Park Hills is home to this holiday home. St. Joe State Park and St. Francois State Park reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include The Space Museum & Grissom Center and Farmington Water Park.
Missouri Mines State Historic Site - 9 min drive - 11.2 km
Elephant Rocks State Park - 36 min drive - 41.6 km
Johnson's Shut-ins State Park - 48 min drive - 64.1 km
Taum Sauk Mountain State Park - 49 min drive - 60.5 km
Getting around
Arcadia Valley Station - 45 min drive
Lambert-St. Louis International Airport (STL) - 82 min drive
Restaurants
McDonald's - 10 min drive
Casey's - 13 min drive
The Old Mine House Bar and Grill - 8 min drive
PIZZA 101 SOUTH - 15 min drive
SONIC Drive In - 9 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total).
How much does it cost to stay at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house?
As of 27 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house on 3 Jan 2027 start from AU$437, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is The Shack- 3 bedroom finished house located?
Situated in Park Hills, this holiday home is 1 mi (1.6 km) from Big River and within 6 miles (10 km) of Missouri Mines State Historic Site and Columbia Park. St. Joe State Park and Irondale Park are also within 9 miles (15 km).
Reviews
7.8
Good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the home and it was close to where we were going to be. Communication with the owner was always quickly responsive and friendly.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Verified review
8/10 Good
Carole P.
30 Apr 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication, listing accuracy
House hunting
Was perfect for what we needed to accomplish. WiFi was excellent. It was very private.
At the end of quiet street. Roomy and comfortable with all your basic needs. You do need to bring your own paper towels and coffee, everything else was provided. We enjoyed our stay and hope to return. Only complaint is bathtub drain was very slow.
Close enough to everything and well worth driving for the price
Clean home partially updated. Mostly furnished with everything you need to cook and clean. Location is a bit odd (google map it on satellite view) but it is still private enough. Host is SUPER responsive and was a gem to converse with. Answered all our questions extreamly quickly and even allowed us to check in a few hours early (texted after cleaning lady was finished). We all felt the host went above and beyond and did not require anything from us. Enjoyed our stay here emensly no complaints what so ever.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Aug 2024
Thank you so much!
Verified review
8/10 Good
Amanda M.
11 Aug 2025
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy
We were visiting St Joe State Park and wanted to spend two days there. This house allowed us to stay in close proximity to the park and had comfortable beds to rest up for day number two. We had plenty of space and were grateful that our dog was welcome. We were not able to find paper towels or hand towels in the kitchen or bathroom. Not a big deal, we went out & bought some. However, the shower needs some work. It was not very clean and the floor underneath did not feel safe.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Nov 2025
Thank you for the your stay, we have taken your feedback and improved the shower.
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Cheryl M.
16 Feb 2025
Liked: Check-in, listing accuracy
Disliked: Location
February visiting family
Kevin is a really nice guy. When we arrived the smoke alarm needed a battery and come to find out the heat wasn't working. He came right over and fixed both. However the coffee cups were dirty and the silverware was questionable. The shower didnt have much water spray.
Suppose to stay in the shack, but Carpet was just cleaned the day I was suppose to stay. He gave us a place next door that was nice. Shack was a 3/1 and the second one was a 2/1. Believe I should have been compensated for the difference. Nothing was ever said about it it. . No shampoo or bars of soap , no paper towels. Expected to start laundry dishwasher, sweep floors and take garbage out . Don’t know what the fees were if I was expected to clean everything.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2025
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Josh A.
3 Jan 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
When I arrived the first step in the door I could smell animal urine. I went room to room and was shocked by how the carpets, ceilings, tub, rear entrance door and the front entrance door looked. The front door is secured by maybe a 1/2”, you can see the outside, and the door moves with the slightest pressure on it. All rooms that were carpeted were stained with either pet urine, beverage spills or who knows what. The tub has a huge crack down the middle that feels like you’re going to fall through when you put weight on it, and is filthy but that may just be from the water type (smelled like rotten eggs). The rear door had packaging tape around the border, probably trying to keep small insects out? Kitchen ceiling is falling apart, possible water damage. I didn’t feel comfortable using the cookware, so I used the grill (no lighter fluid or charcoal) once. Got some extra blankets/pillow at the D General and slept on the couch, thought that was the safest route. My dog and I had fun hiking in the area but I would not return to this home under any circumstances. Not as advertised in my opinion. I absolutely hate writing bad reviews but it’s been bugging me for quite some time. Not sure the other positive reviews and I stayed at the same location?