Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes

Photo gallery for Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes

A spacious living area with a wooden staircase, a sofa, a dining table, and a ceiling fan.
A cozy living room with a sofa, a coffee table with a chess set, and a striped chair.
A macrame hammock hanging in a room with a concrete floor and wooden beams.
A spacious living area with a dining table, sofa, and TV. A staircase leads to an upper level.
A spacious living room with a high ceiling, a dining area, and a staircase leading to an upper level.

Reviews

7.6 out of 10
Good

Highlights

  • Beach equipment
    A rare find — beach equipment ready to go for your days by the sea.
  • Discover nearby landmarks
    Walk to Kitty Hawk Beach

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Arcade/game room
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Washing machine

Explore the area

View map
Kill Devil Hills, NC
  • Place, Kill Devil Hills Beach
    ‪8 min walk‬
  • Place, Avalon Fishing Pier
    ‪8 min walk‬
  • Place, Kitty Hawk Beach
    ‪9 min walk‬
  • Airport, Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional)
    ‪31 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 6)

2nd Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

3rd Bedroom

2 Single Beds

Master Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

2 bathrooms

1st Floor Bathroom

Toilet · Shower only

2nd Floor Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Toilet

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Office
Balcony
Outdoor play area
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Kill Devil Hills

Located in Avalon Beach, a neighbourhood in Kill Devil Hills, this holiday home is near a water park and near the beach. Paradise Fun Park and Professor Hacker's Lost Treasure Golf are local attractions and those in the mood for shopping can visit Outer Banks Mall and Scarborough Lane Shoppes. Travelling with kids? Consider Full Throttle Speedway and Mutiny Bay Adventure Golf. Spend some time exploring the area's activities, including whale watching, birdwatching and fishing.
Map
Kill Devil Hills, NC

What's nearby

  • Kill Devil Hills Beach - 8 min walk - 0.7 km
  • Avalon Fishing Pier - 8 min walk - 0.7 km
  • Kitty Hawk Beach - 9 min walk - 0.8 km
  • Jolly Roger Restaurant - 15 min walk - 1.3 km
  • Professor Hacker's Lost Treasure Golf - 2 min drive - 2.7 km

Getting around

  • Manteo, NC (MEO-Dare County Regional) - 26 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪The Jolly Roger Restaurant - ‬17 min walk
  • ‪Barefoot Bernie's Tropical Grill & Bar - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Circle K - ‬18 min walk
  • ‪Henry's Beef & Seafood Restaurant - ‬2 min drive
  • ‪Ashley’s Espresso Parlour - ‬19 min walk

Frequently asked questions

Is Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes pet-friendly?

No, pets are not allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes?

As of 1 Nov 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes on 4 Nov 2026 start from AU$1,829, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Laid-Back OBX Retreat with Hammocks,Foosball & Bikes located?

This family-friendly Kill Devil Hills holiday home is located by the sea, within a 10-minute walk of Avalon Fishing Pier and Kill Devil Hills Beach. Paradise Fun Park and Kitty Hawk Beach are also within 1 mile (2 km).

Reviews

7.6

Good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 11 out of 21 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 2 out of 21 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 3 out of 21 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 21 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 3 out of 21 reviews

7.4/10

Cleanliness

8.4/10

Check-in

7.6/10

Communication

8.6/10

Location

8.2/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Great
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Very nice place. Ness communicated well with me. The over sink light in the downstairs bedroom was not working. Someone was sent out but they were unable to fix the problem. We made do with the short time we were there. The utility room was stocked with beach goodies . I loved the carport area which had swings and chairs for relaxing.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful place to stay

My family and I enjoyed our stay at this home. Very nice and a great location.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2023
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

First time OBXer

Excellent stay with my kids, lots of amenities for kids, and a well maintained house. Vanessa was very responsive to all the questions. We really enjoyed our stay!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Beautiful stay

Very clean and neat. Everything just as described. Kitchen was fully stocked. Location was the best, right in the middle of everything! Grateful to have been able to stay here & hope to stay again!
Stayed 38 nights in May 2023
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy
I tend to not write reviews but this place is worth letting people know. The photos of this property are very outdated. The mulch and sand are both gone in the back yard and weeds are over growing everywhere. The back deck is in terrible shape and also looks nothing compared to the listed photos. The fridge was not working for the first day of our stay for over 24 hours. The owner of the property gave us access to a room (which I thought was included with our stay to begin with) after I had contacted her about the fridge. We used coolers from the room and purchased ice out of our pocket for our groceries to save our groceries. She said she would reimburse us for the ice. After our stay was almost complete she said she had someone coming out to look at the fridge but it would not be until after our stay was complete. I addressed all of these issue to her and she said she would reimburse our grocery expenses. I sent her the total we spent on groceries and never heard from her again and never received said reimbursement. Overall a nice house but the cleaning was horrible, photos not up to date, and unreliable owner of property. Will not be choosing this person for next years stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Do not book with this person. They never communicated with me about gaining entry into the property. I called multiple times. Eventually, I had to cancel and VRBO refunded me, leaving me and our group nearly stranded in OBX.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

would not do again

When we got to our destination it was not clean AT ALL. Food was left in the fridge, trash was in the (overgrown) yard, and there was writing on the pillowcases. We immediately sent the host pictures at which point they promised to contact the cleaning crew and get back to us—which they never did. After our vacation we requested that they waive the cleaning fee and they said that they would not and also implied that we were lying about the condition of the home because their cleaning crew sent them different photos. Very disappointed with the communication with the host overall and would not stay here again.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Jan 2025
Upon arrival, the guest sent us a picture of one plastic bag that had blown into the yard, a small black container on the top shelf of what was obviously a clean fridge and a pillow case in the children’s bedroom that had the word “Sports” written in pen. We communicated to the guest that we would reach out to the cleaners but the photos that were submitted after the cleaning on the day did not match the photos that they sent. We cannot control trash that can be blown into our yard but certainly hope that guests can understand that and have no issues sending the cleaners over to pick it up. We offered to have the pillowcases swapped out but the guests stated that they just wanted to let us know so they wouldn’t be charged any damage fees. On their last day they then sent a message stating that they enjoyed their stay and that if we would waive the cleaning fee she would leave us an ok review. We then let the guest know that we would like her to leave whatever review she felt to leave and we would not be waiving the fee due to the messages prior. This is review extortion.
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Liked: Location
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

Not as listed - in need of TLC

We were very disappointed in the accommodations versus the house listing. We are regulars to the OBX area. From the very start our stay began on a bad note. We were not sent the check in code. We messaged and called the owner for 30 minutes while sitting outside the house in 90 degree weather with fresh groceries in our car. I also spoke with VRBO customer service who said it was the responsibility of the owner to send check in instructions, not theirs as the owner had shared with us once we did get in touch after numerous calls and voicemails. The house was dirty. Floors had not been mopped, our socks were black from walking without shoes. There was a dirty washcloth sitting on the floor in the 2nd floor bedroom when we walked in. The TV in the 1st floor bedroom did not work, outdoor shower door did not open, coffee machine was barley functioning. The list goes on. The house itself is nice but clearly is not well maintained and cleaned regularly. For the price we paid, the expectations were not met. I would not recommend staying here nor would I book again.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Jan 2025
Their code was sent around 4:30 due to issues beyond our control. There was issues connecting with the VRBO platform. We explained this and apologized. There was no communication from the guest after that. The house is cleaned after every checkout and reviewed with photos sent before checkin. To make these complaints and not reach out to have them addressed during your stay is weird for lack of a better word.
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Location
Disliked: Check-in, communication
Communication goes a long way. Was given no prior check in or out instructions until I messaged after the check in time. It looked as if the cleaning people left in a hurry. Cleaning supplies weren't put away. Cigarette butts left all over ths patio. Mop water was left in the kitchen sink with all the dirt. When I asked about the washer and dryer I was told it was available upon request, as well as the beach items- bikes, wagon etc. Even though they are listed as amenities on the listing. Last night got locked out of the house. The door lock wasn't working. Took a while to get a response with little to no help. Eventually my husband climbed to the second balcony and one of the sliders was left unlocked. The listing has fooseball and games listed, but they are missing most of the pieces. The backyard is over grown and not useable as shown in the pictures. Overall it got us through our weekend stay but would not stay here again.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2026
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, listing accuracy

We had a great visit, loved the house. Can’t walk to the beach because of busy 4 lane main road.

House was exactly as expected. Had everything we needed to cook our meals and was super cute & cozy. Outdoor shower was great! While it’s close to the beach, we were disappointed it wasn’t really walkable due to two main roads to get there, one being a four lane busy highway type :(. Outdoor table and chairs on deck were perfect for hanging out and letting kids play & eating family dinners. Great stay overall.
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Very pleasant stay

The house was clean and very pretty. Modern and stylish design, all as described, good place to relax and enjoy.
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Week vacation

It was a great property- as advertised.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful retreat

We had a wonderful week in OBX with this location as our home base. The home was extremely clean, many modern amenities and furnishings, and the host was great with communication. We've never stayed in such a well stocked VRBO. We are used to having to bringing tissues, toilet paper, garbage bags, towels, etc., but this home had all of this and more. We drove to the beaches as a family of four with lots of stuff and a busy highway without a nearby crosswalk to use, and we never had issues with parking. We really enjoyed our stay at this house.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great location for activities...

This VRBO is centrally located on the Outer Banks and made for easy access to all the activities we wanted to do as a family. The property had some minor issues that were communicated to the property owner and they were quick to be remedied. I would highly recommend this property for families looking for a place to stay who plan to do activities up and down the coast.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2022
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Disliked: Location

Uninvited guests

Warning: cleaners showed up unannounced morning of checkout and almost 3 hours before checkout at 11am. We were going for coffee a little after 8am with plans to take one last walk on the beach and clean up before checkout at 11am. We left and went around the block because I forgot something . A car was in the driveway with a woman smoking and when I asked who she was, she said they were the cleaners and she would get the other people out of the house!! There were two men inside the property with no announcement to us. Luckily we had prepackage most of our stuff but what if my wife had stayed to take a shower while I was picking up coffee?! We called the property manager and she apologized but seemed totally unconcerned and defensive about this situation which really ruined our weekend stay. Overall the property is as advertised and was clean and cute and close to many things. The neighborhood the property is not in a great area but ok.
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

July Stay

The check in was simple, the home was clean and comfortable for us. They left welcome snacks too! Vanessa was a Wonderful host
Stayed 2 nights in Jul 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

OBX Vacation

Fantastic house...great vacation. We covered the whole island and beyond with a ferry ride to Ocracoke. The Wright Brothers Memorial is an incredible monument to the American dream. We had an awesome time.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Relaxing getaway

We enjoyed this property that is so close to many attractions, the beach, and walking paths. Very clean and comfortable home. The host was very responsive to need that came up and valued us having an enjoyable stay.
Stayed 6 nights in May 2021
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in
Disliked: Cleanliness, communication
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2026
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2026
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback