Entire home

The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard

Photo gallery for The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard

A living room with a brown leather sofa, a coffee table, patterned curtains, and a ceiling fan.
A bedroom with a large bed, two windows with curtains, a ceiling fan, and a nightstand with a lamp.
A modern kitchen with white cabinets, a microwave, a coffee machine, and a yellow cart.
Outdoor dining
A dining area with a white table, metal chairs, a chalkboard with a buffalo drawing, and a view of the outdoors through large windows.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Made for relaxation
    Top-rated for comfort — guests feel right at home here.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Main Street

Popular amenities

  • Patio
  • Barbecue
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Fredericksburg, TX
  • Place, Main Street
    ‪13 min walk‬
  • Place, Rockbox Theater
    ‪15 min walk‬
  • Place, National Museum of the Pacific War
    ‪17 min walk‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Master Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Second Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Third Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms

Full Bathroom

Toilet · Shower only

Second Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Fredericksburg

Fredericksburg is home to this holiday home. Fredericksburg Brewing Company and Elk Store Winery & Distillery are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those in the mood for shopping can visit Main Street and Das Peach Haus. Spend some time exploring the area's activities, including winery tours.
Map
Fredericksburg, TX

What's nearby

  • Marktplatz von Fredericksburg - 12 min walk - 1.0 km
  • Main Street - 13 min walk - 1.2 km
  • Rockbox Theater - 15 min walk - 1.3 km
  • Fredericksburg Winery - 17 min walk - 1.5 km
  • National Museum of the Pacific War - 17 min walk - 1.5 km

Getting around

  • San Antonio International Airport (SAT) - 75 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Los Tios - ‬17 min walk
  • ‪The Auslander - ‬16 min walk
  • ‪Mamacita's Mexican Restaurant - ‬17 min walk
  • ‪Fredericksburg Brewing Company - ‬18 min walk
  • ‪Texas Sunrise - ‬17 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard?

As of 30 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard on 1 Nov 2026 start from AU$1,060, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is The Painted Buffalo | Firepit | Great Backyard located?

Situated in Fredericksburg, this holiday home is within a 15-minute walk of Rockbox Theater, Japanese Garden of Peace and WWII Veterans Memorial Courtyard. Admiral Nimitz Gallery and National Museum of the Pacific War are also within 15 minutes.

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 8 out of 12 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 12 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 12 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 12 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 12 reviews

8.0/10

Cleanliness

9.0/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.0/10

Location

8.8/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house was just right for a 3 sister weekend getaway. Nice quiet area.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Outdoor grill that uses charcoal or wood and cooked to perfection. Very nice outdoor area. Large main bath. Rooms as advertised. Close to town. Quiet.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
House was beautiful and in the perfect location! We really enjoyed coming back after a day of shopping to this cozy and comfy home
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Enjoyable getaway

Well stocked, nicely decorated, perfect for 3 adults with plenty of spe
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2025
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Absolutely DO NOT STAY at this location. The listing is inaccurate. AC was not working. There was a handwritten note stating the AC unit could not achieve a temperature less than 20 deg lower than the outside temperature. With Texas being over 105 the past week, the house close to 90 deg on the interior. If your AC will not work, this needs to be disclosed in the listing at time or rental, not a surprise upon arrival.The arrival was late in the evening and phone calls wen unreturned until morning. Had to find a hotel room as the house was unlivable. The service company will not refund the hotel stay and claims we chose the closest and most expensive hotel to stay the night.This rental and follow-up support ruined wat could have been a great experience and trip.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Oct 2026
We’re sorry the AC issue negatively impacted your stay. However, we do want to clarify a few important points. There was no known issue with the AC prior to your arrival, and unfortunately, mechanical systems can fail unexpectedly at any time. You contacted us around midnight, and while we certainly understand your frustration, HVAC companies are not available to make repairs in the middle of the night. We had a technician out first thing the following morning and the AC was repaired. As a courtesy, we also refunded your entire first night. While we understand that you chose to stay at a hotel, we are not able to additionally reimburse the cost of your hotel stay and breakfast at one of the most expensive hotels in town. That was a personal choice regarding where to stay after the AC issue occurred. We regret that this unexpected mechanical failure affected your trip, but we responded as quickly as reasonably possible and provided a full refund for the night affected.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place in Fredericksburg

Super cute!! Close to Main Street so easy access to dining and shopping. Beds are firm but comfortable. Great kitchen!! Seating in LR not great but doable. Master bath a bit small but clean. Secondary bath had a slow drain but notified management and they were very responsive. Management company is great to deal with. Very helpful and communicative. Would choose this place or any other by this company again!
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A Weekend Birthday Getaway

We came in 15 minutes early and couldn't get into the property. The door lock is fancy and was set to let us in beginning at 4:00pm. The property manager let us in remotely. How cool! The property is older, but in my opinion, was nicer than the photos. There were plenty of comfort items that made our stay very easy. Blankets in the living room, games, extra pillows, plates, cups, utensils, a place to put my jewelry, coffee grounds with sweetener and creamer. We spent most of our time out on the town, but coming home was cozy and restful. Staying in Buffalo house was cozy. Only the super picky could complain. Come enjoy your stay! We did.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 July 2025
Chris, Thank you for the wonderful review, You are welcome anytime!
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Couple of problems

The toilets weren’t cleaned well when we arrived. There was hair in the bathtub before we even showered. The coffee maker didn’t have a brew basket. We didn’t realize it and made a pot. When we tried to pull carafe, coffee and coffee grounds went everywhere. Luckily i got out the way and didn’t get burned. But got to spend 15 minutes cleaning it up. Then had to go buy a coffee maker because we never could locate the basket
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2024
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback