2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
DeCarlas O'Neal Licensed Real Estate Broker
Why DeCarlas O'Neal Licensed Real Estate Broker chose Uptown and Carrolton District
This property is conveniently located in historical neighborhood walking distance from Magazine Street, St.Charles St., on parade route, tourists area, with lots of things to do nearby.
What makes this House unique
Safe, cozy, and great neighbors!
Check-in: 11:00 am
Check-out: 11:30 am
No house parties allowed.
100% refund if cancelled at least 14 days before arrival date. 50% refund if cancelled at least 7 days before arrival date.
Beautiful Cozy Apartment Uptown
We loved this beautiful space. So close to everything! Groceries, parades, bars, Domelise’s, St Charles and the lovely streetcars. The house was fully equipped, cozy and gorgeous. The neighbors are so friendly! And Brady’s Wine Warehouse delivers!
Great neighborhood...The house needs attention...
We moved in for a long term 7 week stay in January 2019.
We shared a number of concerns with owner
One set of sheets was provided. The elastic on the sheets is so stretched out that they do not stay on the bed and you end up sleeping on a very old mattress pad Prior to buying a set of sheets, for a couple of days I used safety pins to keep them in place on the mattress. The sheets need to be upgraded.
The bed is comfortable.
No bath towels in house. There is an abundance of 2 X 4 foot “hair towels”. Owner was convinced bath towels exist. They don’t. We bought our own.
The kitchen is basic – glasses, dishes and mugs, pots/pans, 4 cooking utensils, colander, 1 mixing bowl, blender, coffee pot, toaster. I asked for containers for storing food in fridge, knife sharpener, 4 wine glasses. No accommodation of request
The place needs a good spring cleaning. The bathroom vanity storage area was a mess and it smelled. I pulled everything out - the shelf liner was literally stuck to the bottom of the vanity base. I soaked the existing rubber shelf liner and the water turned black. Base boards were dusty – range hood was greasy. As a result of our long term stay the place was cleaner when we left than when we arrived. The place overall needs a thorough cleaning.
Despite 7 week stay – no vacuum. Upon request 1 was delivered, that was clogged and did not work, even after removing clogs. We used broom to clean.
No info on when to put trash or recycling curbside. Owner did not know when asked. We asked the neighbors. BTY: Trash out on T and F. Recycling out on Th.
You can hear music and voices through the walls from the folks who live next door. The neighbors were gone a lot, which ended up being great for our stay – they do have a dog that barks and cries from time to tome. We did not share this with anyone. No doubt the neighbors could hear us as well…
The house is in an amazing location, great for parade viewing on Magazine Street and with walk ability to a great gym, movie theater, St. Charles Street streetcar, and grocery store, restaurants – really everything you could need.
With a little attention and perhaps a small financial investment, it could certainly be improved. We loved our stay in NOLA...we booked a different house for next year.
Thank you for your reply. There were bath towels in the house. There were additional new sheets that were offered to you when you complained about the elastic, and you told me that was okay; not to bring them. When the bath towels were purchased, they were labeled bath towels hotel grade. I assessed the property before your visit, and it was clean and smelled good. The house was not cleaner than you received it at all. You left the property with cat hair all over each room . I had to totally replace the master blanket and bedspread due to the cat hair being hard to remove. The vacuum you were given was not for me, but for the person that cleans the house. The property listing does not state it comes with a vacuum or storage containers for food; there is a broom and mop if needed. The listing states all of the kitchen items that the property comes with. You were aware when you rented it that it did not come with storage containers. It appears as if you forgot to mention some of the kitchen items that are listed in the description. There is more than one type of coffee pot in the property that will also accommodate K-cups. There was not a smell under the vanity cabinet. Actually informed me that you removed the plug ins due to the fragrant scent in the house. The property is as pictured in the ad; the depiction you shared may be related to other concerns unrelated to the property. May God bless you.
I'm Just Saying...
Pros: The house is tastefully decorated, the furniture is modern and comfortable, the location is excellent, the owner responded to concerns immediately (even on a holiday).
Cons: The grass was overgrown when we arrived, no bulbs in the light when we entered the house (at night), huge bugs seen in the room with the bunk beds, shower didn't work properly.
Please note: The owner replied right away. The grass was cut the next day, the bulbs were replaced, the shower was fixed and I was told that someone sprayed for bugs. I was told the owner wasn't aware of a bug problem however, I saw an old roach trap in the kitchen and a box of roach pellets in a kitchen cabinet. We also saw another large bug in the living room before we left. If the owner checks the house before the next family arrives,and consistently sprays for bugs, it will be a great rental.
The epitome of New Orleans.
The house itself was absolutely gorgeous. It felt like a home and was very comfortable. The neighborhood is quiet and conveniently near EVERYTHING. I would most definitely come back and stay here again.
Very convenient and quiet
Very accessible to everywhere, chain grocery stores less than 1000ft. Quiet and safe neighborhood. Older but nicely furnished old home, any issues that arose Decarlos responded quickly. I have stayed in many other places in NOLA this was very pleasant.
It was exactly like the pictures.
Property was nice worth it..
Dislikes. Water pressure low and shower could use a new showerhead. Bed was hard and noisy.
Thanks for the response. There is not anything wrong with the shower head at the property. The mattress is new. I’m not sure why it made a lot of noise while you were in the bed. I have never received responses which were negative. After you and your guests left, the front room had a strong and strange smoke order, and smoking is not allowed in the house of any kind. We had to take extreme measures to remove the smell for the next guest from the curtains. However, I chose not to reflect that under your review which was sent to me. Thank you for your stay. God bless.
Whole Foods .6 miles, AT&T .2 miles, Audubon Zoo/Park/Golf 1.6 miles, Fed Ex Office Print/Ship .2 miles, Starbucks 2.5 miles, P.J.s Coffee .5 miles, CC Community Coffee House .4 miles, Walgreens .5 miles, Children's Hospital 1 mile, CVS .7 miles, Riverwalk Outlet Mall 5.5 miles, Mercedez Super Dome 3.9 miles, Chase .6 miles, Winn Dixie .3 miles, Tipitina's Live Music and Bar .7 miles, Sprint Store .3 miles, Chase ATM .2 miles, Walmart 3.1 miles, Prytania Theater .6 miles, Vitamin Shoppe .4 miles, Wisner Playground .3 miles, Hansen's Sno Biz .4 miles, Commander's Palace Restaurant 2.7 miles, Creole Creamery .7 miles, New Orleans Seafood and Spirits 1.4 miles, Domolise's Poboy & Bar 40 steps, Tee-Eva's Old Fashion Pies and Pralines .3 miles, Mardi Gras World 3.8 miles, Guy's Poboys .3 miles, Rouses Supermarket .6 miles, Oshner Hospital 2.4 miles, New Orleans Tennis Club .2 miles, Whitney Bank .2 miles, Octavia Books .4 miles, many boutiques, restaurants, bars, and stores.