Located in Ottawa, this holiday home is on the waterfront. Starved Rock State Park and Matthiessen State Park reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Mix's Trading Post and Grand Bear Falls Indoor Water Park.
Illinois Waterway Visitor Center - 4 min drive - 5.3 km
Starved Rock State Park - 6 min drive - 7.1 km
Starved Rock State Park - 6 min drive - 7.1 km
August Hill Winery Tasting Room - 8 min drive - 8.8 km
Getting around
Mendota Station - 32 min drive
Restaurants
Casey's General Store - 11 min drive
Cam’s Corner - 6 min drive
Cats Q - 9 min drive
Tone's Cones - 10 min drive
Skoog's Pub & Grill - 9 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Private 200-Acre Estate Near Starved Rock pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows cats and dogs (limit 2 total).
How much does it cost to stay at Private 200-Acre Estate Near Starved Rock?
As of 28 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Private 200-Acre Estate Near Starved Rock on 4 Nov 2026 start from AU$1,395, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Private 200-Acre Estate Near Starved Rock?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Private 200-Acre Estate Near Starved Rock?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Private 200-Acre Estate Near Starved Rock?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Private 200-Acre Estate Near Starved Rock located?
Situated on the waterfront, this holiday home is within 6 miles (10 km) of Mix's Trading Post, LaSalle County Historical Society & Museum and August Hill Winery Tasting Room. Illinois & Michigan Canal and Grand Bear Falls Indoor Water Park are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.8
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
The house was so cute, very well kept, clean, fully equipped, spacious and perfect spot for our girls’ trip getaway weekend. We had a great time and will definitely be back!
Amazing property and fantastic hosts. Great place for a boys weekend or bachelor party!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 8 June 2026
We are so happy you all loved the property! We do everything we can to ensure our guests are taken care of and have a great time. Thank you for choosing us!
A true hidden gem! This property is one of a kind and provides the perfect vacation home. Whether you are looking for space for the whole family, fishing, exploring nature, or just some serenity this is the place for you. It’s super close to starved rock, off road trails, and boating rentals. Worth every penny and the hosts are extremely accommodating and kind! We have spent the last two years taking our family vacation here and we are already looking forward to the next year.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 7 July 2026
Thank you again Carly for being such incredible guests! We will always welcome you back and we are just so thrilled you love the property! We look forward to hosting you all again!
The space was exactly what we needed for a bachelorette party of 12 people. The communal space was perfect for meals and games. It was actually larger than I expected from the photos. There were plenty of places for everyone to sleep comfortably. Everything was labeled for ease of use: switches, drawers, etc. The porch space was so beautiful and we loved gathering for s'mores around the fire pit. We did a float trip in Oglesby so we were beyond lucky to find such a perfect house close by. Ryan and Kiki were so easy to contact and quick to respond. Great experience overall!
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Sept 2026
Anna thank you so much for such a wonderful review! We are so happy our home fit your groups needs!
Amazing Property!!! We stayed at Starved Rock Retreat for my daughter's Bachorlette Party. We loved the setting of the property! It was beautiful, relaxing and peaceful! So close to the State Parks and shopping in Ottawa. We ENJOYED all being able to be together in the open concept room. There was the perfect place to enjoy yoga next to the lake in the morning. It truly was everything we were hoping for and more!! The Hosts, Ryan and Kiki, were AMAZING as well!! They answered any questions we had right away. They were very helpful! I would definetly recommend and stay here again!!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Sept 2026
Thank you for such wonderful feedback! We are so happy you enjoyed!
The stay was wonderful! So dog friendly! They even provided dog beds and bowls. Very nice touch. Everything for the humans was great too. No complaints at all. Definitely met and exceeded our expectations. The hosts are very nice and easily accessible when needed. Hoping to go back again someday.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 3 Apr 2026
Thank you again for choosing us for your getaway! We are thrilled you had a great time and that we exceeded your expectations. We would be happy to host you again!
Spectacular Space - Highly Recommend for a Nature filled get away.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 17 June 2025
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Starved Rock Retreat! It was such a pleasure hosting you for such a special occasion. We would love to have you back anytime!
The property was so amazing me and my friends and family had a great time. The host are great people. We will be going back again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 1 July 2025
It was such a pleasure hosting your friends and family! We would be be thrilled to have you back anytime. We are so happy you had an amazing experience!
Amazing vacation retreat! The owners did not miss a single thing down to the littlest detail. The house is beautiful and stocked with all of the amenities.The property is out of this world. You can explore for days and keep finding something new.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 5 July 2025
We are so excited to hear you had a great experience at Starved Rock Retreat! It was an honor to host your family for such a special occasion. We would be happy to host you again in the future!
We recently stayed here for our annual guys weekend and the house had everything we were looking for to have a great weekend. The house was clean, very spacious, and had all the amenities needed. Ryan and Kiki are great hosts. The communications with them was easy and prompt, and the instructions they left were clear and detailed. We also loved the easy access to hiking and fishing. Overall just a great place.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Oct 2025
Thank you again for choosing us. We are so happy you had a wonderful experience and had a great time exploring the area with your group! We would love to host you all again next year!
Amazing hosts, excellent communication, well appointed home. There was nothing we needed (or could have needed) that wasn’t thought of and planned for. Guest instructions were clear and helpful. Host touches were thoughtful and welcoming.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 6 Oct 2025
Thank you for this wonderful feedback Michelle! We are so happy you had a wonderful experience and we would be happy to welcome you back again!
We had 13 women for a fitness retreat and everything was amazing. From all my questions answered right away to the welcome basket and everything provided that you can possibly think of, this place was perfect. The beds were super comfortable, the porch was the perfect coffee spot, the kitchen was stocked and everything was clean, roomy and welcoming. We hiked, kayaked and ate and drank by the river. Would come back for sure! Great hosts
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 June 2025
It was such a pleasure hosting your group for your fitness retreat! We are thrilled you all had a wonderful experience and we would be happy to welcome you back in the future.
Starved Rock Retreat was the perfect spot for our low-key, relaxing bachelorette weekend. From the minute we booked our stay, the hosts were very helpful and responsive to any and all questions we had, even going so far as to provide recommendations on things to do in the area so we could plan our activities ahead of time.The house was absolutely amazing and had everything we needed and then some. Our only regret was not having more time to check out more of what the area has to offer. Before we left we were already talking about coming back.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Sept 2025
We are so happy you had a wonderful stay with us! We would love to welcome you back anytime.
Gorgeous property and home. Sparkling clean, everything from the grounds to the counters to the linens. They have really invested a lot into the maintenance and luxury of this VRBO yet somehow it still feels like a place where you are encouraged to unwind and relax. The owners were responsive and accommodating. The rental is priced fair for the area. You are close to what you need but it’s set far back and on a private lot against the water so you feel like you are in the cozy woods. We had a blast tubing down the river at Ayer’s Landing on Saturday. The owners and workers were great and made it an easy experience. Only 35 for an entire day relaxing on the water! The local areas are super cute with great food. I recommend The Lone Buffalo in downtown Ottawa for delicious food and friendly service. Bruce & Ollie’s in Utica is perfect for coffee or ice cream. Their patio is dog-friendly! We were at this VRBO all weekend and have zero complaints.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 July 2025
We are so happy your group had such a great experience and were able to enjoy the local attractions and amazing restaurants! Ottawa has so much to offer! We would love to have you all back anytime.
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Matthew A.
12 June 2025
Stayed 3 nights in May 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 18 June 2025
Hi Matthew,
We are sorry to see we did not earn a 5-star review for your stay. The last correspondence from you said, “We absolutely love your place and property and will be coming back frequently for sure!” We apologize if your review was due to us not being able to accommodate your late check out request. We had another reservation arriving the day of your check-out and we only have a short time frame to properly clean and prepare the home for our next guests. We did attempt to contact you, please reach out if you would like to discuss further. We wish you the best and enjoyed hosting you and your family.