Mission is home to this holiday home. Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art and Harrah's Casino are cultural highlights, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit Legends Outlets Kansas City and Crown Center. Looking to enjoy an event or a game? See what's going on at GEHA Field at Arrowhead Stadium or T-Mobile Center.
Shawnee Indian Mission Historical Site - 7 min drive - 4.3 km
Argentine Carnegie Library - 7 min drive - 7.1 km
Overland Park Farmers Market - 7 min drive - 5.0 km
Getting around
Plaza Tram Stop - 9 min drive
Kansas City Union Station - 17 min drive
Kansas City International Airport (MCI) - 31 min drive
Restaurants
Culver's - 18 min walk
McDonald's - 14 min walk
Sonic Drive-In - 17 min walk
Chili's Grill & Bar - 5 min drive
Grandstand Burgers - 6 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Modern Mission Escape Home - Family Friendly - Close to All Attractions pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 23 kg per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at Modern Mission Escape Home - Family Friendly - Close to All Attractions?
As of 30 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Modern Mission Escape Home - Family Friendly - Close to All Attractions on 1 Mar 2027 start from AU$1,799, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Modern Mission Escape Home - Family Friendly - Close to All Attractions?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Modern Mission Escape Home - Family Friendly - Close to All Attractions?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Modern Mission Escape Home - Family Friendly - Close to All Attractions?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Modern Mission Escape Home - Family Friendly - Close to All Attractions located?
Situated in Mission, this holiday home is within 3 miles (5 km) of Shawnee Indian Mission Historical Site, Westwood Medical Pavilion and Boulevard Drive-In Theater. Overland Park Farmers Market and Shawnee Town 1929 are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
8.8
Excellent
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
This home was exactly as the listing showed. The beds were AMAZINGLY comfortable, love the down duvet!! The game room was perfect for our boys to wind down after a busy day traveling. The owner was in contact quickly and frequently. Check in and out was a breeze. Will stay here again for sure!
The house was great for a group of six of us and an uber ride downtown was nice and easy. The basement was great for gathering, and everything was perfect!
The place was very nice and was perfect for a getaway weekend for my fiance and his friends. Nick was super helpful and easy to communicate with!This is the perfect spot for people who want to spend the evenings in downtown KC without being caught in the city.
This property is amazing! Very Clean, Luxury linens and towels. The lower level game and bar room was perfect for hosting our family for games(pool, darts) I've been staying in short term rentals for over 20 years and this place is on my favs list! I will be staying here again when I'm visiting Kansas City.
Great house with plenty of room for 3 families on vacation! Good location for all of our destinations. Safe neighborhood where we walked the kids to the park one morning. Game room was a lot of fun as well. Only negative is there is no dining room table for meals but it was not a deal breaker for us as we bought a table cloth and kids camped out in the dining room like a picnic. Host is very quick to respond with questions.
DO NOT STAY HERE. While this listing looks nice in photos, it smells horribly of cat urine AND is not cleaned properly. The toilets were unkept and bed linens unclean. Really surprised by how gross it was, we reached out to the host Nick about these concerns, he became aggressive and defensive immediately, accusing us of lying and stating that he would be showing up at the property unannounced. I was traveling with my children alone and felt very unsafe staying at this property after his inappropriate decorum. We packed as quickly as possible and left, having to find other last minute accommodations. Ive requested a refund for obvious reasons, and have yet to receive it. WORST VRBO EXPERIENCE EVER.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2026
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Sabrina C.
26 June 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness
Not as it appears online beware
While the host was pretty responsive the interpretation of clean is a little off. We arrived late 3am but had to spend about 3 hours cleaning at 3am in order to sleep at 6am. This home looks to be recently updated or flipped but craftsmanship is lacking. Base boards don’t go all the way to corners etc. There is an odd smell of old smokers house that never goes away. If you are sensitive to smells this is not the place for you. Went through entire box of swifter mop refills to somewhat clean this place. To be fair the host offered to send cleaning crew and disputed it was dirty but by that time we already cleaned. We bought carpets to use and bug spray as our little one got bites in her sleep. We ended up buying bedding and washing to use because all other places booked for our big party and due to the bites. The spiders ants and other bugs were many. The host just said he has regularly cleaned and sprayed. He was there the day of check in but I could write my name in the fan blades of dust. It was fine better than tent camping but certainly would have gotten a refund if I had stayed at a hotel. Online I would say this looks new and clean. However upon closer inspection and in person there were giant spider webs, bugs and on one of my littles headboard, sticky stuff on the counters and floors. If I was the host I would demand a refund of these services from cleaning company. Save yourself 1000’s in air cleaners, cleaning supplies and time and just stay at another place.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 11 July 2025
Sabrina you messaged us at 2:50 AM day 3 of your travel stating all the items you are referring to below and we responded at 5:58 AM asking for pictures or if we could come to the home to remedy these said problems. You never responded allowing us to come or ever sent pictures. You also complained about the grass being to high, but the property was mowed just days before and as we are local where able to come see that was not an issue. You also said the backdoor was broken and wouldn't lock so you Barricaded the door with our furniture. Turns out you just didn't know you had to lift the handle, turn the lock and that is how you lock the door.
You had also said you thought we never have guests, the property is probably vacant most the time and that we never visit the property. We had guest there the day before, we have a 70% occupancy rate and I am there weekly.
We operate to a great standard and have nothing but great reviews on this platform as well as the other platforms. If there is an issue we come and handle it. Sabrina we wish you the best and hope you find something to not complain about.