Entire home

Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity

Photo gallery for Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity

A wooden deck with a view of a street and houses.
A residential street with a wooden deck, a car parked on the side, and houses in the background.
A residential area with houses, a wooden fence, and a car parked on the street.
A dining area with a wooden table set for four, large windows, and a ceiling fan.
A dining area with a wooden table set for four, large windows, and a ceiling fan.

Reviews

7.6 out of 10
Good

Highlights

  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Near Nehalem Bay State Park

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Toys
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Manzanita, OR
  • Place, Sunset Beach
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Manzanita Golf Course
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Nehalem Bay State Park
    ‪9 min walk‬
  • Airport, Astoria, OR (AST-Astoria Regional)
    ‪47 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

2 bedrooms (sleeps 4)

Bedroom 1

1 Queen Bed

Bedroom 2

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom 1: Hallway (Shower Only)

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Manzanita

Located in Manzanita, this holiday home is on the waterfront. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Haystack Rock and Cannon Beach. Hoffman Center for the Arts and Oregon Coast Scenic Railroad are also worth visiting. Discover the area's water adventures with kayaking and windsurfing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with cycling and hiking.
Map
Manzanita, OR

What's nearby

  • Sunset Beach - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Manzanita Golf Course - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Nehalem Bay State Park - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
  • Hoffman Center for the Arts - 15 min walk - 1.3 km
  • Neahkahnie Lake - 20 min walk - 1.7 km

Getting around

  • Cannon Beach Station - 22 min drive
  • Astoria, OR (AST-Astoria Regional) - 49 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Neahkahnie Smoke House - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Manzanita News & Espresso - ‬13 min walk
  • ‪Wanda's Cafe + Bakery - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Roost Coffee - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪The Winery at Manzanita - ‬9 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity?

As of 31 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity on 1 Nov 2026 start from AU$577, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Central Manzanita Ocean-View Cottage Has Woodstove And Large Deck, Proximity located?

Situated on the waterfront, this holiday home is within a 5-minute walk of Sunset Beach and Manzanita Golf Course. Nehalem Bay State Park and Hoffman Center for the Arts are also within 15 minutes.

Reviews

7.6

Good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 5 out of 14 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 5 out of 14 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 1 out of 14 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 2 out of 14 reviews

8.2/10

Cleanliness

8.4/10

Check-in

8.0/10

Communication

9.4/10

Location

8.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great communication and incredibly clean. Great location with a one minute walk to a path to the beach, and an easy, safe ten minute walk into town.Is it a luxe property? No. But that was not how it was represented. I was pleased with the temperature controls, television, and nice toiletries provided. I’d highly recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable, low key, dog friendly rental in a convenient location.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Nothing fancy about this home but worked out well for our needs. Close and easy access to the ocean beaches and the dogs loved it.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Aug 2026
Thank you so much for the great review. I'm glad you and your dogs had a very happy stay and got to enjoy the local beaches. Please consider coming back to stay with us again, we'd love it!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
A very enjoyable experience. Instructions clear, information helpful and the home clean and comfortable.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 10 June 2026
Thank you for the 5-star review! We're glad that the info we sent over was helpful to you and thank you so much for calling out the cleanliness and comfort of the home. We appreciate you choosing Meredith Lodging and hope to host you again.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

comfortable home in perfect location

We really enjoyed this rental home and its ideal location next to the beach and the coffee shops and restaurants of Manzanita. I would definitely stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Sept 2023
Thank you for your 5-star review! We are so glad you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay. We loved hosting you at The Viking, and hope you will book with us again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Father's Day Weekend

This is a great little classic beach house clad with warm wood paneling inside. We had a great stay.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

great location, cute house

We had a great Thanksgiving at this property - our family of four (plus dog) really enjoyed the house, which is in a great location across the street from the beautiful Manzanita beach. We were lucky too to have incredible weather.
Stayed 3 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 19 Dec 2023
Hi Rosemary! Thank you for your 5-star review and choosing to spend your Thanksgiving holiday with us. We loved hosting your family at The Viking, and hope you will book with us again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great stay

The view was beautiful! The house is dated, but very clean. The team was responsive when I had an issue. I’d stay again.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Sept 2023
Hi Elizabeth! Thank you for your 5-star review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Viking. We loved hosting you, and hope to see you again!
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Cleanliness, location
Disliked: Check-in, communication
First, they keep sending info to the info to the wrong email Second, the tv didn’t work they send acrepair person out but it needed a new router and no on one charter came to replace. Third, the toilet didn’t flush well Fourth, they asked for a 5 star rating. I would like a discount if one nights lodging I have a vrbo rental in August I’m considering canceling
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Mar 2026
We're sorry to see this one-star review. Regarding the check in details email — we apologize for the time it took to clear up the mix up, but you made the booking with an email address you don't use, and that did cause our team some confusion. We also regret the TV/router issue; we are happy to say we have since resolved the issue completely. Maintenance also resolved the toilet flushing problem once it was reported. We do not request five star reviews from renters, but instead alert them to the fact that we want to know when you don't have a five-star stay. It helps us gather the necessary feedback we need to make immediate improvements. We do thank you for this feedback and will use it to improve.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Manzanita beach getaway

We enjoyed our time at the house although, there were a few things that could have been addressed, like the broken screen door which was a bit unsightly. The property manager was responsive when we called upon arrival, but given that the power had been out for over 24 hours already we really would have appreciated the heads up on that. Might have brought some extra flashlights or warm clothing as it was freezing cold. Otherwise, the stay was nice.
Stayed 2 nights in Dec 2022
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Stayed over a holiday weekend… rates were very high

Not bad for normal/average rates. We stayed over a holiday weekend and payed three times the normal rate. The property has a very over grown landscaping with invasive thorny growth. Not ideal for pets. Limited kitchen utensils and pots/pans. Screen missing from side window by dining table. Musty smell immediately noted when entering the property. Signs of mildew in kitchen and bathroom. All soft surfaces should be removed and floors and walls should be treated to remediate this issue. We are moderately sensitive to mildew and couldn’t have stayed in this property longer than we did. Loved the griddle and the mixer! Spacious living space and large table for family. Partial ocean view. Obstructed by a tree across the street (understandably not in the control of the property), still very beautiful. This property has potential but should be renovated for the health and comfort of future guests.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Aug 2025
Hi Rachel. We enjoyed hosting you, but we’re sorry to hear about the concerns with cleanliness, landscaping, and mildew sensitivity. Your comments will be shared with our team for review. We value your booking and hope to provide you with a more polished stay in the future.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Frustrating Issue

We were greeted by 3 different remote controls for the TV and as familiar as we are with a remote for the TV itself, one for the cable and another for ROKU and after spending over an hour between myself and my wife, we could not get anything other than a local network. I sent a message to the host and promptly received an answer but it wasn't helpful. Over the 4 days we were there, we exchanged multiple messages but all failed to enable us to get anything other than that local network. We ended up watching movies on my laptop. A simple written guide would have prevented this frustrating issue. Otherwise, the stay was wonderful and we will definitely go back to the same house.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Dec 2024
Hi Michael! Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and are considering a return visit! We sincerely apologize for the frustrations you experienced with the TV setup. Your suggestion for a written guide is an excellent idea, and we’ll share your comments with our local property team. We appreciate your patience during the exchanges and your feedback, which helps us improve. We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful getaway!
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

DO NOT BOOK!

Walked in and walked right out of this house. There is a company that manages this house, not the home owner. THEY ARE COMPLETELY UNRESPONSIVE. I received no check in information. When check-in day arrived I sent a message on VRBO 10 hours prior to check in, no response. Then again at check-in time. Still no response. Called several numbers, no answer. Fortunately, we found their store front and got check-in information. Upon arrival, we found the inside of this house does not look anything like the pictures. They brightened the pictures at least 5 shades. The wood paneling is actually very dark. The screens on the doors were ripped out. Doors were hard to open due to calcification. Bed sheets were dusty and dingy. The furniture smelled old and musty. The company claimed it's because it was built in the 70's, my house was as well. If it is taken care of properly, it would not have the stench of this place. When we requested a refund, it was denied. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT BOOK WITH THIS COMPANY.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 7 May 2024
Hi Ellie. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding your rental experience. We value your comments as this is how we can improve on behalf of our guests. We researched our correspondence and see on March 18th at 9:17am we emailed a confirmation of your reservation. Our email address, and phone number were listed on the first email which was opened. Our next email with all the check-in details was sent to this same email address on April 5th at 4:01PM. I do see this was opened on April the 6th. We sent out another email on April 12th about updating our check-out times at 2:29pm. This was also opened on April 12th. We sent a new email of check-in details on April 12th at 4:16pm which was also opened. We also sent a text message with your check-in instructions on April 11th at 9:00am. We responded to your VRBO message as well. While we appreciate that sometimes emails and communications get lost in the shuffle, we did make every attempt to get all information required for your reservation to you, prior to arrival. We can be reached via email, text or phone call 24 hours a day. In the event you call and don't reach someone, we are simply on the other line. As far as the condition of the home, we are sorry you did not feel the home was somewhere you wanted to stay. We do have housekeeping and maintenance staff who would have been pleased to come out and do some additional cleaning or maintenance work had we been notified of any issues while checked-in. This is an older coastal home (built in 1977) that is accurately depicted and represented; thus although we are sorry you were not satisfied, management has concluded that no refund is due.
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy

This place is overpriced and needs maintenance

If I'm spending a lot of money I expect a clean, well-maintained space with at least the basic amenities. This home is not being maintained, and no importance is given to how the users navigate it. The lockbox isn't intuitive. We spent way too long figuring out to punch the code in again to replace it. How hard is it to pin up laminated instructions? Or get a digital one that needs no key? There were no potholders or ice cube trays. I requested them and got potholders promptly. I requested ice cube trays again and they responded: "we'll check if there are any extras" We never got any. The blinds are heavy and many have wonky/broken cords. Both screen doors have no screens, are really weathered and crappy looking. They shout "we don't care! Just pay us lots of money!" One of the beds has a rattly metal frame which kept waking me up, and a big dip in the middle. And the "fitted" sheets keep coming off. The mattresses are nice and thick but the sheets are too small. Buy some new ones! The place was mostly clean, but no one has touched under the wood stove in months. Gross. There were 7 remote controls arrayed on the tiny coffee table. No instructions anywhere. My husband wanted to watch MNF but we couldn't get any channel except Fox. The lack of instructions just screams "we don't care!" The peekaboo view is pretty minimal. Don't waste your money on this place unless you really don't care about these daily annoyances and plan to be at the beach 12 hours a day.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Oct 2023
Hi Tess. We enjoyed hosting you, but we are sorry to hear you were not fully satisfied with your stay at The Viking. We appreciate your feedback, and have shared your comments with our local property team as we are always striving to provide our guests with an excellent rental experience. We do see that you contacted us on the 3rd day of your stay requesting pot holders and ice trays, but there was no mention of any other issues. Had we been notified, we would have gladly sent our maintenance/housekeeping team over to address the blinds and bed frame as well as help with the TV. We value your booking, and can only hope we have the opportunity to host you in another Meredith Lodging home in the future.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 24 Feb 2025
Hi Bruce! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Viking and hope to have the chance to host you again!
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback