Entire home

Family & pet friendly, homey beachfront Cottage, Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

Photo gallery for Family & pet friendly, homey beachfront Cottage, Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast

A wooden deck with two lounge chairs and a small table, overlooking a lake with a forested shoreline.
A spacious living room with a high ceiling, wooden beams, a fireplace, a dining area with chairs, and a television.
A rustic wooden archway leading to a building with a stone pathway.
A rustic cabin with a porch, outdoor seating, and a garden area with mulch and plants.
A bedroom with a large bed, a wooden dresser, a mirror, and a sliding glass door leading to a deck with outdoor furniture.

Reviews

8.4 out of 10
Very good

Highlights

  • Family fun awaits
    Top-rated for families.
  • On the beach
    A rare beachfront property in the area - enjoy direct access to the beach and sea.

Popular amenities

  • On beach
  • Spa services on site
  • Balcony
  • Spa pool on site
  • Dog-friendly
  • Toys

Explore the area

View map
Halfmoon Bay, BC
  • Place, Secret Cove Falls Trail Recreation Site
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Coopers Green Park
    ‪2 min drive‬
  • Place, Smuggler Cove Marine Provincial Park
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Airport, Sechelt, BC (YHS-Sunshine Coast Regional)
    ‪31 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

4 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Den

1 Queen Bed

Master Bedroom

1 Queen Bed

Mini-Suite

1 Single Bed and 1 Double Bed

3 bathrooms

Beach Cottage - 2nd Bathroom

Bathtub or shower · Bathtub · Toilet

Beach Cottage Master Bath

Bathtub or shower · Bathtub · Toilet

Yurt Bath House

Toilet · Shower only

Spaces

Deck or patio
Kitchen
Balcony
Garden
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Have a question?

AI iconBeta

Get instant answers with AI powered search of property information and reviews.

Similar properties

About the area

Halfmoon Bay

Located in Halfmoon Bay, this cottage is on the beach. Secret Cove Falls Trail Recreation Site and Smuggler Cove Marine Provincial Park reflect the area's natural beauty and area attractions include Sunshine Coast Botanical Garden and Sechelt Aquatic Centre. Baker Beach Park and Chapman Creek Hatchery are also worth visiting. Take in the nearby slopes with cross-country skiing and skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as sledging and snowmobiling.
Map
Halfmoon Bay, BC

What's nearby

  • Secret Cove Falls Trail Recreation Site - 2 min drive - 2.2 km
  • Coopers Green Park - 2 min drive - 2.6 km
  • Smuggler Cove Marine Provincial Park - 4 min drive - 2.9 km
  • Pender Harbour - 20 min drive - 23.5 km
  • Gibsons Marina - 46 min drive - 45.1 km

Getting around

  • Pender Harbour, BC (YPT-Pender Harbour Waterdrome) - 17 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪La Bettolina - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Upper Deck Cafe - ‬5 min drive
  • ‪Four Winds Beach House and Spa - ‬9 min drive
  • ‪Bleeding Bush Camp - ‬4 min drive
  • ‪Tubird at the Rockwater - ‬7 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Family & pet friendly, homey beachfront Cottage, Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast pet-friendly?

Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 9 kg per pet. Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.

How much is parking at Family & pet friendly, homey beachfront Cottage, Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Family & pet friendly, homey beachfront Cottage, Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Family & pet friendly, homey beachfront Cottage, Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast?

Checkout is at 11:00 AM.

Where is Family & pet friendly, homey beachfront Cottage, Halfmoon Bay, Sunshine Coast located?

Nestled on the beach, this Halfmoon Bay cottage is within 3 mi (5 km) of Secret Cove Falls Trail Recreation Site, Coopers Green Park and Buccaneer Marina. Secret Cove Marina and Smuggler Cove Marine Provincial Park are also within 3 miles (5 km).

Reviews

8.4

Very good

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 10 out of 17 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 3 out of 17 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 1 out of 17 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 17 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 17 reviews

8.2/10

Cleanliness

8.0/10

Amenities

8.0/10

Property conditions & facilities

9.4/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

10/10

Location

9.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Beautiful spot. Perfect for a weekend away!
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The kitchen was fully equipped. There were lots of towels, blankets, everything we needed. Clean rooms, great ocean view. Beautiful area.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2026
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful Stay

Had a great stay at halfmoon haven, there was lots of room for our family.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
We all fell in love with this spot right away!!! We saw whales, clean beach, beautiful sunset, roomy and comfy cabin. We will be back for sure!!
Stayed 2 nights in Nov 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The beach we stayed on was absolutely beautiful. I wish communication was clearer regarding which amenities were shared between the rental cottages and which amenities were private for those staying in our cottage. Having alternating hours meant that we used it much less than we would have liked to. But the cottage was sweet and comfortable. Sharper knives would've also been appreciated for ease of cooking!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2025
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A West Coast Paradise

A peaceful, charming, cozy well furnished yet spacious environment for us 6 mature friends just a few steps to the beach which we were able to walk every day.The view from the big dining room window was stunning, enhanced by the beautiful sunsets. The hot tub was big enough for us all. We loved the infra red sauna.The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to prepare, cook and store our food. Chris, our host was very warm and spent time filling us in with information about the area and the ocean's inhabitants.We all agreed that we would highly recommend it to our friends.
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2025
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities, communication
The views and location was fantastic! The beds were very comfortable. The sliding door was in need of attention. The kitchen was well stocked except for salt and the fridge took a good 15 hrs to cool down but then froze our produce. The oven was unpredictable and did not keep a proper temperature.The hottub never was used by us because it was cloudy and dirty even after contacting the owner. I would definately rent this property again as it hit all my desires, except the hot tub.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Absolute paradise!

I've stayed at many retreats, resorts and B+Bs in my travels and I have to say that Halfmoon Haven ranks at the top of my list. My friends and I keep coming back here - we jokingly call it our second home! It's a short, easy, beautiful journey from Vancouver, but it feels a million miles away...it truly feels like home away from home thanks to all the TLC that's been put into this property. We've stayed in both the cottage and the suite and both are wonderful: very comfortably furnished and clean, with all the amenities we ever need. Both have absolutely stunning ocean views, with big patios equipped for outdoor dining and sunsets accompanied by wine. We like to begin and end each day in the big hot tub overlooking the sea - paradise! Chris and Jenn are wonderful, gracious hosts who always go out of their way to meet any requests we have before and during our stay. Jenn's Hawaiian "lomi lomi" massage heavenly and unlike any other kind of massage! Sooo relaxing. It's also excellent value! A treat beyond words. The natural beauty there is stunning - another factor that keeps us coming back. We love walking on the quiet beach right in front of the property and having a fire in the beachfront fire pit at night. The stars are wonderful. Anyway, I can't recommend Halfmoon Haven enough. We've spoken with many guests who return again and again because they know they need not look any further for what they want. Truly a wonderful place!
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Mar 2020
Mary, thank you so much for your amazing comments, we are so honoured to have such a sacred space to share with our valued guests who come from all over the world.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

A piece of paradise

A wonderful experience! Chris was friendly and communicative. I would highly recommend this property.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2022
Verified review

6/10 Okay

Liked: Check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Cleanliness

Amazing Beach Location

This Vrbo has all the amenities you need for a comfortable stay on the coast! The selling feature is the breathtaking view and amazing location right on the beach. The outdoor space easily accommodated our 8 person family, and most of our time was spent outside enjoying the outdoor environment. The only thing that was disappointing about our stay was the lack of cleanliness of the inside space. There were dead insects, dust, and cobwebs throughout the cabin and large amounts of food left on "clean" dishes in the cupboards. Additionally, remnants from the previous group were left behind such as a foul smelling 1/2 full giant green waste bin in the kitchen, and recycling bottles stacked outside the cabin door. It was almost as if it hadn't been cleaned at all. However, this didn't impact our family having a terrific time utilizing this rustic and charming beach cottage in a prime location.
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Can’t beat the ocean views

Superb location
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

No refund issued for a suite the owner double booked

We booked this entire property, which consists of a suite in the main house (deluxe suite), mini-suite in the cottage, and the cottage. We booked in Oct 2017 for our family reunion in July for 8 adults and 4 children. This is Chris's msg on VRBO booking system, "I have updated your quote to add in the full deluxe suite which will give you the full six bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and two kitchen areas. This will also give you the full property including hot tub exclusively to your family and there will be no other guest on-site". We paid the higher updated quote. Chris called 2 nights before our stay to say he had double booked us due to a glitch in the booking system, and that we didn't have the deluxe suite. We had family in flight from Saskatoon and Portland. We stated that since we booked first, Chris needed to cancel the other reservation. He refused. Instead, he said he would substitute a tent and a beach house suite (which turned out to be a hut with a mattress on the floor and no bathroom). We said this was not acceptable and that he was breaking our contract. He said instead of the tent he would give us an RV (the RV turned out to be a dirty old motor home from the 80's with no toilet). Instead of getting six bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and two kitchens, we received 1 kitchen, 4 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, a hut with no toilet and a broken screen door that let in mosquitoes, and an old RV with no toilet. Two of the adults ended up sleeping on the floor in the cottage instead of the RV. We were really cramped only having the beach cottage as we only had 2 bathrooms and 1 kitchen (and a small bar fridge). My husband and I took the hut. My choice in the night was to pee outside the hut or walk over to the cottage and step over sleeping bodies. Kitchen was not stocked, the whole property was run-down, and I found a pair of dirty panties at the top of the hut mattress (not mine!). We did not get the privacy we were promised as the other family got the suite we were supposed to have. We made the best of it, and after the holiday we asked for our money back since we didn't get the suite. He offered a pittance back b/c he said we should have been charged way more in the first place. Then, he wrote again and told us he wasn't going to refund any money at all. We expected the deluxe suite which we didn't get. He double dipped and got money from us and the other family who ended up getting the deluxe suite. He committed, in short, fraud.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2018
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Mar 2020
Hi Ev, I am the owner and operator of Halfmoon Haven and I would like to address your review in detail as it has already been red flagged on VRBO as a false and slanderous review. I am truly sorry that you are not satisfied as we did try to make many concessions to make your family vacation enjoyable. I am very surprised that you have written a false review as I have addressed all of your issues in writing on 3 separate occasions and have compensated you over $1000 off the regular price you would have paid for your rentals, plus offered you 3 extra rooms and extra bathrooms, since the extra unit you requested was already booked. It should be noted very clearly that you ONLY booked the Beach Cottage through VRBO and you DID NOT book the deluxe suite. If you had booked both units you would have received a second booking confirmation and it would have cost you an additional $2000. I would like to start off by saying in 18 years of business you are the very first negative review we have every received. Almost all of our reviews have been very positive and we consistently receive 4 or 5 star reviews. We are also the #1 vacation rental property on the Sunshine Coast (on average we are occupied 3X's more then any other vacation rental on the Sunshine Coast) and we have consistently had the same families return every year as they love our space, services, amenities and our beautiful sandy beach. Which is also why we are booked out a year in advance, with a very long waiting list in our high season. It was our Res. Manager who discovered that you only had the cottage booked and got a hold of me two days prior to your arrival. I contacted you immediately and gave you three extra rooms at NO CHARGE, so you still had the same amount of rooms you originally booked. You were now actually saving over $1000 with the extra units you were given as well as we waived the cleaning fee and your damage deposit.. I also gave you the option to cancel and you choose to keep your amended booking. You then arrived at our space you said it was great and you even sent me a text 5 days into your holiday you stated "Things are going well for us". We did not hear from you until two weeks after your stay and got a very threatening/ blackmailing email to extort $1400 from us. We called VRBO and they said not to payout any money from false treats. In conclusion you got all the rooms you originally requested at $1000 less to compensate for you for any inconvenience. Sincerely, Chris
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Beautiful renovations, spacious, phenomenal view, great location.

Loved our time at Halfmoon Haven- the only problem was we should have booked a longer stay!
Archival

10/10 Excellent

Peaceful, beautiful, and amazing!

This was our first time staying on the Sunshine Coast, and it was by far one of the best family vacations we have been on. The accomadations were great, and there were no problems what so ever. Everything was clean and up to date. Now the view was the best part. Ocean front and spectacular, there are no words to explain the view, you can only see for yourself. The owners were also very nice and made us feel very welcome. The food was well stocked and the needed appliances and kitchen utensils were there. Halfmoon Haven was great for my kids and my older mother. My family and I will definitely be staying here again in the near future. Cheers
Archival

10/10 Excellent

A visit to paradise

I went to Halfmoon Haven with my wife and had a wonderful five days. We stayed in the main house, which is large and roomy. Our bedroom had a beautiful view of the ocean and we woke to the calming sound of Mother ocean. The property is on Welcome Beach, which is the best beach on the Sunshine Coast. We enjoyed late nights in the hot tub, looking up at the stars and completely relaxing. The owners, Chris and Jenn Fletcher, are very welcoming and helpful. There are many old growth forests nearby and hikes and we could go into Sechelt for a delicous dinner, a few minutes down the road. We highly recommend Halfmoon Haven to others. It feels like a spiritual and healing place where you can be nurtured and enjoy the beauty of nature.
Archival

4/10 Poor

Not at this moment as advertised

This is a lovely site with lovely potential, but it is currently somewhat run down, and not as the pictures would imply, nor are all services advertised given. I would not exclude this as a possible rental--there are many plusses--but find out from the owners if they have addressed recent problems before you rent. If they have, go for it!
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Mar 2020
Dear valued guest, thank you for your feedback and you will be pleased to know we have closed for our low season to do full upgrades to both our deluxe suite and our beach cottage. We will be re-opening in April with brand new fixtures, appliances and extra amenities. Plus you will always have your million dollar beachfront view.
Archival

4/10 Poor

Pay for the view

While the sunshine coast is a beautiful place to visit, I will not be choosing Halfmoon Haven again. The view was amazing from the beach front cottage, as well as from the hot tub (when it was functioning), but it pretty much stops there. With a poorly stocked kitchen, furniture that was dirty, cluttered living spaces, and a generally run-down cottage (with a leaky roof), I would recommend this rental only if you plan on spending the majority of your day at the beach and don't mind getting rained on through the roof while you sleep. I felt it was overpriced as well.
Response from VrboOwner on 20 Mar 2020
Dear valued guest. Thank you so much for the updates we have fixed the window seal leak and re-stocked the kitchen. Our regular cleaner was away so the cottage did not have all the usual items you would be used too. You will be pleased to know we have closed down for our low season to upgrade all the units and grounds so Halfmoon Haven will be all shiny and new for our high season in 2016. We take pride in being the number one booked vacation retreat on the Sunshine Coast for the past 10 years and we continue to strive to bring the best service and value to all our guests. We welcome you to come back next year to see all our new features and improvements.
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback