Lakefront cottage, quiet neighborhood, boat hoist and dock.

Photo gallery for Lakefront cottage, quiet neighborhood, boat hoist and dock.

A riverside view with a dock leading to a house with a blue roof and white walls, surrounded by trees and a grassy area.
A kitchen with a black and white checkered floor, white cabinets, a stove, and a window with a view of the outside.
A two-story house with a dark roof and white walls, a front porch, and a small front yard.
A lakeside setting with a boat docked, a covered area, and two chairs under a tree.
A living room with a fireplace, a sofa, a dining area, and a kitchen visible through an open door.

Reviews

7.0 out of 10
Good

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • On the beach
    A rare beachfront property in the area - enjoy direct access to the beach and sea.
  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Canandaigua Lake

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Toys
  • Barbecue
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Canandaigua, NY
  • Place, Canandaigua Lake
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, CMAC Performing Arts Center
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Place, Bristol Mountain Ski Resort
    ‪25 min drive‬
  • Airport, Rochester, NY (ROC-Greater Rochester Intl.)
    ‪59 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

5 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Bedroom 1

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 3

1 Double Bed

Bedroom 4

1 Single Bed

Living Room 1

1 Double Sofa Bed

Screened porch

1 Single Futon

1 bathroom, 1 half bathroom

Bathroom 1

Soap · Towels provided · Bathtub or shower · Toilet · Shampoo

Bathroom 2 located by barn entrance

Toilet

Spaces

Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Separate dining area
Number of living rooms
Outdoor play area
Garden

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Canandaigua

Located in Canandaigua, this cottage is near a water park and on the beach. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Canandaigua Lake and Canandaigua Lake State Marine Park, while CMAC Performing Arts Center and Ontario County Historical Society are cultural highlights. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's going on at Land of Legends Raceway, or consider a night out at Lincoln Hill Farms. Kayaking and power boating offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hiking/biking trails and cycling nearby.
Map
Canandaigua, NY

What's nearby

  • Canandaigua Lake - 1 min walk - 0.1 km
  • CMAC Performing Arts Center - 4 min drive - 3.3 km
  • Sonnenberg Gardens and Mansion State Historic Park - 9 min drive - 9.0 km
  • Bristol Mountain Ski Resort - 25 min drive - 32.9 km
  • Seneca Lake - 34 min drive - 35.5 km

Getting around

  • Rochester, NY (ROC-Greater Rochester Intl.) - 45 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Starbucks - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Dunkin' - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Wendy's - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Taco Bell - ‬3 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Lakefront cottage, quiet neighborhood, boat hoist and dock. pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much is parking at Lakefront cottage, quiet neighborhood, boat hoist and dock.?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Lakefront cottage, quiet neighborhood, boat hoist and dock.?

Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Lakefront cottage, quiet neighborhood, boat hoist and dock.?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Lakefront cottage, quiet neighborhood, boat hoist and dock. located?

Nestled on the beach, this Canandaigua cottage is within 2 mi (3 km) of Canandaigua Lake, Finger Lakes Community College and CMAC Performing Arts Center. Deep Run Beach and Kershaw Park are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

7.0

Good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 3 out of 14 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 6 out of 14 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 2 out of 14 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 14 reviews

6.8/10

Cleanliness

9.0/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

10/10

Location

7.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, location, listing accuracy

Traveling in the past.

If you are looking to step in to 1940-50 this is your place, this place has no AC but all the windows open and you get a cold breeze from the lake, there is also fans in every room. If you trying to get away from the internet and TV and enjoy the lake and nature. If you have little kids you will need baby gate to block the stairs.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Old School Lake House Vibe

We had a great time at this property. Harry and Carolyn responded anytime I had a question. The house was everything we needed with and old school lake house feel. We spent most of our time outside in the water or fishing. My daughter even caught a catfish! Close to Wegmans grocery store and Sierra Trading which was great to purchase extra swimsuits and floats for the kids.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful setting on the water

Description is very accurate - the house is not fancy, but had everything we needed. The biggest issue for our group was that the only bathroom in the house is on the second story, which was a bit tough on my in laws and young children. The setting right on the water was beautiful and makes up for what the house lacks. We did not use the lift, but we were able to tie our boat to the dock. It was a short drive to the boat launch and all other conveniences in town. Owner was very responsive to a couple of issues when we first arrived. Overall a good experience!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 2 July 2022
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the grill---next year we'll have it outside where it belongs. We love the place and are glad you had an enjoyable stay. Come again.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

Vacay

Beautiful view of lake. I can deal with dated but the place seemed to be very messy, not clean. It looked like they hadn’t dusted in a month or more. When you enter the cottage there were dead leaves in the entryway plus an old Exercycle. It would have taken someone less than an hour to clean that out.I had to stand on a chair to change a lightbulb in the bathroom. Pros: Beds were comfortable Washer and dryer available Even though not air conditioned the fans did work well Well stocked kitchen
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Lakeside R&R old school style

The classic home, circa 1940s-50s, on east (BEST!) side of Canandaigua Lake, with breathtaking views and breezes, easy shallow shoreline, spacious and tons of easy parking, great open, well light airy kitchen, 5 bedrooms upstairs, (2 facing the lake!), fun front porch, toasty propane heater, the extra outdoor building with toilet, and the generosity of the hostess (Janet); these are some of the highlights
Stayed 5 nights in Sep 2021
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Vacation

Dish washer did not work. Spiders on the dock. Needs professional help. WiFi very weak. Put in wrong place. Not enough fans to cool up stairs. Bought 4 at Walmart and left at cottage. Stove had only one knob. Great large living area. Great front porch overlooking area. Great dock. Nice size bedroom. Convenient location.
Response from VrboOwner on 20 July 2021
7:20/21 Thanks for the feedback. It’s needed if we are to correct things. Wi-Fi is in the barn because that’s where the power is—will check it out to make sure it’s consistent. We have NO idea who took the knobs off the stove!! Strange!! Spiders were on dock before we were—homesteaders. They eat bugs. Dishwasher will be fixed for we need it too. I’m now Recovering from surgery done last Wednesday and this a great place to re-Hab. Best wishes. Enjoy summer. Harry & Kari
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

Needs update

More than rustic, it’s dated. The cottage is in a beautiful location but lacked many features for price paid. Dock for boat was ok but hoist inoperable, lights without bulbs, all baseboards hadn’t been wiped down in years, screens in disrepair and no WiFi or ac. Granted it’s a advertised as a rustic place but with limited fans, no air conditioning coupled with dust and bugs at night due to screens, left us leaving to sleep elsewhere and only use the cottage during the day. The owner was responsive but gave no significant consideration for our inconvenience. If you want a relaxing place and have issues with heat or dust this isn’t the place. I hope they are able to update this historic home.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2020
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice Cottage on the lake

Stay was as advertised. Cottage was nothing fancy, but beautiful lake views right on the water. I would say the place only has one bathroom because the other in the barn left a lot to be desired. That being said we had a great time and would stay here again. Thanks.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy

Extremely Disappointing Rental

We were extremely disappointed with this rental. As soon as we pulled up, we were greeted by 2-3 foot weeds all around the back entrance. The cottage was advertised as being cleaned with disinfectant and enhanced cleaning practices, however the place smelled so dusty and musty that we did not even sleep there. We paid for a hotel in Geneva instead and just stayed outside at the cottage during the day. Rather than cooking there, we ate all meals out so our vacation cost more than double. The cottage also advertises bedrooms but the walls do not go all the way to the ceiling so there is zero privacy. The upstairs felt more like an attic with partitions and was blistering hot. The mattresses were extremely old and lumpy. There was a bees nest in the ground and 2 hornets nests by the back porch and we were stung several times. The “fire pit” was just a few rocks right next to the outdoor electrical outlets. We also saw a chipmunk enter the house under the screen door. To charge what they charged per night for this cottage, which is not properly maintained and advertised falsely is unbelievably wrong.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Kari’s Cottage Review

The property was incredible. It had everything we needed and everything was very easy to access and navigate. We all had a great time and really enjoyed our stay
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Summer family weekend.

Great property. We had so much fun. Lots of beds, windows and room. Outside area overlooking the lake was beautiful. Dock was nice with ladder at the end for swimming. I would definitely stay here again. Location to stores was perfect.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Relaxing getaway

Description of the property was accurate. Location on the water was wonderful. Our family really enjoyed our time there
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2019
Archival

6/10 Okay

Great view and relaxing experience

Very simple lake living as the owner states....could use a few updates but the owners were great to work with, flexible and made the process easy. They were very responsive with any needs. Quant and historic lake house with a great position on the lake, being close to town. Our family had a great time. Thank you to the Miller's for allowing us flexibility to stay on the days we selected.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Mar 2020
Thank you Todd! It was a pleasure to have you in our home. Come again! The Millers
Archival

8/10 Good

Nice cottage feel to it

The owners were a pleasure to deal with. The cottage was very much a cottage. It was a nice get away for the weekend. And a great location!
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2016
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback