Located in Knoxville, this apartment is in the city centre. Historic Southern Railway Station and Bijou Theater are local landmarks, and some of the area's attractions include The Emporium Center and Women's Basketball Hall of Fame. Looking to enjoy an event or a game? See what's going on at Neyland Stadium or Thompson–Boling Arena. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hiking and cycling nearby.
Historic Southern Railway Station - 6 min walk - 0.5 km
Market Square - 6 min walk - 0.6 km
Tennessee Theatre - 11 min walk - 0.9 km
Knoxville Civic Auditorium and Coliseum - 12 min walk - 1.1 km
Knoxville Convention Center - 15 min walk - 1.3 km
Getting around
Alcoa - Knoxville Airport (TYS) - 21 min drive
Restaurants
Barley's Taproom & Pizzeria - 1 min walk
Xul Beer Company - 5th Ave Taproom - 8 min walk
Stir - 3 min walk
Marble City Market - 7 min walk
Potchke - 7 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is Heart of the Old City- Minutes from Market Square pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Heart of the Old City- Minutes from Market Square?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Heart of the Old City- Minutes from Market Square on 1 Nov 2026 start from AU$402, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Heart of the Old City- Minutes from Market Square?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Heart of the Old City- Minutes from Market Square?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Heart of the Old City- Minutes from Market Square?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Heart of the Old City- Minutes from Market Square located?
Located in Old City, this apartment building is within a 10-minute walk of The Emporium Center and Market Square. University of Tennessee and Knoxville Convention Center are also within 1 mile (2 km).
Reviews
8.0
Very good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Our property was in the heart of Old City right next to great restaurants like Kefi, Lonesome Dove, and Fiori. It's also walking distance to the great shops, bars, and restaurants on Gay St. The place has a cool vibe with a great big open living room with high ceilings and tall windows. It's great for families visiting the University of Tennessee!
Loved location and loft style unit. Only issue we head was finding 2nd bedroom was just a mattress on the floor. Oh and the train horn at 11:00pm and 6:00 am horn blasting.
Very dirty with hairs on the floor and food crumbs in the couch. Stains all over the furniture. No remote for the TV, and despite multiple requests, owner refused to provide one during our week long stay so we had no TV the entire time! The kitchen sink was so clogged that we had to wash dishes in the bathroom. A/C was locked on FREEZING and there was no way to adjust temperature in order to be comfortable. Bed was beyond awful- mattress is so old that we both rolled into the middle and every movement made the bed creak so bad that it was difficult to get a full night of sleep. It could be a beautiful apartment as the space is gorgeous with its soaring ceilings and brick walls, but it has just been neglected for awhile and is clearly not well maintained.
We enjoyed the location and uniqueness of this property. The bedrooms left a little to be desired. One mattress was on the floor and the other mattress was not too comfy. The kitchen could have used a few more cups and glasses. There was literally one of each, a coffee cup, one wine glass, one water glass and a beer glass.
We stayed here while our son moved into his dorm room at the University of Tennessee. The spot was perfect and close to shops and restaurants. The parking was directly at the unit, which made frequent trips much easier. We will stay here again.
The property was very spacious and easily accommodated a group of 6 people. The walkability factor was a 5. The area itself is being gentrified. Easy access to the Old City
Overall a great weekend! We had 10 people and were able to sleep comfortably. We walked to football game and found plenty places to eat right around the area. In the middle of the old city we were surprised that the noise was not bad even on a Saturday night after a football win.We did only have one air mattress and no sheets for air mattress or pull out bed. Our host did get sheets to us that night and we appreciated it. Would have liked to have more towels available. There were six and with 10 people that wasn't optimal. Also would be nice if upstairs bedroom fan could work without the lights on.Overall would recommend this condo and would stay here again.
We arrive to no parking pass, broken kitchen tile dirty couch that had sweat stains on the pillows, the ceiling is filthy! The thermostat upstairs cannot be adjusted due to it wasn’t connected to the Wi-Fi for some reason! Broken living room chandelier light! There was a dirty tee shirt underneath the bed! Hid that from the wife!! Upon entry a broken tile was laying on the floor! If I was the owner I would be PISSED!!!
We didn’t stay but they kept our money even after they said they would fully refund us. We drive 9 hours to get to this apartment and it wasn’t what we were expecting at all. Safety isn’t a concern of theirs bc we called right away to tell them about the smell of sewage in their property and marijuana coming through the walls due to the loud party coming from next door. The noise was so loud we recorded it and also let whoever called us back hear it. After all that he said we would be fully refunded bc we shouldn’t have to deal with that and the sewage smell was concerning especially bc it was making me sick. He said we would be refunded the next day. Well not they are saying we will get no refund bc they couldn’t rectify the issues. How were they going to do this when they are I. gatlinburg TN and it was late at night when we arrived. They also talk about a noise ordinance but this party was going on way after. Don’t stay here!!!
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Mar 2023
Hello Angel,
Firstly, we would like to apologize that the outside noise and smell inconvenienced you during your stay with us. We do what we can to provide a comfortable and clean place for our guests, but there is little we can do about outside circumstances. We told you during our phone call that we would escalate your refund request and discuss it, with our team, but we never promised you anything. We never told you that you would be receiving a refund.
We're sorry if you misunderstood what we said, and if that led to any confusion.
Thank you.
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Melissa M.
18 Aug 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Listing accuracy
Not as listed
Be aware of the sleeping situation. It advertises space for 10. However, there are 2 bedrooms each with a full size bed (not comfy at all- cheap yard sale quality). There were NO twin beds. I assume the “2 twin beds” they refer to are the couch which my 2 children (16yo boy and 21yo girl were forced to share - and it is a couch that is in pieces so as my son slept the part his head and torso was on separated from bottom half leaving him pushing it back together all night!). Then there is a couch in a random loft area right outside bathroom door that maybe opened up. We didn’t check that bc no one wants to be awakened by nighttime bathroom visits of others.
Sadly this is a really cool property- it just needs A LOT of little comfort touches and updates. For instance no Kleenex, extra blankets, any of the little things Super hosts think of to make you truly feel at home)
Definitely has potential if someone puts some thought in and is more accurate in their representation of the sleeping arrangements
If you are visiting with intention of spending time in restaurants/shopping around Market square it’s awesome location! Parking is sketchy and only one parking permit (a sheet of printer paper with a $50 fee if lost) is provided so if you have more than one vehicle be prepared to try for free parking under interstate bridge (very unsafe feel)
Functional but not fun!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Adolfo L.
26 July 2026
Liked: Communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in
The location of this rental is its biggest advantage. It’s close to restaurants, bars, and nightlife, making it very convenient if you want to be in the middle of everything.Unfortunately, the cleanliness of the property did not meet my expectations. The couch and carpet had plenty of visible stains, the wood floors needed a deep cleaning, the HVAC air filter should be replaced, and there appeared to be mold around the kitchen air vent that should be properly disinfected. These issues made the space feel less clean than it could have been.This property has a lot of potential, but it would benefit from more thorough cleaning and regular maintenance. If these issues are addressed, it could provide a much better experience for future guests.
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2026
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Nancy D.
25 July 2026
Liked: Check-in, location
This was an amazing location and we could walk everywhere. Unfortunately the place was not well cleaned, furniture was stained, parking was unclear and one of the beds was just a mattress on the floor. Communication was great before we got there but response time was slow after we arrived.
This location is terrific and the space is really good. I just can’t recommend this space for more than 4-5 people at a time. The description says sleeps 12 and mentions a pull out sofa (very uncomfortable) and 2 queen blow up mattresses (all of the ones there were broken). It is asking a lot to advertise 2 adults on a queen blowup and 2 adults on a pull out sofa. Upon our arrival, there were only 8 bath towels and 4 wash cloths for 10 people. I communicated soon after check-in about the towels and the blowup mattresses being broken. It appeared the responses I got were AI generated and I had no solution to either issue the first night. Management did deliver 2 queen air mattresses and more towels the next day. For this, I am suppose to receive 125 credit. Its just disappointing that a place with so much to offer doesn’t do a few things to make it a great place
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Valerie B.
19 June 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Lots of potential but not a good experience. I would never stay with them again. Need a deep cleaning. Pictures must be AI. I was very disappointed!!