Entire home

North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun

Photo gallery for North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun

A cozy living room with two chairs, a TV, a plant, and a woven ottoman.
A rustic cabin with a chimney, surrounded by tall pine trees.
A two-story wooden cabin with large windows and a balcony.
A modern kitchen with wooden cabinets, a central island, and a dining area with a table and chairs.
A bedroom with a wooden ceiling, a bed with multiple pillows, a bedside table, a lamp, and a view of trees through a window.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Tahoe National Forest

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet
  • Washing machine
  • Onsite parking available
  • Fireplace

Explore the area

View map
Alpine Meadows, CA
  • Place, Tahoe National Forest
    ‪1 min walk‬
  • Place, Palisades Tahoe
    ‪12 min drive‬
  • Place, Northstar California Resort
    ‪35 min drive‬
  • Airport, Truckee, CA (TKF-Truckee Tahoe)
    ‪27 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 7)

Bedroom 1

1 King Bed

Bedroom 2

3 Single Beds

Bedroom 3

1 King Bed

3 bathrooms

Bathroom 1

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 2

Toilet · Shower only

Bathroom 3

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Kitchen
Balcony

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Olympic Valley

Located in Olympic Valley, this holiday home is in the city centre. Palisades Tahoe and Northstar California Resort are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Donner Lake. Olympic Valley Park and Olympic Museum are also worth visiting. Discover the area's water adventures with nearby fishing, or enjoy the great outdoors with cycling, rock climbing and mountain climbing.
Map
Alpine Meadows, CA

What's nearby

  • Tahoe National Forest - 1 min walk - 0.0 km
  • Spa at Everline - 8 min drive - 6.5 km
  • Palisades Tahoe - 12 min drive - 9.3 km
  • Donner Lake - 22 min drive - 27.8 km
  • Northstar California Resort - 35 min drive - 41.7 km

Getting around

  • Truckee Station - 22 min drive
  • Truckee, CA (TKF-Truckee Tahoe) - 28 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪River Ranch Lodge - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Gold Coast Complex - ‬27 min drive
  • ‪Coffeebar - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪Rocker - ‬10 min drive
  • ‪22 Bistro - ‬10 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun?

As of 27 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun on 31 Oct 2026 start from AU$2,064, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is North Lake Hideaway | Prime Locale for Outdoor Fun located?

Located in the heart of Olympic Valley, this holiday home is steps from Tahoe National Forest and within 3 mi (5 km) of Hot Wheels Chair Ski Lift and Truckee River. Scott Chair Ski Lift is 2.8 mi (4.5 km) away.

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 9 out of 14 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 4 out of 14 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 0 out of 14 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 0 out of 14 reviews

9.6/10

Cleanliness

9.4/10

Check-in

9.2/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.6/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great alpine get-away. Great location. Great property.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Feb 2026
Thank you, Ray, for your wonderful review! We’re so glad you enjoyed the location and the property, and that your alpine getaway was a success. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime for another relaxing stay at North Lake Hideaway!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy

House is nice

House and location was good.
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Mar 2025
Thank you for sharing your thoughts! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed both the house and the location. If there’s anything we can do to make your next stay even better, please don't hesitate to reach out. We hope to welcome you back soon for another stay!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great ski vacation

This is a beautiful house in a great location! Steep driveway so you need 4wd or chains (which we had) if it’s snowy! Would definitely stay again!
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Mar 2023
We are thrilled you have stayed in one of our Grand Welcome homes and would love to invite you back in the future. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay even better for next time!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Close to Alpine Meadows

Thanks for the stay. We had s great time. Its so convenient to access the ski area
Stayed 2 nights in Jan 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Feb 2025
We are delighted to hear that you had a great time during your stay and found our location convenient for accessing the ski area. Our team works hard to ensure our guests have a memorable experience. Thank you for choosing our property for your getaway and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Family Ski Trip

This house was a great place to stay with adult children. Plenty of beds and bathrooms for everyone. It is a very steep driveway, that will fit two cars easily if plowed correctly.
Stayed 5 nights in Dec 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Feb 2025
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at our property. We are glad to hear that the house was suitable for your family and that you found the number of beds and bathrooms accommodating. We appreciate your mention of the steep driveway and will ensure proper plowing for future guests' convenience. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Spring break in Tahoe

Great trip in Tahoe! This home was everything we needed for a few days away this spring break. Lovely home, well thought out rooms and beds. My 3 kids LOVED their 3 bed bedroom hideaway!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 6 May 2024
We are thrilled to hear that you and your family had a wonderful spring break getaway at our home in Tahoe! It's fantastic to know that the kids enjoyed their 3 bed bedroom hideaway. We appreciate your kind words about the well-appointed rooms. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Location

Very easy access to Alpine and Pallisades ski areas. Also a free shuttle available (Mountaineer) which I suggest using on weekends as the parking lots fill up early. Lots of pots and pans for home cooking.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 21 Apr 2023
Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We are so happy to hear your Grand Welcome Vacation experience and hope to host you again soon, either here or at one of our many locations across the country.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful stay in Alpine Meadows

Our group had a wonderful stay at this house in Alpine Meadows! The bedrooms were all well appointed and the kitchen was more than sufficient. In addition, the living room was a great hangout spot for the group.Be aware the driveway is sloped, which wasn't a problem for our group, but could definitely be if it snows a bunch and you only have 2wd. Would love to return!
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 7 Mar 2025
Thank you for your wonderful review! We’re so glad to hear that your group had a great time at the house and enjoyed the well-appointed bedrooms, fully equipped kitchen, and cozy living room hangout spot. We’d love to welcome you back for another stay in the future!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Birthday ski celebration

Great location to explore skiing Palisades Tahoe and Alpine Meadows and visiting the greater Lake Tahoe towns. Very comfortable place to stay and visit with friends and family. The driveway is very short, but earlier reviews stating that AWD or 4WD is needed if any snow is present are right on the mark. Also the front entry stairs can get slippery and are steep. We really enjoyed our stay.
Stayed 5 nights in Jan 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Nice

Nice location, nice area , quiet and cozy. Window coverings in upstair barhrooms we’re laking. Will recommend and stay again. We requested fans and were brought right away. Thank you
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Aug 2023
We are thrilled you have stayed in one of our Grand Welcome homes and would love to invite you back in the future. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay even better for next time!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place close to Alpine

Very clean and well appointed home close to Alpine Meadows. It had everything we need for two families to stay. We use Mountaineer service to get to and from Alpine Meadows, which was very convenient. One warning, it is on a smaller side road in the driveway is steep so if there’s lots of snow, it can be difficult to get to during a storm. Otherwise I highly recommend the place.
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2023
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location
The home was clean, but it was quite dated, and several drawers were broken or in need of repair.On the day we arrived (Wednesday), the host informed us there was a “small leak” in one of the bathroom faucets and that the replacement part would not arrive before the end of our stay. Unfortunately, this was much more than a small leak. The faucet continuously ran hot water at full force, making that bathroom unusable and the adjoining bedroom difficult to use because of the constant noise.The larger issue was that the continuously running hot water depleted the home’s hot water supply. With a house full of guests, most of us were only able to take lukewarm or cold showers for the duration of our stay, and only one shower consistently had hot water.We understand that unexpected maintenance issues can happen, but we were disappointed by both the severity of the problem and how it was handled. They even gave my husband the opportunity to turn off the water so we could at lesser get hot showers but unfortunately they did not have a shut off valve for the hot water. Losing an entire bathroom and effectively having only one functional hot shower for a large group significantly impacted our stay. Despite the inconvenience, no effort was made to compensate us for the loss of amenities we had paid for.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 22 July 2026
Thank you for sharing your experience. Future guests should know that we always strive to be transparent about any maintenance issues that arise before or during a stay. Prior to this arrival, we informed the guest that one bathroom faucet had a small leak and that we were awaiting a replacement part, which unfortunately could not be installed before check-in due to parts availability. Based on the feedback shared after the stay, it appears the issue became much more significant during their visit than we had anticipated. Had we known it was impacting the home's hot water supply and overall guest experience to this extent, we absolutely would have worked with the guests to make things right, including discussing appropriate compensation. Unfortunately, we were not made aware of the severity of the issue while they were in the home. The repair was completed promptly after the guests' departure once the replacement parts arrived. We appreciate feedback like this, as it helps us continue improving both our communication and our response to unexpected maintenance issues so future guests can enjoy the experience we aim to provide.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Basically good

The emailed info on the property listed the pool and extra property. We looked and looked 😂 finally someone got back to us and said there was a mistake. There was no pool or extra parking on the property. I emailed ahead of time asking for type of coffee pot and if there were filters. I was told a drip coffee maker and no filters. There was a Keurig, a drip coffee maker and lots of filters. The TV is streaming services only, so were disappointed to not be able to watch the olympics on prime time TV, which was easier than Peacock. Downstairs bedroom - no dresser, no closet, no night stands next to the bed. The window coverings did nothing to keep out sunlight in the mornings. Towels were fraying. I realize those are some items that maybe housekeeping needs to tell management if management doesn’t come onto the property I’m sure the place would be fine for others, it’s a pretty and very clean home, but I don’t think I’d stay there again. During business hours, reaching management was easy!
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Check-in

Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2025
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback