Check-in: 4:00 pm
Check-out: 10:00 am
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Max guests:4 (sleeps up to 4 adults)
No refunds for cancellations made after payment is made
It was just what we needed! Perfect!
Thank you for your review, Joy! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay!!
I am giving this one star because we loved the ocean and going to sleep and waking up to the sound.
My wife and I found Le Petit Bijou on VRBO’s site. It looked like heaven. Beach front bungalow, deck with a view. We read the reviews and thought this was the place for us for vacation! Six glorious days by the ocean! Not so glorious. The place was quaint, clean but in need of some upkeep. It was well stocked with linens, towels, cookware, dishes, etc.
The beach is another issue. VRBO’s listing could lead one to believe you have a small private beach. NOT true. We left one day only to return home to find a dog tied to our balcony, along with bathing suits that had been hung on it to dry. We soon learned that we had to “stake” out early in the morning if we wanted a place to put our stuff. So, 8am like clockwork we placed our chairs and umbrellas out. Just heads up – you gotta get up early to beat the locals. One positive – we saw dolphins and sea lions.
The other thing we didn’t realize is that this is a dog friendly beach. Fine, no issue with dogs. Dog owners on the other hand – issue. Leashes I guess, are optional. Dog owners allow their pets to run free, up to and including hiking their legs to urinate on your personal property. Some didn’t pick up after their pets, so you always have to watch where you walk. Charming.
The area is pretty enough. The attitude not so much. We won’t be returning to le Petit Bijou, so those of you that love it can have it.
We're sorry to hear you didn't have a better experience during your stay. We personally do not allow pets in this home, however we cannot control the people and pets on public beaches, especially during the crowded summer months.
This place is awesome !
You can't get any closer to the beach without being on a boat. We loved the placed. Walked to Montecito for breakfast. Surfed twice a day. I could live here.
Thank you so much for taking time to leave a review for our beautiful beachfront property! We are happy to hear you had a wonderful stay and had plenty of time to surf. Please consider staying with us again the next time you visit Santa Barbara!
The greatest thing about staying at this property is that it borders a dog friendly beach - especially since the owner does not allow visitors to bring their dogs. It was great to interact with all the great dogs on the beach. It was also really great to be able to walk out the back door and run on the beach for a couple of hours. The bike path is also a big plus. We saw dolphins and sea lions daily. I understand the trendy idea behind the "cable and internet free zone" but this is really a negative about this property - especially staying here in the winter when the sun sets early and sitting out on the back porch is unrealistic in the cold weather. Owner says that she advertises that there is no cable or internet at the house but I didn't realize that when I booked the house. When we were there a storm was predicted and the area had forced evacuations because of the devastating mud/land slide potential. I heard about the evacuations from a woman walking her dog on the beach. Local news access would have been a big plus. SO everyone there is NO cable or internet at the house. The rabbit ears attached to the TV do not bring in local news channels. The TV is of VERY poor quality, the speakers don't work and the DVD player doesn't work all that well either. So go prepared. Get an app for local weather and channels, load up your devices with movies, etc., so that you will have something to watch after the sun goes down and it is cold outside. I won't go back.
Hi Michelle. Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you did not have the best stay. It is important to note that since your stay, we have added WiFi to the home to ensure all guests can remain connected and receive local alerts if necessary. We apologize that this wasn't the case when you stayed, but hope you come back and can experience all the best Le Petit has to offer.
The most "get away" of any "get away" that we have ever gotten away to
Spectacular location. Yes, the pics are correct. it truly does sit in the wave. train is behind it but you never notice it. you gotta like sleeping to the sounds of the ocean because you have your own ambient noise. it was great. it is a public beach so we really enjoyed watching people walking their dogs and people are super friendly. Nice folks, but not overly crowded. surrounded by other similar sized rentals but all individual and individualized. felt like you were in a little beach community. This place is just five minutes from the Montecito "strip" with shops and restaurants, 10 minutes from Vons and 15 minutes from the Santa Barbara Farmers Market. Amazing. It is small, just right for two, tight for four, but very doable with a double bed and a big futon for a second bed.
Great place to read a book, and let me tell you why. They are honest, there is NO internet here. Actually we found it really difficult to even get bars on our phones. There is no land line, you can get better reception standing out on the beach, but no surfing the web on your phones. They have a dvd player and three dvds --- all the starwars trilogy, so BYODVDs or i suggested they get some more for a nickle in the CVS bin down the street. No TV.
I cook so i am picky about the kitchen. Stove, top burners, drip coffee worked well and lots of fridge space. Nothing to bake anything in so BYOBP (baking pans). i fashioned some tart pasteries by cooking them in molded tin foil. you can make do. Bear Gryll it. Basic kitchen implements, but nothing like a juicer, etc. and as all good cook know, either take a sharpening stone or bring a knife. The toaster gave up the ghost, but they will probably fix this. I do like the management company. they worked with me when i was trying to book from australia and had no good way to get a contract back to them. they we discussed a carpet cleaning charge again after the fact, which they removed. i am not saying they should always give the renters the benefit of the coubt, but willingness to discuss issues with me is the most important thing i think. it tells me that they have ethics and maturity that other agencies often lack. bottom line, sue loved it. good birthday.
Thank you for taking time to leave a review! As you noticed, the listing for this home indicates that there is no internet, wifi, or cable - so this is the perfect home to relax by the beach! We've made note of your comments on items that can be repaired or replaced such as the toaster and will have our property manager look into it!
Initial surprise leads to love
Let me start this off by telling you we would return to this charming bungalow tomorrow...for as long as we could stay. It was that sweet, that charming, that perfect. We were initially surprised by the fact that there was no air conditioner and no internet or WiFi, but we quickly remembered how to open windows, real books and talk (oh and talk). By the end of our stay we didn’t want to leave. The open windows connected us to the Pacific Ocean that was literally ten steps from the deck. We experienced amazing sunrises, breakfast on the deck as the tide came in, beach walks, wine on the deck in the evening and sleeping to the sound of crashing waves. (The first night my husband got up and opened the door. I asked “what are you doing.” He replied “making sure the waves aren’t coming in.”) The waves weren’t coming in, the ocean is just that close. It was magical. Don’t be surprised by the lack of AC or WiFi. Bring books, wine and the love of your life. You won’t be disappointed.
Thank you so much for leaving such a wonderful review for Le Petit Bijou. This home is truly a gem and we're so glad you and your family had a fantastic stay. There's nothing better than listening to the waves and surf right outside your window. Please visit us again!