McMillan, a neighbourhood in Flagstaff, is home to this cottage. Arizona Snowbowl Ski Lift and Mother Road Brewing Company are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Buffalo Park and Bushmaster Park. Looking to enjoy an event or a game while in town? See what's happening at Doris Harper White Community Playhouse or Walkup Skydome. Enjoy the area's slopes with cross-country skiing and snowboarding, and don't miss out on the sledging and ice skating.
Northern Arizona University - 6 min drive - 6.0 km
Lowell Observatory - 9 min drive - 5.3 km
Arizona Snowbowl Ski Lift - 32 min drive - 26.8 km
Getting around
Flagstaff Station - 6 min drive
Flagstaff, AZ (FLG-Flagstaff Pulliam Field) - 13 min drive
Restaurants
Chick-fil-A - 11 min walk
McDonald's - 2 min drive
Dutch Bros Coffee - 11 min walk
Texas Roadhouse - 8 min walk
Culver's - 16 min walk
Frequently asked questions
Is Charming stone cottage "The Stay On The Way" pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Charming stone cottage "The Stay On The Way"?
As of 26 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Charming stone cottage "The Stay On The Way" on 26 Jan 2027 start from AU$488, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Charming stone cottage "The Stay On The Way"?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Charming stone cottage "The Stay On The Way"?
Check-in begins at 3:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Charming stone cottage "The Stay On The Way"?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Charming stone cottage "The Stay On The Way" located?
Located in McMillan, this cottage is within 2 miles (3 km) of Flagstaff Field Center, Buffalo Park and Bushmaster Park. Flagstaff Medical Center and West of the Moon Gallery are also within 3 miles (5 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
They house was perfect for our weekend in Flagstaff for our family of four - kids are 12/10. The location was perfect for the baseball games at Foxglenn Park. Lots of food options nearby.
We had a great stay here during our active family trip to Flagstaff with two energetic 13-year-old boys. The location was convenient to everything we wanted to do, making it easy to explore the area each day. We slept comfortably, cooked most of our meals in the well-equipped kitchen, and appreciated having a clean, comfortable place to come back to after our adventures. We’d gladly stay here again.
This is a nice little place in Flagstaff. The home makes good use of a small space. It was very clean on the inside. It is very close to Route 66. Shops and restaurants nearby. The neighborhood could use some freshening up. You are close to the rail line so you will hear that in the background.
The house was very clean and had everything we needed for our family of 4. It was close to shopping, dining, brewpub’s, the observatory and Walnut Canyon.
Overall was a gray experienceAll the family enjoyed it every muchThe location is excellent As a sugestión: the shower soap dispenser is not working wall and the bathtub doesn’t drain well. Other than that we were delighted, will definitely consider it for our next trip to Flagstaff Thankse
House was easy to find and very clean/nicely decorated. The street was very quiet and close to restaurants and stores-2 min drive. The kids loved the skee ball machine and tv projector in their room. Overall a perfect place for our trip and would stay here again!
Flagstaff is a fun town to visit, just an hour from the Grand Canyon. This little cottage is in a great location and the host if very accessible. Highly recommended.
This house was our halfway stop from visiting the National Parks in southern Utah on our way back to Phoenix. House was very clean and comfortable. Local amenities were easily accessed.
Troy was easy to work with and very accommodating. The home was nice and spacious for our group and set up very nicely. Would absolutely stay again - thanks!
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2026
Verified review
8/10 Good
Mama H.
22 Oct 2026
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Driving to the neighborhood was concerning. Most surrounding homes are unkempt, had lots of trash, vehicles, etc. Tony's property did not have great curb appeal either. Inside the home, it was very clean, had most supplies, and beds were comfortable. There could be more coffees provided. No creamers. There was no drinking water besides faucet. These were not dealbreakers.. The complaint we have is the 10am checkout with numerous expectations for cleanup. There's not much time to relax. Speaking of relaxing, the couches are tiny and uncomfortable. Consider this is a 3 bedroom, and couches won't fit many adults. The coffee table had stools underneath, more appropriate for small children. The layout of the living area could be better. The best feature were the lamps that had outlets. The bathroom is teeny tiny but was functional enough. The kitchen was mostly well stocked. For the price, we were disappointed.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 22 Oct 2026
Thank you for your feedback. Several points deserve clarification for future guests.
This is an entire three bedroom home with a full kitchen, laundry, and private outdoor space, not a single hotel room. We work hard to offer excellent value, especially for families and groups comparing accommodations with similar amenities.
Regarding curb appeal, October is peak leaf season in Flagstaff. We maintain our property regularly, but removing every fallen leaf throughout the day is not realistic. The condition of neighboring properties is also beyond our control.
Our 10 AM checkout time, layout, furnishings, and bathroom size are disclosed before booking. The listing photos clearly show the seating and living areas before anyone books. Our checkout time allows us to prepare for incoming guests. We ask for reasonable cleanup, not for guests to professionally clean the home. Unfortunately, this particular one night stay left the property requiring considerable additional attention.
Bottled water and coffee creamers are not advertised amenities. The kitchen does have running water and coffee supplies.
We appreciate your acknowledgment that the home was very clean, the beds comfortable, and the kitchen well stocked. Those are standards we take seriously. We welcome constructive feedback, but it’s important that reviews distinguish between the property as advertised and personal expectations. Our many positive reviews reflect the experience and value we consistently provide.
According to the picture that I viewed through Verbo. When we actually arrived, the outside was a total mess and it didn’t look like the pristine picture at all. Dead plants and debris. The property was very unkept and in a neighborhood that made me wonder if we were even safe. The outside is worse than the inside. Once we got inside, the house was neat and clean. A big sigh of relief for my whole family. The Kitchen was not well equipped with barely enough plates & silverware. The host left one dishwasher pod for our stay. Luckily, we were only cooking our breakfast in. This house has three bedrooms, living room and dining table that can’t really comfortably seat six guests. We have used Verbo many times and this is my first disappointment.
Stayed 2 nights in Aug 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 1 Oct 2026
I do need to correct several statements in this review because they do not accurately reflect the property.
This is a 1940s mountain home in an established Flagstaff neighborhood, not a resort or a newly landscaped hotel property. The exterior had been actively maintained immediately before this stay, including yard cleanup, leaf removal, gutter cleaning, exterior washing, and tree trimming. Calling the property “very unkept” is simply not an accurate representation of the condition in which it was provided.
The comment that the kitchen was “not well equipped” is also incorrect. The kitchen is fully stocked with dinnerware, bowls, drinking glasses, wine glasses, coffee mugs, cookware, bakeware, utensils, knives, cutting boards, mixing bowls, serving items, appliances, and the normal kitchen essentials guests would expect in a vacation rental. Before listing the property, I also had experienced short term rental hosts stay in the home specifically to identify anything that should be added.
I am always open to legitimate feedback and will absolutely address anything that genuinely needs improvement. What I will not do, however, is leave inaccurate statements about the property uncorrected.
It is also worth noting that the reviewer herself described the interior as neat and clean. The remaining criticisms largely concern personal expectations regarding landscaping, neighborhood appearance, and the amount of certain supplies provided, rather than the cleanliness or functionality of the home itself.
This property is an older mountain home with character, mature trees, and a residential setting, and it is represented that way in the listing. Guests looking for a perfectly manicured resort environment may simply prefer a different type of stay.
Yes, easily accessible to skiing. Would have liked more plates and flatware and olive oil instead of Canola oil- ha! You realize canola oil is not very healthy. LOL. But overall it was perfect! Appreciated the many rolls of toilet paper, that we didn't necessarily use, but nice to have on hand just in case, as well as the makeup wash cloths. Thanks again! We'll be back. The Lockwoods
House was clean and in a central location for Flagstaff, which was great. The bathroom is very small and hard to get in and out of. It also backs up against another room because of the angle, so both doors could not open at the same time.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 20 June 2026
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you found the home clean and enjoyed the central location.
As for the bathroom, the size and layout are both clearly reflected in the listing photos and description, so there should be no surprises for guests when booking. It is a compact bathroom in an older home, and while it may not suit everyone’s personal preference, it is accurately represented in the listing.