Located in Eben Junction, this holiday home is in a rural area. Travellers eager for a bit of culture can stop by Lakenenland Sculpture Park, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Lake Superior and Laughing Whitefish Lake Preserve. Take in the nearby slopes with skiing, or try out other outdoor activities such as sledging and ice skating.
Eben Ice Caves and Canyon Falls & Gorge - 7 min drive - 4.0 km
Grand Island - 30 min drive - 44.4 km
Munising Falls - 34 min drive - 48.0 km
Northern Michigan University - 42 min drive - 57.9 km
Getting around
Marquette, MI (MQT-Sawyer Intl.) - 33 min drive
Restaurants
Village Pub - 8 min drive
The Snack Bar - 5 min drive
New Moon Tavern - 5 min drive
Wally' Food Wagon
Frequently asked questions
Is Peaceful River Retreat on 18 Acres w/fire pit Near Pictured Rocks & Marquette pet-friendly?
No, pets are not allowed at this property.
How much does it cost to stay at Peaceful River Retreat on 18 Acres w/fire pit Near Pictured Rocks & Marquette?
As of 29 Oct 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at Peaceful River Retreat on 18 Acres w/fire pit Near Pictured Rocks & Marquette on 1 Nov 2026 start from AU$998, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking at Peaceful River Retreat on 18 Acres w/fire pit Near Pictured Rocks & Marquette?
On-site parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at Peaceful River Retreat on 18 Acres w/fire pit Near Pictured Rocks & Marquette?
Check-in begins at 5:00 PM.
What time is check-out at Peaceful River Retreat on 18 Acres w/fire pit Near Pictured Rocks & Marquette?
Checkout is at 10:00 AM.
Where is Peaceful River Retreat on 18 Acres w/fire pit Near Pictured Rocks & Marquette located?
Situated in a rural location, this holiday home is 0.6 mi (0.9 km) from Hiawatha National Forest and 1.8 mi (2.9 km) from Eben Ice Caves and Canyon Falls & Gorge. Alger County Fairgrounds and Laughing Whitefish Lake Preserve are also within 6 miles (10 km).
Reviews
9.2
Wonderful
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labelled.
Great place to stay for snowmobiling! Second time here and happy once again. Plenty of room for gear and plenty of parking, close to gas station and bar right down the road with food.
As titled, this retreat is truly a home away from home whether you decide to sit back, relax and enjoy the peaceful surroundings, or you venture out and about and return each day to your vacation home. A true UP gem!
Stayed 7 nights in Sep 2024
Verified review
6/10 Okay
Maria P.
24 Aug 2023
Liked: Cleanliness, check-in, communication
Disliked: Location
It was okay. Older home far from town or commercial area. Only one bathroom...
We had fun as a family. It was only one bathroom so it was a challenge but overall it was a great time as a family.
Rock River Retreat was awesome! We visited in mid-August. The location is great, an easy drive to Munising and Marquette. We loved the mowed paths on the property and the huge mowed lawn as well as the fire pit. The co-op in Chatham has the essentials and Mama Cows is close by for ice cream. Au Train beach is an easy 20 minute drive as well. The house is older but has that at home feel, like grandmas old house and it had everything we needed. There are 3 bedrooms on the main level and one in the basement. Would definitely visit again if we’re in this area of the UP.
It was a very nice day the only problem we had was with the toilet. The handle to flush did not work all the time and we Had to open up the back to manually flush it.
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2025
Response from VrboOwner on 14 Aug 2025
Hi Floro,
Thank you for your feedback and for staying with us — we’re glad you enjoyed your day overall and appreciate the review. We’re very sorry about the toilet handle issue. We wish we’d known about it while you were still on-site — had you let us know during your stay we would have come right away to repair or replace the part so it wouldn’t have disrupted your visit. As soon as you reported it after your departure we arranged for repair and the handle has now been fixed. We hope this small problem didn’t overshadow your stay and would welcome the chance to host you again. If you do return, please message us during your visit for anything you need so we can make it right immediately.
Safe travels,
Lisa
Manager
We loved the house and the property. The lack of cell signal was an issue when we were trying to plan our days out. We found we had to figure out the driving info in town the day before. I also missed the northern lights 2 nights in a row as I was oblivious and the lovely deck faces south. If you want peace and quiet it's perfect. The house is clean and cozy and has everything you need. There is lots of space for the kids to run wild. We had a great time.
Enjoyed the house and property. Everything you need is pretty much supplied already. Our boys enjoyed the creek. Great ice cream shop right down the road. Only downside is no cell service which would help planning next day activities, but was already stated prior and wasn't a big deal to us. If you like being away from everything this is a great place to go.
We had a great time at this beautiful property. Very clean and spacious! Loved being able to unplug with no Wi-Fi or cell service and it was just what our family needed!
This was our first trip to the Upper Peninsula and our first time using Vrbo to find housing. My teenage daughter wanted to celebrate her 16th birthday exploring the UP wilderness and actually found the Rock River Retreat on Vrbo. Having never done this before I was a little cautious going into this. Lisa made all the reservations and paperwork a breeze. We received timely communications and were able to complete the reservation process with no incidents.
The Rock River Retreat is a beautiful older home in the hamlet of Eben Junction, Michigan. It's not in the "middle of nowhere" but you can see it from there. The home itself is spotlessly clean and well maintained and the starter supplies are more than sufficient to get you going. If you do need something, the Chatham Co-op store is 10 minutes down the road and has a very nice selection for a small rural grocery store. Our own house it out in the country so we are familiar with rural living but the peace and serenity that surrounds you on the beautifully maintained 18 acres seemed to melt the every day stress away. That being said, there are some caveats to country living. The house is on well water and will have a bit of a sulfur odor to it. It's harmless and the water is fine for cooking, bathing and drinking but if you are not used to it, you might want to bring a couple of gallon jugs of drinking water. The other thing to be aware of is the lack of cell service/internet. Some may view this as an inconvenience but we viewed it as a feature of the house! Our daughter and her best friend were forced to put down their phones and talk to us and each other. There are board games in the closet to keep you busy and there are plenty of spots in the house and property to curl up with a good book. The only time I missed my phone was when there was some weather moving in and I couldn't check on the local forcast. We did find that the "weather stick" was surprisingly accurate! (You'll have to stay here to figure out just exactly what I'm talking about! LOL!) We spent a couple days exploring the Munising area and made one trip to Marquette. There is so much to do, we will have to come back several more times to work through our bucket list. Lisa and Tom were great hosts, checking with us over the weekend to make sure our stay was a pleasant and peaceful one. It was nice to just sit back and relax and enjoy the peace and beauty of the Rock River Retreat!
Stayed 3 nights in Jul 2021
Response from VrboOwner on 23 Oct 2021
Thanks Ed,
We appreciate the review and we're so happy you enjoyed the retreat and the area.
See you next year!
Lisa and Tom
Managers
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Anthony V.
15 Sept 2017
Quiet and Peaceful
The location of the house is on a nice, quiet and peaceful piece of property. Had everything we needed for our stay and not to far from Munising. I would recommend it to anyone looking to get away from their busy lives, wish we could have stayed longer. There is only one down side and that is we could have used a 2nd bathroom with having 6 people staying.
Stayed 5 nights in Aug 2017
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Catherine P.
26 Aug 2017
Very Nice!!
The house was perfect for our stay in the UP! It was centrally located for our daily activities and in a nice, quiet location. We were very happy with every aspect of our stay!
Thank you!!
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2017
Archival
2/10 Terrible
kristen s.
5 Aug 2017
moldy nightmare!
Uninhabitable lower level. Marketed to sleep 10 which included a lower level bedroom and pull out couch. We were aparty of nine. Clear water damage a foot up on the woodwork in the lower level. Floor wet. Dehumidifier running but not helping. Mold on the walls. Even the sheets on the bed were wet. We slept in the floor upstairs. Off the beaten path and very difficult to find. Not convenient to the sites in Munising or Marquette honestly. Tried to call house manager several times and got no response or help while we were there. Well water with horrible sulfer stench. Would not recommend!
Response from VrboOwner on 29 Jan 2021
Hi Kristen,
Thanks for your review but we both know it is extremely untruthful. If there was truly mold in the house, you should never have stayed there and contacted us asap. It happened to be an extremely humid couple of days that you were there. Without A/C it did get damp and that is why we had the dehumidifiers and extra fans as well as all the windows open, for your arrival. The heat/humidity was very unusual and that is why the sheets were damp. We never received any phone call from you during your stay. Had you called about any of this, we would have come out asap! After I asked you about the phone calls, you couldn't tell me when the calls were made to us and since there was no message and no record of your calls, I had no idea there was a call to return. The wood on the downstairs walls is old barn board. It's real barn board from a real barn from 60 plus years ago so it was outside for years and years. The "water damage' that you saw was stains from rain from when it was outside for all those years. There was no mold on the walls at all. What you saw on that old barn board is called "lichen moss" and it's been there for years. It's not harmful. Had you truly called me about any of this at the time, I would've let you know. The house was inspected before renting season by a building inspector and there is no report of mold. We are really disappointed in your review and it's unfortunate that Homeaway/Vrbo allows reviews like this without proof.
The house is beautiful, it's was an old farm house, but extremely well kept and such a beautiful area. It's location is 20 miles south of Munising and 20 miles north of Marquette, so it's in a perfect spot between both cities yet you can go back to a quiet setting, babbling creek in the spring with a pretty bridge that you can walk over to the open field. Lots of room for kids to play.
If any guests have any questions about this I'm happy to answer them.