Located in Downtown San Marcos, a neighbourhood in San Marcos, this apartment is near a water park. Hays County Historic Courthouse and Charles S. Cock House Museum are local landmarks, and travellers looking to shop may want to visit San Marcos Premium Outlets and Plaza East. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's happening at Bobcat Ballpark or Bobcat Softball Stadium. Kayaking and scuba diving offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with horse riding and cycling nearby.
Austin-Bergstrom International Airport (AUS) - 36 min drive
Restaurants
The Square - 3 min walk
Sean Patricks
Chimy's - 3 min walk
Blue Dahlia Bistro - 3 min walk
Cat's Billiards - 1 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is Historical Building Right On The Square in Downtown San Marcos! No Pets! pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Historical Building Right On The Square in Downtown San Marcos! No Pets! ?
As of 1 Nov 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Historical Building Right On The Square in Downtown San Marcos! No Pets! on 10 Apr 2027 start from AU$824, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Historical Building Right On The Square in Downtown San Marcos! No Pets! ?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Historical Building Right On The Square in Downtown San Marcos! No Pets! ?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Historical Building Right On The Square in Downtown San Marcos! No Pets! ?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Historical Building Right On The Square in Downtown San Marcos! No Pets! located?
Located in Downtown San Marcos, this apartment building is within a 10-minute walk of Texas Music Theater and Texas State University. The Marc and Hays County Historic Courthouse are just steps away. San Marcos Station is 8 minutes by foot.
Reviews
9.6
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Location on the square was perfect, we had our own parking spot and were literally walking distance to just about everything. House/Apt was great, spacious and clean. Host was easy to reach, definitely recommend.
The place was just as pictured. There was an issue with parking they had a concert is our parking area and they wanted us to park on the street and there was no parking and if we found something it was 2 hour parking. We waiting til the concert was over and then we were able to park in our spot. we ending up finding an hotel for the next night and did not stay due to this issue, the owner did not tell us about the concert til 2pm the day we were suppose to arrive It was very loud in the apartment due to the concert
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 17 Aug 2026
We always aim to provide a great downtown experience. When a local event temporarily impacted parking access, the guest was texted to get with our on-site manager, who provided alternative solutions, and reassured the guest regarding local parking rules (all parking is free, but on weekdays only, and the hours of 8 AM-5 PM there are 2-4 hour restrictions based on areas). The City of San Marcos does not tow. There are no (zero) restrictions on parking on weekends. Guest was still concerned about towing for unknown reasons, but we were able to secured her a spot in our private lot, after the concert. To further accommodate her, we approved an early checkout and issued a full refund for her stay minus the cleaning fee. Downtowns are great places to stay if you like a lively atmosphere, restaurants, shopping, etc, but do get loud until the City noise ordinances kick in. Due to harsh communication challenges and on site manager and guest interactions, we would not host this guest again.
Came into town for a school reunion. Can’t beat the location and the super comfortable furnishings (couch and beds).
Recommended.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2023
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Rose B.
12 May 2015
Excellent Location and staff!
This is my 3rd stay at their loft! I find the location amazing! The staff downstairs and the owner are professional and helpful. Best place in San Marcos!
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Mar 2020
Glad you had fun! Come back and see us!
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Kristi
17 Sept 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, communication
The apartment was spacious with thoughtful elements for storage and convenience. The location cannot be beat with easy access to the San Marcos square with shopping, dining, and nightlife. You can park your car and walk to all of these places as well as the San Marcos river for recreation. It’s a great place to stay!
This apartment was perfect for our 2 night stay in San Marcos. So many close, fun and yummy places to go and eat. Sean Patrick's just below was fun and has a great beer selection! Root Cellar Cafe for dinner was fantastic as was the Blue Dahlia Cafe for brunch. Everyone was very friendly and helpful at the property!
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2024
Archival
10/10 Excellent
15 Jan 2014
Anniversary Trip
My husband and I rented this loft for our anniversary. It was the best! It had two good sized bedrooms and bathrooms, full kitchen, living area and a small dining area. You do not need the kitchen and dining area because the food at Sean Patrick's is some of the most delicious I have eaten in years. The service was wonderful too. I would definitely recommend this rental for anyone wanting a neat place to stay in a small town.
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Mar 2020
Glad you enjoyed your anniversary here! Come see us again!
Was in a great location. Be aware there is a bar downstairs, and this is a very active part of town. It was pretty noisy. The ac was being worked on and wasn't cooling properly. The shower door was broken and was difficult to open and close. I put a lower rating for check in because it took 3 hours (after check in time) to get the door access code. Besides that, the response time and friendliness of the service was great. The Maintenace man and cleaning lady were very personable and prompt. Great set up in the apt with 2 en suite bathrooms and nice size living area. Fully stocked kitchen made it easy to prepare meals.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 17 Sept 2025
Yes, it can be loud on although the noise may not be the bar, there can Urban noise for sure. The good news is that the City of San Marcos got the quiet zone (for train whistles) reestablished. They lost it for about 8 months, so glad that is back, an no more train whistles. We have white noise machines to help with this. Sorry about the AC, the tech left the ladder and the CO2 in the unit after clearing the lines (the smart thermo notified us). Thanks for letting us know he got it out within 5 minutes of notifying us. The thermo is a smart thermo, so it showed 70 to 72 degrees for your timeframe. So not sure if there was a lower degree needed? We don't have any restrictions on the AC. Per the camera, on the check in you arrived at 8:16 PM and you entered within 15 seconds, The Yale lock has a feature that allows for a text, but maybe you meant the text came later? Not sure, based on the email thought you were saying that you waited three hours to get in. Glad to know that was not the case. Sorry they left the ladder there, we get that that would cause a guest to look for problems. But it was already solved. The shower door could have been easily fixed as well, guests forget that we have on site maintenance (as disclosed) , but we have to know about it. Makes for a better stay for sure!
Had to wait nearly an hour for someone to come open the door because we were not given correct access code. No shampoo or ementites really at this place. Only pro is proximity to square and location, other than that I would never ever rent this place again.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 17 Mar 2025
Actually, the real story is this guest was at the front door entrance at 4:38 PM which is recorded on the security camera. There was an module issue with the Yale lock, (this lock has now been replaced) that did not allow access to his code. We have a manager that lives on site, that got these guests in at 5:00 PM. The non exaggerated actual time was 22 minutes of wait time. Either way though, this should have not happened. Two minutes can feel like a lifetime, let alone 20 minutes. Guest was texted to make sure he was in ok after talking to the manager on site to confirm. Response from the guest was that he was able to get in. There are extra amenities (shower gel, shampoo in the cabinets and in both bathrooms). Housekeeper notes showed that they used the couches to sleep on and used a lot of linens. So may have had more guests than the booking amount. With a manager on site, we are able to remedy any guests need quickly. We do understand though, that a check in issue can make everything terrible. So while the guest exaggerated the wait time, guests should not have to wait at all. The lock change out should alleviate this from occurring in the future.
Verified review
10/10 Excellent
Stefoni
21 Apr 2024
Liked: Cleanliness, communication
We really enjoyed staying here. The historical building had a lot of character. The property has a very convenient location to many sightseeing opportunities. We visited to view the eclipse and this place was close enough to the Hill Country for a reasonable drive. It is a college town so there are lots of eating places. There is a fun Irish Pub downstairs that was nice for a quick lunch and beer. Even though the pub is downstairs the sound really didn’t bother us. We heard some sound but the bed was comfortable and we were tired from all the sightseeing we did in the area. My usually noise-adverse husband had no comments about it!
The property owner is very responsive with questions and even came to the property to show us how to use the shower faucet.
The kitchen had everything we needed, although we only used it for quick breakfasts before going out for the day. The washer and dryer are top class and detergent is provided. A real plus in our opinion. There is also a nice TV.
The only thing I see lacking is enough hangers in the second bedroom closet and a luggage rack. Traveling from cross country, we had large suitcases with no place to put them or enough hangers to hang our clothes. This is a minor point though.
All in all, this is a great place to stay. It is a great location to see San Antonio, and Austin, as well as the Texas Hill Country.