Entire home

Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly)

Photo gallery for Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly)

A room with a blue sofa, a wooden table, a bed with a headboard, and a door with a view to the outside.
A wooden door with a stained glass panel depicting dolphins and waves.
A covered porch with a wooden table and blue chairs, a door leading inside, and a ceiling fan.
A small, single-story house with a porch, a covered entryway, and a small outdoor seating area.
A kitchen with a light green color scheme, white cabinets, and a wooden countertop.

Reviews

8.8 out of 10
Excellent

Highlights

  • Centrally-located
    You're never far from where you need to be with this convenient location.

Popular amenities

  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Pet-friendly
  • Air-conditioning
  • Refrigerator
  • Internet

Explore the area

View map
Harkers Island, NC
  • Place, Core Sound Waterfowl Museum and Heritage Center
    ‪4 min drive‬
  • Place, Down East Public Library
    ‪11 min drive‬
  • Place, Marshallberg Picnic Area
    ‪13 min drive‬

Rooms & beds

3 bedrooms (sleeps 8)

2 bathrooms

Bathroom 2

Primary Bathroom

Spaces

Deck or patio
Porch or lanai
Kitchen
Balcony
Dining area

Add dates for prices

Similar properties

About the area

Harkers Island

Harkers Island is home to this holiday home. North River Golf Course and Jarrett Bay Marine Industrial Park are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore North River and Rachel Carson Reserve. Looking to get your feet wet? Kayaking, power boating and fishing adventures can be found near the property.
Map
Harkers Island, NC

What's nearby

  • Core Sound Waterfowl Museum and Heritage Center - 4 min drive - 3.7 km
  • Down East Public Library - 11 min drive - 14.4 km
  • Marshallberg Picnic Area - 13 min drive - 16.8 km
  • Eastern Park - 13 min drive - 17.7 km
  • North River - 18 min drive - 22.3 km

Getting around

  • New Bern, NC (EWN-Coastal Carolina Regional) - 63 min drive

Restaurants

  • ‪McDonald's - ‬22 min drive
  • ‪Schwarzbarts Trinkhalle - ‬23 min drive
  • ‪No Name Pizza - ‬24 min drive
  • ‪SEA SIDE STOP AND SHOP - ‬3 min drive
  • ‪Jersey Mikes - ‬23 min drive

Frequently asked questions

Is Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly) pet-friendly?

Yes, pets are allowed at this property.

How much does it cost to stay at Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly)?

As of 1 Nov 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly) on 4 Nov 2026 start from AU$1,353, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.

How much is parking at Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly)?

On-site parking is available at the property.

What time is check-in at Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly)?

Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.

What time is check-out at Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly)?

Checkout is at 10:00 AM.

Where is Mr. Bennies Cafe in Harkers Island, NC (Pet Friendly) located?

Situated in Harkers Island, this holiday home is 2.5 mi (4 km) from Core Sound Waterfowl Museum and Heritage Center and within 9 miles (15 km) of Lovis Shore and Down East Public Library. Marshallberg Picnic Area and Eastern Park are also within 9 miles (15 km).

Reviews

8.8

Excellent

Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Learn moreOpens in a new window
Rating 10 - Excellent. 12 out of 16 reviews
Rating 8 - Good. 1 out of 16 reviews
Rating 6 - Okay. 0 out of 16 reviews
Rating 4 - Poor. 2 out of 16 reviews
Rating 2 - Terrible. 1 out of 16 reviews

9.0/10

Cleanliness

9.8/10

Check-in

9.0/10

Communication

9.0/10

Location

8.4/10

Listing accuracy

Reviews

Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
The place was wonderful and the location was perfect for the week.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Check-in, communication
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy

Bed bugs

This property smelled like smoke and so they sent us to another place called sea spray and there we found bed bugs.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Mar 2020
Hi Stephanie, My name is Claudia and I am the Vacation Specialist at Spectrum Properties. You booked Mr. Bennie's Café on October 11th. Mr. Bennie's is a non-smoking property and we had our professional cleaners go in before your arrival. Therefore, the home should not have smelled like smoke on the interior because they do not smoke inside or outside of our homes. When you checked in to the home you proceeded to call our office and said you realized there was nothing to do in this area and you would like to move to another property or cancel the reservation for a full refund. Our Cancellation Policy in our Guest License Agreement clearly states that once a reservation has been made and money has been paid it is non-refundable unless you purchased travelers insurance to protect your trip. Our reservations team went above and beyond to provide you with other places to stay for activities for you and your family. Seaspray condo did not and does not have bed bugs. We do not take bed bugs accusations lightly in our rentals. You reported a water bug that was dead at the property. Pest control services are done regularly to ensure no bug infestations in our rentals. Once you let Michael at our office know about the dead water bug, the property cleaner went over immediately after and removed it. We do not appreciate the negative review to Mr. Bennie's Café when this home was not stayed in by you and your family. The review headline of Bed Bugs is very, very misleading for this home. We kindly ask that you retract this review. You were refunded in full for your reservation cancellation against company policy. Best, Claudia Patterson Spectrum Properties
Verified review

2/10 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy

Disappointed

So disappointed with this property that could not stay. If this has been our first trip to Harkers Island , it would have been our last. We are Carvers and have been coming down since the competition began. Love the area. Could not handle this property. Husband uses cane and could not safely maneuver in the property
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 12 July 2021
We are unsure how you can even leave a review as you did not stay at the property & were only there for 1 hour. The property is as pictured, there were no surprises. The property does not state it's handicap accessible. We broke our normal policy and refunded all of your money because you called and said your husband wasn't able to maneuver the property- again something we did not have to do; and you give us a 1 star review because your husband has a cane- that makes no sense! This unacceptable & unfair to penalize the property because it didn't meet your needs- that were never advertised or pictured to meet your needs. We will be speaking to VRBO about you and your review.
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy
Everything was perfect except no WiFi in Quonset but so tv would not work. Other than that the place is magical and perfect. Hope to come back next year!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2026
Verified review

4/10 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Disliked: Communication, listing accuracy

Bad day at Mr. Bennies Cafe

Mr. Beenie’s Café Clean if you don’t mind cockroaches: First appearances very clean a bit boho felt inviting. Now who is responsible for the care and maintenance of the rental, the owner or their service company Spectrum properties? First night in could not get the cable box to work, called Spectrum properties for help. Was informed by the Spectrum associate there was no cable service? Found out the following day not to be true. initially tried to cook dinner on the stove, found the one stove element broken. To utilize the microwave, needed to plug it in, No big deal when removing the plug from the wall socket the entire plug, socket and box pulled out of the wall! The following morning was the discovery of the cockroaches in the kitchen! Informed spectrum properties of the cockroach infestation, the associate asked if we would like an exterminator to come out and spray, we respectively declined do too our fur babies and the carnage of dead bugs to clean up! The associate did manage to help us out with the tv box problem. Would have not been an issue if the five remotes were clearly marked. And or instructions on how to get tv service. An exterminator knocked on the door two hours later wanting to come inside and spray for bugs!!! We chose to leave a day earlier due to the fact Mr. Bennies café was not relaxing and the issue with the bugs . Reading the requirements for leaving Mr. Bennies Café all bedding and towels were to be placed in linen bag for service pick up. When we informed spectrum Properties we were living early asked about said linen bag, we asked about the linen Bag we don’t have that service any more, informed to leave bedding and towels on the floor?
Stayed 4 nights in Oct 2022
Verified review

8/10 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Trip

Was a good trip and a good place to stay will be back
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2022
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Loved it.

We loved the house, the uniqueness of the interior, the back porch, the yard. Location was great as well. We hope to stay here again.
Stayed 23 nights in Nov 2021
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

We loved Bennie’s

My husband and I stayed here for over a week while renovating another property on the island and it was the perfect sanctuary to come home to after 12 hour work days. It was cozy, homey, and relaxing, we will definitely stay here again!
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Very cute bungalow

Felt larger than it actually was due to the thoughtful design. Loved the unique architectural design and fenced in yard. Well equipped for cooking.
Stayed 6 nights in Sep 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Really neat spot!

My brother and I had a great time at Bennies! Aside from the entire day of rain (which we made the most of with movies) it was a great trip. Bennies was really cozy and very neat to look around. I really enjoyed being able to sit outside on the porch in the rain.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great place for fish camp. Close to marina and fish hook restaurant

Overall great place
Stayed 7 nights in Oct 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Great little place!

My family loves this place
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Homey little cottage

We loved this cozy cottage. The location was perfect for us. It felt like home. We would sit on the front porch and could here the water and gulls. Fish Hook Grill, with is at the end of the street, has the best seafood. The kitchen was stocked with spices, coffee filters and oil. The only things of any concern (and they were minor) were there are no closets or dressers. So there were no hangers. The other thing was the TV. It is silly but there were 5 different remotes with no instruction on which ones to use or how to use them. I hit the wrong button on one of the remotes and couldn't get back. So there was no TV for two days. I have family on the island so I am really looking forward to the next trip to Mr. Bennie's Café.
Stayed 4 nights in Jan 2020
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Enjoyed our stay in a cute 2 bedroom to bath home . Clean linens and home.

We enjoyed our mini vacation . The ride over to shackefiord on the ferry was very nice, we also rode over to Moore head and Emerald Isle. Then back to stay at the quiet home we rented. Enjoyed cross road pizza . We went out to eat seafood one night. Everything we needed to cook in the home other meals . 5 stars for clean - efficient stay
Stayed 3 nights in Aug 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Mr. Bennie's Cafe

Quaint and comfortable place to stay. Nice/friendly neighborhood; but busy street, perhaps due to the boat access to the water at the end of the street. Quick/easy access from Mr.Bennie's Cafe to NCDOT Ferry to Cape Lookout National Seashore.
Stayed 6 nights in Aug 2019
Verified review

10/10 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication, location, listing accuracy

Wonderful time!

We loved it. Very quaint and memorable.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
Tell us how we can improve our siteShare feedback