Located in Lakemont, this holiday home is on the waterfront. Tiger Mountain Vineyards and Rabun County Golf Club are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Tallulah Gorge State Park and Black Rock Mountain State Park. Jet skiing and kayaking offer great chances to get out on the surrounding water, or you can seek out an adventure with mountain biking and cycling nearby.
Tallulah Gorge State Park - 10 min drive - 10.6 km
Lake Burton - 19 min drive - 22.3 km
Helen Tubing & Helen Water Park - 47 min drive - 58.4 km
Helen Festhalle - 49 min drive - 56.9 km
Getting around
Toccoa Station - 27 min drive
Greenville, SC (GSP-Greenville-Spartanburg Intl.) - 108 min drive
Restaurants
Red Barn Cafe - 12 min drive
Oinkers - 10 min drive
Max’s Lakeside Pizza - 13 min walk
Tallulah 1882 - 9 min drive
Subway - 12 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is Beautiful House On Lake Rabun! pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Beautiful House On Lake Rabun!?
As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Beautiful House On Lake Rabun! on 8 Nov 2026 start from AU$3,790, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Beautiful House On Lake Rabun!?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Beautiful House On Lake Rabun!?
Check-in begins at 4:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Beautiful House On Lake Rabun!?
Checkout is at 11:00 AM.
Where is Beautiful House On Lake Rabun! located?
Situated on the waterfront, this holiday home is steps away from Chattahoochee National Forest and Lake Rabun. Shortline Trailhead and Tallulah Gorge State Park are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.4
Exceptional
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
We really enjoyed our stay @ Lake Rabun! The house has plenty of room & a very convenient location. The quiet cove where the kids could swim & play safely was a nice bonus.
We had 10 members of the family rangining in age from 13 to 87, and everyone had a great time. The home was spacious and well-equipped, and the views were gorgeous!
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2024
Response from VrboOwner on 8 Aug 2024
Thanks for your generous comments! So glad you had a nice time. Hope you have you back again!
We were in town for my daughters wedding and needed a large house for family and friends to visit. This house was perfect! Loved the fact that we could spread out, or all be together on the sunporch or dock.
A group of 65+ year old women, who have been Friends since infancy, gathered from all over the south to stay here in early October for a long weekend. We had plenty of room to sleep, cook, play cards, talk and enjoy the beautiful view. This lake house was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 18 Oct 2020
Beth,
Thanks for your kind review. I’m so glad you had a good time! You took great care of the house, and we appreciate that.
Come back anytime!
Patti
Very beautiful and clean home in a great setting for a family vacation. One super popular perk at the boathouse was a super huge float for several people. Everyone enjoyed it in the cove. The boathouse was most pleasant with cool breezes and wonderful setting even with the occasional rain.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2020
Response from VrboOwner on 11 July 2020
Jackie, thanks so much for the kind words. I’m so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the good care you took of our home and hope you’ll return for another visit!
Stay well!
Patti
We loved the sunroom and boathouse with the covered deck on top! Enjoyed the kayaks, and our fisherman fished from the boathouse (saw lots of fish, bream and bass, but the water was so clear the fish must have seen him, too 😊). The huge dining table was great for dinners. The owner is very reachable and helpful.
We have stayed in many houses on Lake Rabun and this was the best! Location in the lake is excellent. The boat house is a few short steps from the house and very roomy. There are a lot of bedrooms and a wonderful sun porch. The owner was very responsive. Highly recommend- just don’t go when we want to because we hope to return;)
Stayed 8 nights in Jul 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 25 Aug 2022
So happy you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to your return!
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Rebecca E.
22 June 2021
Liked: Cleanliness, location, listing accuracy
Disliked: Communication
Lake Rabun Pennington
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Perfect place for kids adults, children and grandchildren to gather and mingle. However, property owner is exceptionally particular about any residue of your stay! Specifically stains of any kind on bedclothes!
Just beware!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 22 June 2021
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. My housekeeper had to take 4 out of 6 sets of sheets home to remove blood and poop stains. I’m sorry you think that is “picky”. It will take several hours to soak the sheets And the stains may not come out. In 7 years of renting, I never had this many stains. I’m sorry. I just cannot absorb that kind of cost. This is my home. Not a Motel 6.
We have used VRBO for many years and have rented lake property, beachfront houses, mountain houses, farm houses, and others. This place is one of the best, nicest and prettiest we’ve ever stayed in. It was large, well decorated and beautiful. It provided ample space (including parking), and the boathouse was right outside the back door. It was in a nice cove on the lake. We will certainly be renting this place again. Our entire group raved about it. Our interaction with the owner was very pleasant. It’s a solid 10 in our book!!
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 8 June 2023
I’m so glad you enjoyed your stay at our home! We work hard to make it a relaxing home away from home. We’re happy to share it and hope you’ll return again soon!
Charming house. Loved the stay but had a few issues w internet & checkout procedures (no power for dishwasher and no detergent for clothes washer). Owner very responsive but hard to troubleshoot on wk end. Was flexible with a specific request which I appreciated.
Stayed 3 nights in Oct 2023
Response from VrboOwner on 28 Oct 2023
Thanks for your comments Rebecca. I’m not sure what happened with the internet. Since you did not report a problem until Saturday after your Thursday check in, I assumed everything was working. The previous guest said everything was working fine for them. I had the electrician check the power for the dishwasher after you left , and he couldn’t find any problems. Our House Information packet states that we only supply a starter amount of detergent for clothes and dishwasher, not a supply for your entire stay. Guests are supposed to bring the rest.
The checkout procedure is also stated in the packet. All you do is leave the key and the counter and walk out, locking only the door handle. Our security company comes by after you leave to lock everything else.
I hope you had a nice stay. Come try us again. I’ll make sure you are happy with everything when you arrive!
This house is in a beautiful location on lake Rabun. We loved the floating dock and kayaks. The covered deck above boathouse and sunroom were perfect for my parents in their 70s, who could watch their grandkids play in the lake. The exposed wood and steps were quite slick though. The kitchen is small, but stocked with any cooking item you might need, although no empty cabinets or pantry space for guests. The rooms are decorated with many delicate/breakable items, so this house may be better for guests without young kids. Overall, we enjoyed our stay in this wonderful place.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 28 July 2021
Sherry, I’m glad you enjoyed your stay. We have had an unprecedented amount of rainfall this season so even our usual treatment of the decks couldn’t match the constant downpours that kept them wet. We actually live in our house when we don’t have guests, and the design is not contemporary with stark, barren surfaces like a hotel. If that is what you were expecting, you might be happier in a nearby hotel just up the street. The pictures on the VRBO website show clearly what objects are on the furniture. We do try to include convenience items like coasters to protect the furniture , pens and paper for note taking, small boxes or trays for emptying pockets at bedtime, a guest book to sign, remote controls, books to enjoy, directions for the tv, candles in case of a power outage, Kleenex, lotions, soaps, a wireless printer, ceiling fans in all the rooms, throws in every room for napping, and even our favorite recipes. Yes, children should be supervised and we do expect our guests to be respectful of our property. I’m sorry you felt the kitchen was too small for your needs. We have kept it updated with modern appliances, including this year with a new stove and microwave. There is ample counter space and a small pantry that has some items for guest’s use, and I have personally prepared meals for as many as 25 people using the numerous appliances including even a warming drawer. We also have a total of 3 refrigerators with freezers in the house and two washers and dryers. We have enough seating space for 23 people to eat sitting at tables as well as room for 16 people to eat at tables on the boathouse. For a property valued at 2 million dollars, we are quite pleased with the house. We make improvements every year from buying new mattresses and linens to keeping up with the new technologies like our Google Pods, new appliances, a new grill , and replacing the items that guests have either stolen or damaged. We even have a baby grand Steinway piano for our musical guests to enjoy. But I’m sure it does not suit everyone, particularly families who like to party and leave the children to do as they please for extended periods of time. We have experienced everything from guests throwing up in the kitchen sink, urinating in the bathtub, breaking lamps and furniture, and staining linens, floors, and furniture with food, blood, feces, silly putty, fish bait, wine and grease to theft of multiple items. So if our house was not perfect for you, please consider another one
From the very beginning of reserving this amazing property to checkout the owner was extremely helpful and responsive.
We had 4 children with us ages 3 months, 6, 9 and 14, and it was super comfortable and fun for them, and a very safe environment. My mother, age 88, also joined us for 3 days at the end of our stay, and it was easily accessible for her walker and wheelchair. We all loved the open floor plan including the living area and sun porch, and the bedrooms are very cozy and inviting.
We prepared meals every day and the kitchen was perfect for prepping and cooking.
The outdoor boathouse top deck was our second living area with a beautiful view of Lake Rabun!
We can’t say enough about our positive experience!
Helen B.
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2022
Response from VrboOwner on 4 July 2022
Hey Helen,
Thanks so much for your nice comments! We’re so glad you had a good time and hope you’ll come back to stay with us again!
Verified review
2/10 Terrible
carol j.
1 Sept 2025
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
The house was beautiful but has a old moldy musty smell. Listing offers hot tub but broken unusable . The grill was filthy hasnt been cleaned in awhile. House could use a total refresh with whole house dehumidifier and air purification system. For the price paid was a bit cluttered and not up to par. I could say more but will leave it at that for now.
Stayed 7 nights in Aug 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 4 Oct 2025
I’m sorry you chose to zero in on the grill and hot tub. The VRBO website listing clearly states that the hot tub is not available at this time. It is broken beyond repair due to renter misuse. We have decided not to replace it at this time. As I explained to you on the phone, the grill has been so misused by renters that we are having to replace it after only 1 year. The new one will be delivered soon. It is the renter’s responsibility to clean the grill after each use. Unfortunately, the previous renters did not do so.
As to the “clutter “ you refer to, this is our home. We live here much of the year. We have tried to provide items like pens and paper, phones, candles, room fragrances, lotions, soaps, and other items such as upscale linens and TVs in every bedroom and two living spaces. This is not a “contemporary “ bare bones , rental property. It is a lake house. We have never had a rating since 2014 that was less than a 4 out of 5 until this one. As for the musty odor, the house HAS a dehumidified and air purifier system. You could have used the remote control next to it to turn it on. I have had nothing but glowing reports from friends, previous guests, and security personnel about the cleanliness of my house.
There is no visible mold anywhere and the ducts are cleaned regularly. We are sorry for the death of your grandchild while you were there due to an asthma attack that you told me happened. We are shocked that you would leave such a negative review, especially after telling us on the phone what a lovely home it is. Perhaps you would be happier renting a hotel room in a large city or a contemporary house somewhere not on a body of water.
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Kristin D.
8 Aug 2015
Perfect, Relaxing Family Vacation
This was our family's first time to Lake Rabun and we fell in love with the area! The house was SO beautiful and very comfortable! We had 9 adults and a baby and we still had an empty room. The house could have comfortably fit more. The house is decorated beautifully and the beds and bedding were all very comfortable. The owners spared no expense. The boathouse was so perfect and relaxing. We really enjoyed being able to step out of the back door and float and fish in the lake. We also brought 2 of our own boats and tubes and we were able to easily tie them up to the dock. The kitchen and house was stocked with everything we needed for the perfect long weekend at the lake! The shopping, restaurants, and wineries nearby were a great bonus! Great owners that are easy to work with. We will be back!
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Mar 2020
Kristen,
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay! We try hard to make our house comfortable and full of little luxuries. Thanks for posting such a complimentary review! We look forward to having you back as our guests again!
Patti