Entire home

Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes

Photo gallery for Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes

A wooden deck with a hot tub, a wooden deck chair, and a wooden table.
A coastal residential area with multi-story houses, a small detached house with a deck, and a clear view of the ocean.
A wooden shed with a door, a hose, and a small step leading to a porch.
A kitchen with wooden cabinets, a microwave, stove, sink, and a dining area with chairs and a table.
A compact living space with a dining area, kitchenette, and a sofa by a window.

Reviews

9.2 out of 10
Wonderful

Highlights

  • The great outdoors
    Guests love the outdoor space here.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Close to Rodanthe Beach

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Balcony
  • Spa pool on site
  • Barbecue
  • Internet access
  • Air-conditioning

Explore the area

View map
Rodanthe, NC
  • Place, Rodanthe Beach
    ‪2 min walk‬
  • Place, Rodanthe Pier
    ‪3 min walk‬
  • Place, Pamlico Sound
    ‪6 min walk‬
  • Airport, Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional)
    ‪41 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

Bedroom with a Bunk Set

1 Single Bunk Bed

Bedroom with a Double Bed

1 Double Bed

Queen Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

1 bathroom

Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Rodanthe

Located on the beach, this holiday home is in South Rodanthe, a neighbourhood in Rodanthe. The area's natural beauty can be seen at Outer Banks Beaches and Cape Hatteras National Seashore. Ocean Air Sports and Hatteras Island Boardsports are also worth visiting. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with horse riding and ecotours nearby.
Map
Rodanthe, NC

What's nearby

  • Rodanthe Beach - 2 min walk - 0.2 km
  • Rodanthe Pier - 3 min walk - 0.3 km
  • Outer Banks Kites - 5 min walk - 0.4 km
  • Pamlico Sound - 6 min walk - 0.6 km
  • Waves Village Watersports Resort Adventure Activities - 6 min walk - 0.6 km

Getting around

  • Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional) - 43 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪Dough Shack - ‬11 min walk
  • ‪Watermen's Bar & Grill - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Good Winds Seafood & Wine Bar - ‬6 min walk
  • ‪Waves Coffee & Candies - ‬6 min walk
  • ‪Dairy Queen - ‬2 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes?

As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes on 1 Nov 2026 start from AU$1,095, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Oceanside, Beach Access, Hot Tub, Dog Friendly, Rodanthe Pier Passes located?

Nestled on the beach, this South Rodanthe holiday home is within a 5-minute walk of Rodanthe Beach and Rodanthe Pier. Pamlico Sound and Waves Village Watersports Resort Adventure Activities are also within 10 minutes.

Reviews

9.2

Wonderful

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 83 out of 115 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 23 out of 115 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 4 out of 115 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 115 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 3 out of 115 reviews

8.8/10

Cleanliness

10/10

Check-in

9.6/10

Communication

9.8/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great location in a charming cottage.
Stayed 6 nights in Mar 2026
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house is very cute and the hot tub was fun! It just wasn’t really very clean even when we first got there.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
The house had its good qualities, instant hot water, good water pressure, the bed we used was really comfortable. We had an infestation of ants as well as fly when we arrived, the inside of the house has lots of damage some of which is water damage. It has the smell of mold as well. There was some kinda of animal in there or was just removed because the furniture had been gnawed and chewed and it was all on the floor. The sliding door up front did not work, and we were not allowed to open the windows of the house either because they did not work or there was a sign that said "do not open". There was a used bandaid in the hot-tub. The road for the pier stays extremely busy all day and night.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We love this cottage and have returned several times—and will come again! We love the convenient location to the beach and pier, the hot tub, the outdoor shower and the cottage is very well stocked with everything we need.
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great family vacation

Great location, perfect for our family.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Feb 2022
Thanks for the awesome review. We look forward to your next visit.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The rental property was nice - great location! Responsive property group.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fabulous birthday trip

Spent the week with my sister and our husbands for a birthday celebration and this house was perfect for us….perfect location and had everything we needed. I have stayed here before and hope to stay again!
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Loved it!

The house was just what we needed for our family getaway.
Stayed 5 nights in Feb 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Mar 2020
Thank you! It always makes us smile when families enjoy our cottage. Mike and Denise
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Our favorite place

We have stayed at cottage on the pier several times. We love it. Perfect location close to everything, nicely equipped and the hot tub and outdoor shower are my favorite perks! We will be back!
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Time!

The house was clean and the location was great! We really appreciated the pier passes and use of the hot tub. The owners were great with communication and we had a wonderful visit. This was the perfect size for our family of 4 to spend time in the Outer Banks!
Stayed 12 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 27 July 2021
Sarah, Thank you! We are so happy you and your family had a great vacation. We hope you will come again. Mike and Denise Cottage By The Pier
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Fishing all the time

My husband and son only care about fishing. This house was the perfect location. From the pond in the backyard to the pier down the street, I don’t think either one of them ever set their fishing poles down.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Christmas 2021

A nice relaxing Christmas together with family at the beach. It was very special and memorable.
Stayed 4 nights in Dec 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Feb 2022
Thank you for the great review. There is nothing like spending Christmas at the beach! We welcome you for any of your family holidays!
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A quiet little bongolo

A quiet street close to everything, (fishing pier, beach and bars/restaurants. Great facilities but could use some fresh paint in the rooms, and outdoor shower needs some floor boards replaced. Would return if in the area
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2024
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

The week we didn’t know we needed!

This was the most peaceful week in a beautiful spot. We loved the cottage and its location to the pier and shoreline. The days passed too quickly! We will be back Rodanthe to the CBTP!!❤️
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Awesome Mini Vaca

Very much enjoyed our stay at The cottage By the Pier in Rodanthe. Cottage was wonderful. clean and had everything we needed. Hot tub was the high light. Neighborhood was quiet and friendly. Rodanthe is loveley. thank you so much.
Stayed 8 nights in Dec 2019
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

OBX 2022

The property was a fair price for a small group. The house was sized perfectly for a small group. The location, was a 10 minute walk to the shore. The house came with a free week pass to Rodanthe Fishing pier, which I used every day. Only really knock, there seems to be a slight ant issue with the house, not terrible, but it's still there.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Oct 2022
Thank you for the awesome review. We work hard to meet expectations like yours, and we’re happy to hear we hit the mark. We look forward to your next visit.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Perfect Getaway

We loved the location! Having the fishing pier within walking distance was GREAT! The cottage was very comfortable. I didn’t feel like I was at pricey DON’T touch that type of place. If we had more than the 3 of us , seating would have been tricky. Only a couch and a rocking chair but in all honesty how much time do you spend inside anyway? The hot tub was such a threat bonus! Outdoor shower is so fun to have! It was a cute basic home away from home and that was WINDERFUL for us!
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2024
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location

Rodanthe Oct’23

Location close to beach / pier. House needs some TLC…vents had black dust blown out along paint. AC stopped working / froze over and needed a full day to defrost and get fixed which were essentially the 2 full days we were there (not incl arrival/depart days). At night heater made burning smell and set off smoke detector at 2am. All fixed the day before we left. Hot tub was very nice. Some light bulbs were out / not checked before arrival
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Good Enough

It was farther from the beach than we anticipated and the cottage needs some general repair work done. There wasn't anywhere for us to put our food when we bought it from the store and the closets are filled with all sorts of stuff that prevent you from being able to stash your luggage away. There are no overhead lights in the bedrooms but that really only effects older people like us. I guess overall you're just supposed to be happy that you got to stay at the beach for a couple of days. The weather was awesome and the little mini concerts on the Rhodante Peir were fun.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2024
Archival

10/10 Excellent

AMAZING!!!!

I would just like to thank Michael and Denise Holbrook for having such a beautiful Home. Everything you will possibly need for your trip is in this house. We stayed during the week of Thanksgiving. The owners were so thoughtful and even left us a turkey roasting pan and thanksgiving napkins. It’s the little things like that that make the Cottage By The Pier and its owners amazing. The cottage is just enough space for a cozy get away. It was absolutely spotless. The first night in the hot tub which was up to temperature completely without even asking was amazing. We chose the cottage because of it’s easy access to fishing off the pier. The owners even went above and beyond with purchasing a season pier pass for anyone that stays at the cottage. That means it is free everyday to fish off the pier and you do not even need a license. My son and I had the most amazing time, catching everything you could imagine off the pier. If you’re looking for a wonderful place to stay in the Outer Banks I highly recommend The Cottage By The Pier.
Stayed 7 nights in Nov 2017
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Mar 2020
Thank you for such a wonderful review and for being such a great guest. It does our hearts good to know that the cottage is loved not just by us, but by our guests also. We hope to see you again at our Cottage By The Pier. Mike and Denise P.S. Mike wants to know what you caught and the type of bait you used!!,
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Cottage by the Pier

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in Rodanthe. We knew ahead of time about the weather. It rained the entire 4 days and was very cold. However, Cottage by the Pier gave us a great escape with our fur baby. The description given about the house and location was spot on. The house was very clean. The beds were very comfortable and the shower had great water pressure. We didn’t really utilize the kitchen but it looked as if everything you needed was provided and then some. TV’s worked great and since we currently stream at home it made using this service extremely easy, internet worked great as well. The pier was closed for repairs but we still managed in the rain to enjoy walking to the beach. Not sure if it’s the echo due to surrounding homes but we could hear the waves crashing on the surf. Even though your not oceanfront you can certainly enjoy the sound. The walk is literally about 2 minutes from the house. There is a small canal behind the house for fishing but due to the weather we didn’t venture out there. The hot tub made our weekend. We’ve stayed in other places that have hot tubs but not as good. This one is definitely like a personal residential hot tub and was very clean. On a downside there was a small construction dumpster in the driveway so you couldn’t pull up to the steps during the rain, it was ok just annoying at times. We would absolutely stay here again.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 16 Feb 2021
The dumpster has been removed. It was left by the roofing company after the new roof was finished. It was an oversight on their part. Driveway is now clear and guests can pull right up to the stairs. Thank you
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, location
Disliked: Communication

Great proximity to the beach but…

Pros: location was perfect! Beach access was less than a 5 min walk. It made it easy to just carry beach items to and from with ease; The hot tub was great. Great position, you can really feel the ocean breeze which makes it very comfortable at night. Kitchen was nicely stocked plenty of pots, pans, etc.This house is a cottage so when you are cooking, it heats up fast so just be aware of this. We had to adjust the thermostat a couple of times because of this. Cons: Unfortunately this house has roaches. Small and big ones. We saw at least 3 while we were there. We thought it was a one off but we kept seeing them. We killed two but could not find the other one. We woke up to one almost in the bed. We called the office that morning and made them aware and they said they would send out pest control but they did not come. This was very troubling. They said it’s because the temperature was changing but we have stayed in various houses in the area over the years during this time frame because it’s my birthday week and we have never saw any roaches. Never! Also, the pictures are not updated! We chose this house because it appeared that no other houses were close. With COVID, this was a big sell; however, when we arrived we realized that this was a packed neighborhood and there are two houses being built right beside this house. One night they were outside working until 9p. This was our first time staying here but it will probably be our last. We really enjoyed the beach access being so close and overall loved the feel of the house, but with the bugs and poor response to the situation, I doubt we will rent this house again!
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Feb 2022
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear you had a frustrating experience, but we appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention. We would love the opportunity to ensure your next stay exceeds your expectations. We would love to make things right.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The house is located perfectly for families, just a short walk to the beach and peir or a arcade and restaurants. House was clean and perfect for a small family get away.
Stayed 7 nights in May 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

Don’t Bother With this place. Stay somewhere/anywhere else

Roaches, Mold and Filthy is how I would summarize this rental. We left a day early because we could not sleep another night with one eye opened watching out for roaches. The pictures for this rental are from years ago. The couch was gross. It needs replaced or a cover put over it. It would only take some repairs and a deep cleaning after extermination of the roaches. To make this rental worth renting. We loved the location but could not take the gross factor.
Stayed 6 nights in Oct 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct 2022
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We regret to hear about the items you were unsatisfied with. Your feedback will be used to make the necessary improvements.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great Stay at the Cozy Cottage by the Sea

Overall excellent, we prefer smaller homes and this one was perfect for the 3 of us adults. Well stocked with more than enough of what we needed, nice to have a washer/dryer, very comfortable beds, clean, cozy, and we spent every day in the jacuzzi, the extra added bonus that made our stay extra special. The one problem we had was a rude neighbor who installed an extremely bright spotlight pointed directly at our beach house which ruined our enjoyment of the front porch and jacuzzi at night time. It lit up four houses and the whole street and kept blinking off and on, the neighbors spotlights were an extreme annoyance, however this wasn't the fault of our hosts, we just wish neighbors would be more courteous and realize bright spotlights are horribly irritating. We wish the neighbors would be more conscientious of those around them, but other than that we enjoyed our stay very much and would stay again.
Stayed 8 nights in Sep 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 2 Oct 2022
Thanks for taking the time to leave us feedback. We are happy to hear your family enjoyed the size and amenities of Cottage by the Sea. We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience with the neighbor's light.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback