Rent this luxurious 3 BDRM - 2 BATH house in the historic railroad district.
Blossom View Cottages
About Blossom View Cottages
We used to visit Ashland for Shakespeare Festival and fell in love with this charming, quaint town. Eventually, we decided to call Ashland our home. Like many residents of this lovely town, we continue to be enchanted by Ashland.
Blossom View Cottages purchased this House in 2015
Why Blossom View Cottages chose Historic Railroad District
The original house on the property, Victorian Rose, is on the Register of Historic Places. The house was built in 1901 and was lovingly renovated in 2015. The second house on the property , Blue Hyacinth, was a latter addition but shares the characteristics of the older homes prevalent around Ashland. We love the location in the very popular Railroad District - its proximity to OSF, the stores in downtown and the restaurants and galleries on A Street.
What makes this House unique
Luxury, Comfort, Location - WOW! The cottages are located in a residential neighborhood yet are within three blocks to downtown. The Food Co-Op is two short blocks away and A-Street is half a block away. Park your car on the property and walk to the theater and other local interests. Each cottage has a porch, so you can enjoy wine/coffee in private or walk a few steps to the cafes and restaurants and mingle with the locals. A famous local coffee shop and a landmark, popular restaurant are literally in our backyard!
Check-in: 4:00 pm
Check-out: 11:00 am
No smoking of any kind allowed on premises.
Minimum age of primary renter:25
Full refund (except cancellation fees of 5%) if cancelled before 60 days. See rental agreement for house rules.
100% refund if cancelled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Great house in great location
This house was perfect in almost every way. It is easy walking distance to the theater, big clean rooms, good AC system.
Fit our needs perfectly
Great location, walk to Oregon Shakespeare Festival and downtown. Quiet street, nice outdoor spaces for eating and lounging. Very clean on arrival. The kitchen is not equipped for serious cooking, but probably adequate for most. We wished there was more than one dishtowel, trash bags that fit the kitchen trash bin (there were bags, but much too small) and that the Swiffer in the kitchen had any dry or wet cloths so it could be used! Without those it was very hard to keep the kitchen floor clean, as we were cooking for a crowd. Ended up using a washcloth from a bathroom, which was suboptimal. But overall a great property and we would stay again in a heartbeat. Comfortable bedrooms and very good air conditioning (a must in Ashland in summer months).
perfect location but would not recommend
Negatives: The listing says sleeps 10, however we were charged an "extra guest fee" for having that many in our party. For two of the four nights there were only two of us, so I twice requested an adjustment in the charge but never got a response from the property manager. The house is actually two little apartments connected, but this isn't mentioned in the description. This makes the flow a bit strange. The housekeeping service was still cleaning when we arrived, so we were kept waiting in the alley for 20 minutes - this caused us to be late for an engagement. The upstairs tub had debris in it. There was only one hair dryer provided. The front yard is lovely, but the backyard patio area is not maintained. Parking is inadequate - there is a garage and an extra space, but renters are not allowed to use them. Obviously, if the place sleeps 10, there will be more than one vehicle.
Positives: The location is perfect. The home and front yard look quite charming.
Our lovely home was intentionally set up so larger groups can gather separately, perhaps to read or nap while others watch tv. Most of our guests really appreciate this feature. If you have questions about the layout before booking, please do not hesitate to ask.
As we explained (each time) this inquiry came up, we ask guests when they register how many people will be staying. We allow up to 6 before charging a nominal amount for each additional person. We do this because then our sofa sleeper is in use which requires extra bedding and then extra towels, more hot water and cleaning are also needed. Once those extra items are in use, we do not refund by the day just because someone leaves early or wasn't there every night. We are sorry if this was not made clear enough when explained the first time we were asked about this fee.
We provide this house with one dedicated off-street parking spot (and a second one on request), as well as unlimited street parking, so we cannot imagine how that issue could have been problematic for anyone.
If you arrive before 4 in the afternoon, it is highly likely that the cleaning team will still be busy. You are welcomed to drop your luggage, and walk downtown while we finish.
We do offer a hair dryer in each bathroom, although were not aware that one was missing, and we will provide for future arrivals.
The landscaper comes once a week to clean and maintain the gardens. Springtime in Ashland is fast growing to be sure!
Family wedding trip
Cottage was clean, well decorated, & well layed out. Worked great for our east coast, west coast family gathering. Brother's wedding & Ashland were both a great experience. Would definitely recommend & return to this lovely blossom cottage.
Very comfortable and terrific location to walk to all the plays. Thanks to our hosts.
We enjoyed our time in the cottage this past April 2018. It is in walking distance to the theatres, restaurants and many stores! Hope to return next year!
Located in the historic railroad district, within three blocks of downtown, theaters and the museums and restaurants on A Street.