Located in Hayden, this cabin is near theme parks and on the waterfront. Westwood Historical Society and Museum of North Idaho are cultural highlights, and some of the area's activities can be experienced at Avondale Golf Course and Triple Play Family Fun Park. Silverwood Theme Park and Kootenai County Fairgrounds are also worth visiting. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with hiking/biking trails and cycling nearby.
Triple Play Family Fun Park - 43 min drive - 25.1 km
Silverwood Theme Park - 48 min drive - 38.1 km
North Idaho College - 58 min drive - 45.5 km
Lake Coeur d'Alene - 60 min drive - 46.5 km
Getting around
Spokane, WA (SFF-Felts Field) - 75 min drive
Restaurants
Subway - 25 min drive
Starbucks - 25 min drive
Jersey Mikes - 23 min drive
Bee’s Knees Whiskey Bar - 21 min drive
Cinnabon - 23 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Lakefront getaway! A-Frame cabin, private dock, sunset views, pet friendly. pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows dogs (limit 2 total). Some restrictions may apply, so please contact the property for more details.
How much does it cost to stay at Lakefront getaway! A-Frame cabin, private dock, sunset views, pet friendly.?
As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Lakefront getaway! A-Frame cabin, private dock, sunset views, pet friendly. on 4 Mar 2027 start from AU$483, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Lakefront getaway! A-Frame cabin, private dock, sunset views, pet friendly.?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Lakefront getaway! A-Frame cabin, private dock, sunset views, pet friendly.?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Lakefront getaway! A-Frame cabin, private dock, sunset views, pet friendly.?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Lakefront getaway! A-Frame cabin, private dock, sunset views, pet friendly. located?
Situated on the waterfront, this cabin is steps from Lake Hayden and within 6 mi (10 km) of Preston Beach and Hayden Lake Sportsman Park. Clark Point and Avondale Lake are also within 12 miles (20 km).
Reviews
9.0
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We should have been told that the north entrance to the property was under construction. It took us one entire extra hour to get back around the lake. We were already tired, and adding an extra hour was unnecessary.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 10 Oct 2026
We only have one entrance to our property, and it is not under construction. Not sure if this review was meant for another property, or if you are referring to some road construction at some point around the lake…? If that’s the case, Hayden Lake homeowners are not notified about when the city does road work in town so we would have no way of knowing this. Hopefully folks reading this review won’t believe our property is a 3 star property because of road construction somewhere on your drive.
Cabin views A, down the steps to the dock to watch an Eagle dive out of the sky to catch a fish and fly away ... unforgettable! Slept so peacefully in the comfortable beds and the neighborhood was very quiet. Wish I could have stayed for a week!
Loved it! So cute and cozy. Kinda far from coeur d’Alene but we started to enjoy the long drive back and forth from town and the cabin. Super special property, great porch with an amazing view.
We loved our stay here!! The cabin was very clean, cozy and peaceful. We appreciated the well stocked pantry and the private dock! We visited in early October so it was a bit too chilly for swimming but enjoyed laying out on the dock and reading and watching the boats go by. We would absolutely stay here again!! Thank you for being pet friendly — our dog also had a blast!
Perfect place for a book, a game, swim, a relaxed get away
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2025
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
Nicole S.
24 Mar 2026
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, listing accuracy
Unable to check in early upon arrival after an 8 hr drive due to had to be cleaned. Upon arrival flies were visibly seen on the countertops in the bathroom. Had to contact property owner due to a septic issue which actually had to had a septic company come pump the tank due to being full not able to use the toilet or bathtub. Also had some issue with a return of a deposit that was not expected on our charge. Cabin itself has a beautiful view and is pet friendly
Stayed 4 nights in Mar 2026
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Mar 2026
From what we can tell, Nicole feels she was entitled to an early check-in because they had an 8 hr drive, and was inconvenienced that we must clean the cabin between guests. We want to assure everyone reading this, that despite Nicole’s expectations, we will continue to clean the cabin thoroughly on same-day turnovers. NIcole also acted confused about the fact VRBO bills in two very clear payments and asked that we refund her. We explained that she would have to speak to VRBO about all billing, as that is not within our control. The guest never complained about flies upon entry, and she had no problem staying for the full length of her stay. Finally, a major plumbing clog suddenly happened on the final day of Nicole’s visit. We immediately had plumbers arrive who cleared the clog. The cabin did not have a “full septic tank” as she claims… Nicole is aware of this fact as she was fully informed of the plumber’s findings. We did not blame the clog on the guest at first but we were suspicious. Now after reading this review we suspect Nicole may have financial motivations. We will be reporting the situation to VRBO.
Loved our stay! We brought our own Floaties and jumped off the diving board daily. The home was exactly as described and appropriately stocked. I wouldn’t change a thing.
If you're looking for a quiet getaway, a peaceful setting, romantic weekend, a place to unplug, starry nights, aurora watching .. this cabin has it all. Once you're there, you will not want to leave! A slice of tranquility on Hayden Lake.
We absolutely loved staying in the A-frame cabin. It was so cozy and charming and the views were amazing! It was just as advertised and maybe more! We will be staying again in the future!
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Nov 2023
Such lovely guests! Thank you for the kind words! We can’t wait to host you again. Think of it as your own cabin on the lake. 💛
Absolutely gorgeous. The upstairs bed is the most comfortable bed I have slept in. I wish I knew the brand so I could replace mine with the same.
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 11 Apr 2025
Thank you so much for the kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope you can return again soon. *The mattresses in both bedrooms are Tuft & Needle. 😊 Thanks again!
Loved our stay! Owners were very responsive to any questions we had.
The water was lovely.
Highly recommend bringing some floating devices.
We got lucky with stunning weather.
Thank you for sharing your home with us!
We had a great week on Hayden Lake! House was well stocked with everything you would need for a week at the lake. Our dog had fun swimming and hanging out on the dock. Would love to come back again someday. Thanks
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 23 July 2023
Thank you so much Craig! So happy to hear you and the family (and pooch) enjoyed your stay. You are always welcome back to the A-frame- hope you can return soon!
The A frame was wonderful! We loved spending the day on the dock swimming and going off the diving board. The water was beautiful. Everything in the cabin was beautiful and we had everything we needed. It was in the 90s while we stayed. It did get warm in the cabin during sunset, but it wasn't terrible. Once the sun set we opened the windows and it was perfect, even a little chilly at night! The location is a least 30 minutes from anything, so double check that grocery list!
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2024
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
noah b.
4 June 2024
Disliked: Check-in, communication
Ended my marriage...kinda
Booked this for a much-needed get away with my separated wife. We were going to use this getaway to finalize plans for her to move back home. Arrived and the door code didn't work. Called, texted, and messaged the owner through the VRBO app but no reply. Waited hours, talked with VRBO who couldn't reach the owner either and verified the code I was using. VRBO offered to put us in a hotel but we had a dog and cooking ingredients for our meals. Also really just needed peace and quiet, not for the whole trip to be consumed by the hassle. So we went back to my place and tried to act like we were on vacation. But it backfired when she complained about the dirty house which turned into a conflict and now she's finalizing her divorce. No joke. All I know is we booked a vacation together and didn't get it due to owner's negligence in updating the door code and in being unreachable for so long.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 27 June 2024
Noah, we are so sorry about the mistake in the door code and take full responsibility for the delay in getting you checked in. In our instructions, we provide the name and number for our local house manager to call in case of emergencies, but regretfully you did not call her. The instructions also state that we live part time in Norway on a different time zone, which is why we provide the local contact for immediate assistance. We are sorry you didn’t contact our house manager as the instructions ask. We also don’t know why VRBO did not contact our house manager, since they have the number in all of our contact info. We are looking into that issue. We are also sorry you didn’t accept VRBO’s offer for a free pet-friendly hotel nearby to enjoy while you waited for the entry code. Although an inconvenience, we would have gotten you in the cabin within a few hours. Or the next morning if that was preferred. Instead you chose to go back your home, and we are sorry to learn your place was not clean enough for your ex to feel comfortable. It sounds like the code mistake on our part led to a long chain of unfortunate decisions on your part. Again we regret and take responsibility for the mistake on our end. We have learned from this. We wish you well and hope things go differently for you in the future when life throws you curveballs.
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Matthew M.
12 July 2022
Disliked: Cleanliness, check-in, location
Rustic Cabin...not for everyone.
This is a very difficult review to submit, in fact it’s the first negative review I’ve written in my several years of vacation rentals all over the country. But had I known certain features of this property, I never would have rented it.
The pros: It is a rustic cabin as advertised with a beautiful view down to the lake. It is well equipped. And the photos and directions are accurate. The dock is great, it has a diving board and ladder.
The cons: The upstairs bedroom gets very hot making it difficult to sleep, the sliding door on to the deck is rusted and difficult to open, and there are dozens of steep stairs down to the deck. While I appreciate that the cabin is dog friendly, there is no access on the property for the dogs to get into the water, which is torture for a lab who loves the water. I learned later that there is a neighborhood beach that can be accessed by dogs. But it’s been my experience that neighbors are not that thrilled with short term vacationers, that's why I prefer private access. The location…it’s very far to get to the town of Hayden, and the road is very curvy and very busy with fast moving construction vans. Communication with the owner was difficult as cell coverage is spotty.
Negative check-in/ cleaning experience. I arrived early at 1:30pm with the hopes that I could get in early. In hind-site I should have asked if an early check-in was a possibility. The cleaning service had not arrived yet. I called the owner, left a voice mail and asked if 3pm check in was still good. No call back, buy I did receive a message that check-in is 3pm. I came back at 3pm, the cleaning service had not yet arrived. The owner messaged me again saying they will be there soon. The cleaning person (very friendly) arrived at 3:30pm, and was finished by 4:30pm (one hour of cleaning). While I was happy to be able to get into the cabin, I was concerned that one hour of cleaning, by one person would not do the job. Popcorn kernels on the floor, the towels were all damp and the cleaning/dish tools were all dirty on the countertop. So my first day in cabin was awful and I left the next morning.
To the owner's credit: she did offer to send in a cleaning crew a day after check-in, she did provide a partial credit on cleaning fee, and provided info on the neighborhood cleaning fee, and provided info on the neighborhood beach.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 5 Aug 2022
This "guest" came alone, and it appeared the plan was to get money from us from the moment he walked in the door. He entered the cabin unannounced 1.5 hours before check in, and asked for all his money back from the housekeeper because he wanted an early check-in (which he didn't ask for). He then sent away the housekeepers just before they were finished explaining that they didn't need to bother finish cleaning because his dogs were running in an out of the cabin, creating a mess (which was the case). Then he contaced me asked for money back because the cleaning wasn't finished and was dishonest. We knew the circumstances but refunded him some money anyway. That wasn't enough so then he asked to have all of his money back because his dogs weren't able to get out along the shoreline and thus the cabin wasn't a "fit" for him. He threatened us advance that if we didn't give him more money back he'd leave a negative review, which he did. It all very much felt like a calculated scam. Most guests are wonderful but these types of situations make us question whether it is worth sharing our lake cabin with the public.
We've vacationed on Hayden Lake for 10+ years and have rented houses all around the lake, not to mention watching properties for sale for that time, so we're very familiar with the area and rentals. All in all, our family of four plus doodle had a great time. I've wanted to rent an A-frame to experience the layout, size and restrictions with my son and I being 6'4". Pros: Great location, a little bit of a drive but really not that far. Nice deep water (other areas can be shallow and weedy, good for fishing, not for jumping off the dock and swimming). Evening sun (pro and con), great views, but hot.
Quiet area, well-spaced, large lot, good parking (even for our F150 and boat trailer, although it takes some backing up skills). Trailer parking is rare so I really enjoyed not having to find alternative parking. Community water!! A lot of properties are lake water and you have to bring drinking water. Although this wasn't on the listing, it is a big plus; clean, safe, drinkable, and amazing water pressure that I wish I had at our house.
Friendly neighbors, we were even invited to the local BBQ.
Pretty clean overall. Comfy beds. Dog friendly.
Cons: Mostly well stocked, however there were no tissue, and the toilet paper was way too cheap. Bring in some mid-grade stuff. There were no dish towels. The housekeeper stopped by (dropping off bags of gravel) and brought us some the next day. The stairs to the dock are a little rickety in a few areas so be cautious. The dock is coming apart from the ramp, one of the connectors was broken and the dock would swing toward shore with wind and waves. My kids enjoyed the diving board but there was a lot of flex in the old deck boards it is attached to, adults, be cautious. Entrance not so inviting, need to trim some weeds. And it is hot! There is AC, but it is a portable unit that can only be hooked up in the lower bedroom due to venting out a window. Would work better if there was a way to have it in the main room. Afternoon heat made the floor tile adhesive ooze up causing sticky spots. The slider is very heavy, difficult to open and gets worse as the sun expands the metal. Either replace the door or the rollers. And there is no screen which would really help for air flow. Great view but some of the windows are fogging due to broken seals, time to replace.
All in all we had a great time, but a few things should be addressed.
Stayed 7 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Sept 2022
This is without question the most thorough review, possibly more thorough than the home inspection when we bought the cabin haha! We appreciate the kind words and agree it is an amazing location that isn't too far away from town, with ample parking, ideal sun conditions, great sunsets and perfect swimming water. And, as this local keenly pointed out, we have strong water pressure and excellent drinking water from the tap. Rare for a lake cabin. Some of the comments have to do with the timing of the stay during an exceptionally hot week. We rent the cabin year round so it only applies to a few weeks a year, but we understand as we stayed there ourselves this August during the hottest days of the summer... between 85 & 98 degrees every day. We thought we'd sleep with the AC on however this area of Idaho typically gets nice and cool at night time (65 degrees) so we slept in the upstairs loft with the window open and just a fan on. We like waking up to the morning lake view. Happy to report that we care about the cabin a great deal so we stay on top of improvements. Tightening bolts here, replacing planks there. Recent dock damage (from wake surf boats) has been repaired. This little gem is always ready for fun during every season of the year.