our 8 year old found. Tasteless. We booked for 3 nights and ended up leaving after the first night. Our sons said they did not feel comfortable in the house at night and we felt the same way.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Sept 2023
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback following your recent stay, Dan. We were disappointed to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience caused. We take cleanliness and guest comfort very seriously and were sorry to hear about the issues you experienced. We would like to assure you that we are taking immediate steps to address these concerns and ensure they do not happen again in the future. Regarding the stairs, we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We have updated the listing description to make it clear that there are multiple flights of stairs leading up to the property. We also apologize for the musty/moldy smell that occurred due to recent maintenance issues. These have since been resolved. Although AC was already not advertised in our listing, we have added a more explicit mention of the lack of AC in our listing in the future to prevent any confusion. We are also sorry to hear about the condition of the fans and windows screens. We will ensure that our housekeeping team is reminded to check these items thoroughly before and after each guest stay, and we will evaluate having these replaced. We are equally sorry that you found the book in the dining area to be tasteless. We will make sure to remove it immediately from the rental. Once again, we apologize for the issues you experienced and any discomfort caused to you during your stay. We appreciate your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to provide a more enjoyable stay.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cute old cottage

This property was exactly what we were looking for, it has an old cottage feel and is close to the Lake. We enjoyed Grand Haven and the boardwalk through the dunes looking at all the old houses, the lake, and the screened in porch Only a few negatives. 1. I emailed the property manager the day before to ask if the grill was gas or charcoal (since the listing only says grill), and whether the coffee maker was a drip coffee maker or a Keurig. I was told there was not a grill in the listing (there is) and that the property has a Keurig. I replied that a grill was listed, and received a reply the next day from someone else telling me the grill was gas. Well they were both wrong, there is a charcoal grill and surprise! There was not a Keurig but a drip coffee maker. 2. I was contacted Friday afternoon and told that the shower diverter was not working and the toilet was running so they would be sending a plumber but they might not be there by 4. That was fine as we actually weren’t going to arrive until around 6. I got a call when we were out to dinner at 7:30 to say that the plumber wouldn’t be able to get there for another hour! We settled on having the plumber come first thing on Saturday. He was very nice and was able to get the shower to work but couldn’t fix the toilet because the shut off was under the house and there was no access to it. He said he would contact the property manager and arrange to come back after we checked out. All and all we had a good time. It was a cute house and the right location, but the property management company was not very knowledgeable about the property. They were, at least, responsive. Oh, and the power went out at 7 am on the day we checked out (hopefully just because it is was windy and not because they didn’t pay a bill).
Stayed 3 nights in May 2022
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication

Poor experience with Unsalted Properties

We secured a home for 4 nights in Grand Haven. For the total cost I paid to host my husband and adult children, I was disappointed with the experience. The home was not clean - cobwebs, beer can behind a bed, spoiled baby's bottle under another bed, stained area rugs and messy cabinets greeted us. It was not well-equipped - only one single roll of toilet paper on the holder in the bathroom and 6 towels for 5 days for multiple people - not stocked for a family. When I asked for a return of the cleaning fee, I was kept waiting for over a week and then denied. I have stayed in multiple VRBO's and have loved it. I would not recommend this one.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Sept 2021
Thank you for your feedback. We did address the cleaning issues with our contracted cleaners. We also make it known in your guest portal and on the listing that you will be provided with a start up of supplies, such as toilet paper to start your stay. We also provide a full set of towels per the maximum occupancy of the house, which is why your house was given 6 towels sets. Because you threatened to give us a bad review if we did not give you a refund, we had to contact our Vrbo rep since they have strict regulations on review extortion. This was communicated to you right away and explained that we were not able to give a refund in exchange of a positive review.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect, cozy cottage and location

Check in and communication was very easy and the cottage was very quaint and decorated very nicely. Everything we wanted was within a short walk and the surrounding wooded area was awesome to walk through.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Sept 2021
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice!

House is older and has “character” with some uneven floors and modest appointments. But it was clean and comfortable and a very short walk to the beach. Nice deck.
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2020
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, location

Travel Rules or Customer Service

This company for this property had "NO" customer care information about staying house to make our stay more pleasent or any information about the area. There were no lights going up the outside stairs at night unless the ajoining house was occupied. Lack of safety present. My husband would have use the grill if we known there was one or if someone would have told us? Again no helpful customer instructions for the customer experience placed in the home. The house was very cold when we entered it, with temps below 68 degrees and the fire place is the only thing that warms the lower level. Most base board heat is blocked behind furniture. Very odd placement. The fire place didn't work initially, called the help number and finally someone responded. Again no helpful customer instructions for the customer experience placed inn the home. My husband wanted to watch football but we couldn't get the TV to work and finally just gave up. Again no helpful customer instructions for the customer experience placed inn the home. Our stay was ok but we wont make reservations with "Unsalted Vacations" again.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Oct 2020
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you feel that customer instructions were lacking; however, we do send each guest their welcome instructions which include instructions that are specific to the property. Instructions for the smart TV were included in the welcome instructions along with some troubleshooting tips for this specific TV. We also checked our listing to make sure that it listed a grill as an amenity, which we confirmed it did. We want our listings to be completely accurate. Thank you for the feedback on the property and we will take it into consideration for future stays.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cozy, rustic fall retreat

Cottage was a cute place to unplug from city life. Great place to play board games and canoodle. The place is RUSTIC, be sure to expect creaky floorboards, drafty, single-pane windows and an old shower. But for what we were looking for, it was great. Cozy fireplace and a fully stocked kitchen for cooking.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Oct 2020
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Duneside Retreat. You have captured the essence of this property exactly, and are glad you were satisfied with your stay! We hope to host you again in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Family Vacation

Our stay was short and sweet! Great access to the beach from our cottage and within driving distance of family in Muskegon. Loved the front porch and the comfy beds too!! Didn't mind the stairs too much, but we weren't able to entertain family because of them.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2020
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication

Old school cottage

This was a great location. It feels like you are up in a tree house. We really enjoyed the screen room. It had a nice breeze. There is no AC. It was not an issue for us but I could see how it would be hot upstairs later in the summer months. The house needs a good cleaning and some updating. The living room is a bit cluttered and the tv is in a weird place. It should be above the fireplace so you can see it from the couch. I brought a couple if sheets to put on the couch and the chaise lounger to make them more comfortable. They were pretty worn. I sent a text to management regarding a couple of items we left behind and no one responded. This is disappointing. We also had someone come to the door to turn off for non payment??? The guy was really nice and didn’t do it when we said we were renting. He said he would go make some phone calls. I called management and she said let me contact our maintenance guy???? I said I don’t think the maintenance guy pays the utility bill does he ? She says no probably not......Anyway this could be a really cool place with a little work 😊
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 3 July 2020
Hi Donna, Your description of Duneside as a treehouse is spot on! It is nestled up in the trees and gives it some great charm. Thank you for your feedback on some details of the property. If you could reach out to us either by phone or email about the items that were left behind, we can check with our cleaning staff to see if they were located. Thank you for your patience with the case of the utility company. We did alert our maintenance department right away, in the case of ruling out that it wasn't a maintenance issue. We did find out it was a billing issue and were able to take care of it in a timely manner. Thank you for being flexible in that situation! We look forward to hopefully hosting you again in the future!
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Great Girl's weekend

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: WE had a great time. The couple things that we needed help with the care takers were ready and willing to come over and help. I would highly recommend this retreat. The only thing that is not mentioned in the description is that there are a lot of steps up to the property so be prepared.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar 2020
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your vacation rental with Unsalted Vacations. We hope to see you return in the future.
From a partner site

8/10 Good

Cute, but needs a little work!

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: It’s a cute cottage, however we experience some issues that were bothersome. For example there was a serious infestation of ants in the kitchen, however we informed Unsalted right away and they helped us with laying out ant traps. Second, the bathroom floor feels extremely unstable, in spots it feels as if the wood beneath the linoleum floor will give way any moment. Lastly, as an FYI, information on the cottage stating their is a dishwasher is inaccurate. On a positive note, the cottage is cute. We enjoyed the cottage screened in porch, the washer and dryer was quite helpful. The cottage was comfortable, if they can fix the issues stated above, I’d rent it again.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2018
From a partner site

10/10 Excellent

Wonderful Family Vacation

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: This was a wonderful place to stay in Grand Haven. Close to the beach and a neat place on a dune. Very close to downtown Grand Haven and the cottage had everything we could have ever wanted. Very nice and we would stay here again! Kid friendly and fun!
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar 2020
Hi David - thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Duneside Retreat. It is a great place in a great location and so glad you got to enjoy it, please come see us again.
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Duneside

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: Great.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar 2020
Thank you Patrick, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Duneside Retreat!
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Amazing getaway!

Rating Details: The property manager was very helpful. The vacation rental was spotless. I was very happy with the location. I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental. Overall, I recommend this vacation rental. Reviewer Comments: This property surpassed all expectations for my family.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Mar 2020
We are so happy you and your family enjoyed Duneside Retreat That's what makes our job so rewarding. We really do hope that your family makes this an annual vacation, we would love to have you back! Enjoy the rest of your summer! Warm Regards, The Unsalted Vacations Team
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback